YouTube Coffin just got another nail in it!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I got this e-mail from YouTube this morning...

YouTube.jpg

I found myself being really quite annoyed at first, but then I remembered that:

I've never had ONE cent from YouTube in over 5 years after nearly 200 video's there.
I've actually been expecting this for well over a year and their every changing policies was the main reason I started to branch out to other platforms and media sites in the first place, including to here on Steemit.com.

Now that DTube has become a good experience for me to upload video's to. I don't actually think I need to post anything to YouTube ever again. I still get people finding my channel there and have some great interactions. But why should I post something there ever again? It's never been about the currency, because they've never given me one payment yet. Even though I've spent thousands of £ to get that channel up and running and in all costs that go into supporting me being able to makes video's to post there in the first place.

I think if anything this ridiculous policy of YouTube will actually help alternative video platforms such as DTube, BitChute etc. Alternative sites are now going to see a huge upsurge in people joining. This might not be the FINAL reason small channels turn their back on YouTube completely, but it would be interesting to see the graph from this week onward for new user sign ups, very interesting indeed!

At this time of writing I have 800 subscribers on YouTube, so I don't meet the new criteria.

And also the last part of the message from YouTube states this "Once your channel reaches the new threshold, it will be reviewed to make sure it adheres to our policies and guidelines, and if so, monetisation will be re-enabled.

So not only have they just said a massive "FUCK YOU" to all small channels, they've also said that even if you continue to work hard, posting great content that you are NOT guaranteed to be monetised after all, if you post anything they consider breaches their draconian policies and censorship. Which these days can be anything really.

So in actual fact, thanks YouTube, you have just made a decision for me I've been pondering for a while. Not one more video will be added to my channel (except for one saying that one more will not be added haha)

And YouTube has just made alternatives look even more appealing. People with a small channel are going to be doing what they should of been doing long ago and that is diversifying their presence across multiple platforms and protecting themselves from highly censored and toxic platforms, like YouTube.

I highly doubt that my channel will get over 1000 subscribers before their 'deadline' and since I've never had even one cent from them, I'm actually not that bothered whether I do get monetised on YouTube ever again.

So, thank you to the DTube team and the team of all other video sharing sites that provide a place where people can post to and escape the toxic waste ground that is YouTube. I would love YouTube to become what it once was and to be a rewarding, engaging and financially viable place to be. I'm just not sure that all the content creators can come together as one and actually force them to make real change. YouTube clearly does NOT care about the small creators, doesn't rely on them and in fact this e-mail above is saying that they don't even need them!

So to all the alternative media sites I say this...

"I HOPE YOUR SERVERS CAN HANDLE THE EXTRA TRAFFIC!!"

Be safe and prepared and diversify your online presence in all areas
Geordie Prepper

You can join me an other preppers on the Prepper Discord Server - https://discord.gg/255Td3q

Steemit-preppers-geordieprepper.png
Tyne Bridge Footer.jpg

Sort:  

That's arrogance at the highest levels!
It will soon backfire on them, i am sure there are many many channels that can make money for YouTube than there are 'bigger channels'.
Like you say, there are other alternatives and with better incentives for both user and provider, so why not!
I would say to others = DO NOT SIT THERE AND TAKE IT! MAKE A CHOICE AND SWITCH!

I'd recommend that you leave one last video saying what you just said here.

Yeah man I am, this is basically the script for my next video. I am sick to death of their censorship, Ivory tower policies that change whenever it suits them and their support for really disgusting content that they allow to proliferate there. Thanks man, be safe.

I've just posted on the same issue too :(

I'll look at your post brother, we are all in this together. I hope you move to DTube and others. DTube is going to KICKASS this year!

I've logged into Dtube for the first time and it looks pretty straight forward. I'm going to make a YouTube video for my subs this afternoon regarding this issue. I have been toying with do a promo-steem type of video for my subs for a few days now. Glad I held off because I can now tie-in this latest youtube kick in the nuts too :)

Cheers bud,
Robster

Thats a good idea.

YouTube was killing all small channels since forever ago, by creating so many policy's against them, now what will be the incentive of small channels for going forward now? To be reach the threshold just to be reviewed and then pass the "ok" switch to start the monetization of your channel?

Their message for everyone, Work for free and maybe, maybe! someday you will be paid a few cents. I hope this make like you said for small channels start moving to another platforms.

Contraz on regaining your freedom of YouTube haha.

Hey man thanks :) yeah and this 'bar' that they've set can and WILL only be moved higher up in the future. Instead of 4,000 hours they'll make it 32,000, instead of 1000 subs you'll need 8,000. It will happen! People need to get out now and seek out the alternatives. Be safe and prepared friend.

This truly breaks my heart because there are a bunch of really good content providers who are the little guys out there that I do support and watch their stuff.

Yes it's truly sad. Some people will have the views and less than 1000 subs and with the views and interaction will be at least getting something per month and now YouTube has just instantly killed off that source of income.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Geordie Prepper from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi GP, just read @eggmeister's post on this as well.

I think there might be an opportunity for a bit of fun here.

Catch me on Discord when you have a minute and I'll tell you what I was thinking of.

Amen brother! I too got this email and was quite put off by it. It seems that they do not want any more new channels as we all seem to start at 0 subbs. I will be looking harder at and learning more about Steemit.com and DTube. Plus, possibly Patreon. Good Luck and all best wishes sent your way for success on Steemit.com! God Bless!

Thanks man. Be safe and prepared.

That's fuckin' insane! GOOGLE can't figure out how to pay small creators like Steemit has? WTF has the world come to?

@dtube, give this man a beautiful upvote for this! You know he deserves it!

Yeah man it's crazy. Advertisers have FAR too much influence on the platforms they are placing their adverts on! Advertisers should NOT have gained a foothold on the internet as strongly as they have done. It is stifling ideas, freedom of speech and expression and shaping how an entire generation thinks. This has to end now! Be safe and prepared friend.

This is what the cancer stage of greed looks like. Thanks for the explicit example provided by YouTube themselves.

It is really what it is about, greed. They are transitioning YouTube to a platform that is just a broadcaster for large television stations and the 'little guy' isn't in the picture in their future business model. Forgetting completely that all the little channels on YouTube made it the success that made it possible to exist in the first place. smh.

Perhaps you could change to makeup tutorials! 🤣

This is actually very sad. YouTube is an easy to use platform for finding the content you're searching for. Unfortunately the content I search is what they seem to be targetting. Basically how to do anything yourself.

Yes it is very sad, it used to be such an engaging platform, promoting discussion and you are right it is very easy to find what you want to view. Those bigger channels that promote self-reliance no matter many viewers they got, they will all be targeted, it just started with the ones at the bottom first.

Haha yeah! If I did I'd have a much better shot! But I'm not going to give up what I'm doing, I really enjoy it, any financial reward or gain is just a bonus, I didn't go on YouTube to become rich.

I know what you mean. The only reason I ventured back near social media was to share what I was doing. None of it paid until steemit. I even got a few videos up on YouTube, which weren't great to be honest. I guess I'll be removing my link to that now, pointless keeping on.

Unless something truly drastic and astonishing happens with YouTube my channel there is now just an archive and people do still find me there, they comment and give great information. So I do engage with an audience there. It is just the policies of Google that mean I can no longer morally justify an active presence there.