My steemit account stolen by "alex1999"

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I have a little experience to share.
We have to be extra careful of contest or any post related site on steemit.
I clicked on a contest and it redirected me to another site entirely which requested for my steemit username and password.
I entered the details
Later, I saw my reputation been decreased from 31 to 25, and I posted two motivational articles with 0.49 upvote each n was reduced to 0.17 till both reputation and upvote was 0
I went to my wallet to check my dollar
Unfortunately, all my fund was been transferred to a username "alex1999" of which we didn't have any mutual deal of transaction....
In nutshell, alex1999 phished my password and stole all my earnings.....😢😢

Please resteem to make steemit safe from larcernist, bandit, crook and pirate...

Please, let us all be careful..
I submit

Sort:  

So. Got some of it back. Don't trust nobody.

I'm sorry you got bad lesson. Thankfully happened when you only had a little to be stolen. Less that 1 SBD.

It is common sense not to enter any keys anywhere. This is like giving criminal keys of your house. Besides, use your posting keys only. Even if someone get access to your posting keys, he can't get any of your funds.

And be sure you are keep powering up your coins. If you do, someone would need 13 weeks to get them all from your account. You have a lot of protection on Steemit. But you need to learn how to use it and start using it. There is a reason, why you lock your house when gone, no?

Bottom line, you gave your key to someone else. Now change your keys by using Owner key, or he will steal more from you in the future. You need to prevent him from accessing your account. if you can't, say you don't have owner key, then open new account. Safely save your keys. And only use posting key. With posting key no one can steal anything from you.

And get into habit to not post your key anywhere. When you handle your wallet, powering up, buying STEEM with SBD, use active key, not owner key. And don't let browser save it for you. You click on wrong link, and someone can steal your password. Only allow posting key to be saved in the browser.

better yet, use one browser for Steemit and another browser for regular internet browsing. be smart. You need to protect yourself. Remember we are all surrounded (on internet and in real life) with people that wants what is our. It is your job you protect yourself and use common sense.

sorry about that bro

@iamsoft007, you have learned a hard lesson, but thankfully, you have not lost much in terms of assets. Do as @veleje says, and use your Master key to change all of your keys. He has given you a lot of best practices, and good advice, so take it to heart.

This is a good lesson for everyone, so I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 22 FEB 2018.

Cheers, and thanks for writing this article for everyone to learn from!

Tough lesson to learn. I'm so sorry to hear this happened to you. It goes without saying, you should never enter your steemit password into anything except the actual steemit site! I hope you recover what you lost bruh