STEEM Gives Me The Opportunity To Finance My Education And My Livelihood.

in #writing5 years ago

steemstudies.png


STEEM Gives Me The Opportunity
To Finance My Education.

I started to study in March this year. I study Health- and Social care and my main subject will be Psychiatry during the last half of 2019. During the final 7-ish months of my education, I won't be eligible any new student loans so I will have to finance the last period of studies by other means. I am a full time student and I work extra a few hours here and there on top of that as it is today, to afford my living expenses. My monthly student-income doesn't quite cover my living expenses, rent and my other bills, such as internet and cellphone, so I had to find a job. With those extra work hours and with the use of a portion of my Steem-income, I'm able to survive.

When I sent my application to this education, it said that it would end in "September 2019". That is why I decided to apply, even though I knew that I wouldn't be eligible student loans throughout the entire period. It should've been from March 2018 to September 2019. I knew from the start that there would be a few months without my student income, but I figured that I'd be able to handle it somehow.

However, when we came back to School after the summer break, we received the news. The education is set to end in December 2019. Some of my classmates have jobs and are off duty during the education, but they've been granted leave of absence until September 2019 and not December, so this is obviously a huge obstacle for several people.

I worked as a freelancer for several years before I finally took the leap of faith and dived straight into this education. It was an insane transition. I had been my own boss for years and I suddenly have teachers who're telling me what I have to learn and a bunch of forthcoming exams to prove my knowledge. I have said this before, but the biggest reason for this education is because it's an attempt to overcome my mental illness. It's a form of "self-heal" along with the opportunity, and knowledge to help others. I strive to heal the world. I want to help others to live their lives to the fullest. I want to be the help that I never had.

Long before I decided to study I spent months thinking about various things and I was trying to calculate everything. I tried to get the odds in my favor. I crunched numbers day and night, and I eventually felt good enough to send my application. I knew that this decision would affect my financial situation, but it felt okay. It felt doable.

I never realized how much this would affect me though. My calculations didn't match what I experience. However, I'm not known to give up, and due to the fact that this is literally the first time in more than a decade I really want something, I need to accomplish this. Steem gives me a fantastic opportunity and I'm able to finance some of my livelihood nowadays due to its existence, and due to my approach.

I still don't dare to think about May 2019. Many things can happen until then. If I'm lucky, things will work in my favor in terms of the price of Steem for instance. That would make everything much easier. Imagine if the price of Steem would go up to $10. I would be able to finish my education smoothly if that ever happened. For now though, I'm focused on today. One step at the time. Baby Steps.

As long as I power down during a value of $0,70+/Steem, I'll be okay. More or less. It will be hard every now and then, but I'll manage. As long as the price stays above 0,70...

I will continue to power down and use my Steem-income to afford my livelihood. In May 2019, things will be different. It's literally impossible to tell what'll happen. It's too early to tell. What I do know, is that I power down almost as much as I earn on a weekly basis, so if I step up my game a notch, I'll continue to grow my account, and that's something very important to me.

That's my current Steem-goal. To step up my game and eventually grow my account, even though I power down. That would increase my chances of having any form of impact on Steemit. It would give me the opportunity to curate, support and help authors from all over the world in a better way than I do today.

I have never really seen Steem or SBD as "money". I've looked at these two things as tokens... But that's impossible while I'm in the middle of this situation. I won't pray for spikes in price or anything like that. I obviously wouldn't mind if Steem went to the moon, but what's more important to me, right now, is that it stays above 0,70.

If it goes below that during this time, I'd be forced to become a quitter. I would probably have to pause everything Steem-related and I would become an inactive user. If the price would stabilize below 0,70, I'd eventually be forced to drop out of School and to give up on my dreams (for now).

Well, it all depends on the actual price, and there are some other factors too obviously... But like I said:

  • I'm not known to give up.

Just imagine the headlines:
"A Swedish guy finance an entire education and his livelihood due to the Steem blockchain."

That would've been crazy... But it is possible.


hitmeasapsign.png


Sort:  

It also gives us the opportunity to help you with the financing of your education and life as friends. That is something special when you consider taking the middle man out of charity and giving right the the person/group deserving and needing it instantly across the globe.

The blockchain will be great for charity in general and the STEEM application is just that much more social and personal.

That's a really good point. Steem is and will be great for charity in general. I've seen dozens of really, really cool things happen because of Steemit and the users. I wonder how many people Steem successfully helped so far. People who've been in some sort of immediate need of help I mean.

Another possible outcome: not powering down, Steem moons, full time student buys Lambo.

True, but I can't afford my living expenses without some of my Steem-income, which is why I need to step up my game a bit. That way, I'd be able to buy a lambo further on. ;)

It is very difficult to fund entire period of education by spending time on seemit. Price is not likely to go up. It would be a good thing if the price crosses $2. However, one should always be optimistic. Anything can happen.

Yeah I hear you. I am optimistic, and I am trying to stay positive. It's not that I want to fund my entire education with Steem actually, but I need to use my Steem income to assist me in my journey.

Best wishes dear! May you achieve your goals.

A good read. I'm in a similar situation, and a steem-funded education would be great. Btw, you know that there are providers like https://nexo.io/ giving out loans based on your crypto assets? That could also function like a student loan, if you have confidence that prices won't drop too much. Also: Resteemed!

nexo.io, cool. Never heard of it. Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome, och lycka till med studierna!

Collecting thrashed cans and bottles on my way to supermarkets gives me much more opportunity than STEEM to finance anything.
In this case my comment deserves its place at the top of the comments section, not for the first time and probably not for the last.

flagged for bid bot abuse @steemflagrewards

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reporting this abuse, @badcontent.

  • bid bot abuse
    You bought votes to increase the rewards of your post above the value of its content.

This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord

flagged for bid bot abuse @steemflagrewards

Follow on flag for bid bot abuse @steemflagrewards

I guess it depends on who you are amongst a bunch of other things, but Steem definitely gives me a better opportunity. Steem gives me a higher chance to earn more than I'd earn by collecting trashed cans and bottles. That's actually one of the cool things I like about crypto in general. That the prices are going up and down. I'd obviously prefer if they would go up instead of down though.

This comment has received a 83.87 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @atempt.

Bids above 0.05 SBD may get additional upvotes from our trail members.

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 33.06% upvote from @sleeplesswhale courtesy of @stimialiti!