Opportunity Lost Forever: Make Sure This Isn’t You…

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

missedopps.jpg

Life is precious, choose wisely how you spend it. Don't do this…

PerfectSeparator.png

In the North East of England, there lived a man called Maurice Ward - he was an inventor, he liked to tinker in his garage.

Although he had no formal qualifications, he actually created something with the ability to help the world.

In 1985, inspired by an airplane disaster, where deaths occurred from smoke inhalation, before the airplane even took off, he set about inventing a plastic that could withstand heat to help ensure that would never happen.

nature-3054445_1280.jpg

And by all accounts he was successful and although no-one believed him starting out, tests were carried on national tv, with a blowtorch on an egg covered with Starlite for two minutes and it was still raw inside.

After this, every agency in the world wanted to buy Starlite from him.

Like NASA
And the British Ministry of Defence

Even Boeing, who you would have thought might have been top of his list, as it was a disaster on one of their planes that inspired the invention.

But the company according to Maurice was never the right one, who would do the right thing with his product.

Oh and that he wanted to retain 51% in the company meant that when he died in 2011, he took his formula to the grave…

drugs-2991157_1280.png

Starlite could have had so many beneficial uses in the world, now we will never know.

And Maurice spent 40 years arguing about money.

Doesn’t that seem like such a waste to you?

What would you have done?

I think I’d have let Boeing have it and settled for a few million and travelled around the world in my final years.

PerfectSeparator.png

Be sure to follow me on GINAbot, so you not miss a beat or pearl of wisdom, or interesting tale.

I also have a few more My Steem Super Stars interviews in the offing, they should not be missed.

ginabotwhattodo.png

(Not on GINAbot yet? Here's how)

She will be pleased to meet your acquaintance and you'll wonder how you ever managed without her.

PerfectSeparator.png

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
Free daily crypto: Swift Coins

My STEEM Success Strategy (not free):Post 2 Profit

PerfectSeparator.png

Sort:  

That’s a sad but enlightening story. It’s too bad that this happened, we could have benefited from this invention on a global level.

A few years ago I came up with a quote that this story reminds me of:

“There is no greater sadness in death than that of one who passes, without having shared their knowledge with the world left behind”

I believe we all have a story to tell, or even a single experience to share that will resonate with someone out there. And it is such a waste when these are lost by taking them to the grave.

It is possible someone has their hands on the formula somewhere. Before he died, he said that his family knew the formula, but no-one came forward, the conspiracy theory on this is that the government bought the formula after all and swore the family to secrecy.

That’s always possible. Perhaps many inventions like these will see the light of day one day. Humanity’s interest is not always in the best interest some people in the world.

I heard about this story before, but then I also heard from a conspiracy theorist that someone had stole a sample of his starlite.

He was very protective of it from the sounds of things, but plenty of conspiracy theories.

I'd never heard of Starlite before. Though I do understand the need to get what you feel you deserve, it's a shame that he let greed get in the way of the possibilities of use for the material.

It sure was.

This is the opposite of what normally happens. We normally invent things and want to sell to the first buyer to make a bunch of money. in this case it was not like that. Just because you invent something doesnt mean you have to sell it to anyone. Or sell it to people that could do more harm than good with it.

Yes, I think in this case perhaps he cut off his nose despite his face. There were other ways and means of getting this product into right hands I think.

It is clear that he was a talented chemist. It makes me wonder why if he was so concerned about a company doing “the right thing with his product,” he didn’t open his own company. Aside from getting assurance that the right thing would be done with his product. He could have moved on and created solutions for other problems. His locked in mindset not only caused him to miss that opportunity but to lose out on others that would have crossed his path.

You are right, there was so much more potential there.

What an interesting post. I am living in the northeast...and am an honorary Geordie ! I also love scientific articles, so this ticks both boxes.

I'm glad you liked it.

Wow, quite inspirational and self reflective post from you.
Let's say, I am in his postion, I will settle for some cool cash and buy a dough for my mooma, and even help those that are in need of it.

Nevertheless, that is his own way of restricting knowledge to his own domain.

Thanks for the inspiration

#edited

Thumbs up for Gina, she is a darling!!

I suppose he had a conscience and wanted to give it to the right company and it never happened.

Every body created in this world for a purpose, we created to benefited from each other, no body is wasted we all have a peculiar talent, majority don't know how to utilized it. Good content is interesting @hopehuggs.

I believe that also. We all have a purpose and a mission to discover and fulfil that purpose.

Very inspirational.. just shows if you have an idea to keep trying to get it out there no matter what.. i think i would have just traveled with the money too lived a less stressful life lol

It must have been really stressful.

could definitely use a few million dollars but I wouldn't sell anything to Nasa. He must have had his reasons for his choices.

Gina bot just notified me of your post.

I'm sure he did. It's just sad it became 'lost'

It is sad when this happens. I can understand as an inventor, one can wish to be properly compensated for their creation, or wish for their invention to be used for good and not have it be used to harm others. Still, it sucks that the world will never have use of his invention, could have changed many things.

It could have saved countless lives the way I see it.

Standing up for a cause can be good and wise, but it's also good to know when to say when for your sanity and practicality. Knowing how I feel inside allows me to separate myself from a lot of worldly issues that wear me out to debate to death.

You can't take it all aboard that is for sure.

This is sad on so many levels, but I do know it's a mindset that a lot of inventors have. I see it frequently on Dragons Den and Shark Tank. People want to retain control of their inventions. He appeared to feel he had a great responsibility to the world, and that's why he was so picky with his companies. Did anyone ever benefit from this invention at all I wonder?

It makes me want to revisit some books I wrote but never published. If we're on this Earth to help each other, we had better follow through and do it!

I have a few of those too (unpublished books) @hollyup too and actually one of them I was in two minds about writing more on, but I was worried what someone would think, but its no longer an issue.

what a great way of telling this to us thanks for sharing this post dear quite motivational it is to learn from the mistakes one can do

Even better when we can learn from mistakes of other people.

losing a opportunity there is no worse feeling than that

Gotta grab the opportunities. you don't know when the next one will be. Mind you, you can also create opportunities for yourself also.

arguing all over his life damm that's so sick :(

I find that so sad.

if opportunity is there we need to take it that's the only chance of making it big

Yes we need to grab the opportunities when we can.

Thanks for useful information.

@hopehuggs thanks for the inspirational post! This is why i love the blockchain and Steemit, we can all benefit from being kind and helpfull instead of rude and mean like the .com era

Wow!
Thid post is motivating and inspirational.
Giving up is never an option

Thank you. Appreciate your input.