Suspiciously like a KGB agent

in #writing3 years ago

So, inspired by my recent incursions in the social media marketing realm, I've been making an effort of staying active on social media platforms. Last night I even went on Twitter for the first time in more than a year, so... that should tell you I mean business.

Yet I couldn't help a chuckle, when I realized that my social media presence so far, on Instagram, at least, has painted me more like a KGB agent, rather than an aspiring writer. Sharing Russian music, Julian Assange pics. You know, the usual for Hive, yet maybe not what my IG audience is craving.

So yeah, I'm thinking that, in the interests of a writing career, I should steer clear of politics, at least. Weird, feels suspiciously like being silenced. Shameful, almost.

image.png
Photo by dole777 on Unsplash

Aaanyway, what I was going to ask is directed to fellow artists (so, writers, visual artists, or whatever else, this one's for you) :

What's your social media content like?

I mean, I used to be into this regular posting a lot, maybe a year ago? But I felt so generic. I've never been a social media person, I literally hate posting stuff like selfies, or you know, the usual crap they got on there. And while that's fine as an individual, it's not too great for building an audience, obviously.

So back then, I was following these bloggers and authors, sharing tips on what sort of things to post. Which made it feel so... bland. So now I'm trying to steer clear of that, as well, and post things that reflect my style a little more.

Which is why I'm honestly curious. If you're in any sort of art, how are you marketing that on social media?

I really look forward to reading the comments!

Sort:  

I truly suck at social media. Having so many different interests, ideas and moods, can easily make your feed look like a right mess, mine sure does. If we talking instagram especially, I think it would be smart to have a separate account for your creative needs, and other for posting everything random.

Hey, I like your right-mess feed :x But yes, I see what you mean, yet I don't see the solution. Either you just post the same type of thing everybody else does, which can't be a very good way to stand out (go figure), or you post your messy, haphazard individual ideas, which again isn't good!

I suck at it too. I tried for 6 months posting videos and pictures of my needle felted creations every day - fb, insta,hive) and got fed up with the lack of engagement.

So I'm sulking at the moment.
😉

Indeed. Showcasing art doesn't seem to have the success we, as creators, might expect. Which I find... depressing. Still, I imagine that in view of possible future collaborations and so on, it's best to appear socially active, at least? Who knows?

Yes, I still post occasionally (just not every day as I was doing for a long time). I mostly use the dreaded FB because here in France that is what the locals use (and it is locally I sell my felt creations, online sales don't really work for me). They do see it (I have had people tell me they like my videos - they just don't 'like' my videos on FB!). It is just disheartening. Sometimes I have the strength to just post regardless and sometimes I do not.

I’d be great at anti-social media.

Self-censorship is kind of like the free market of ideas at work. Whether you want to or not you’re playing the game. Might as well play it well.

I’d be great at anti-social media.

Hmm... I wonder if there's jobs for that :D

You have a point, I suppose.

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Nobody at my shop likes doing social media, so we hire someone to do it. I think that's the turn-off: it's totally commercial. Like we've turned our lives into one of those newspaper catalogs that come in the mail and get thrown out without a second glance.

I hardly ever post anything myself. Although I do like watching my old highschool girlfriends' kids grow up on facebook.