My Easter and Telos

in #writing4 years ago (edited)


IMG_20200417_172201.jpgSource

My name is Big Dee and this is how I celebrated Easter. Don't mind me, I thought this was my primary school English assignment. Anyway, let us discuss. For a while now, the world has been on a lockdown because of Corona virus epidemic that has killled people and shut down nation's of the world. As a preventive and control measure, the Nigerian President shut down activities in major affected places and other state Governors followed suite. I had to come home to be with my family Incase the world was about to end. Will it end? The answer is not in this article, do your own research (DYOR).

easter-2168521_1280.webpSource

Easter holiday used to start from Good Friday to Easter Monday, it used to be a long holiday. This was different as we were already on a compulsory lockdown holiday where all days look the same. I have been using zoom to teach my students as instructed by school authorities. They don't want them resume as knuckle heads (as if they weren't, that's not my writing). As a programmer and IT literate, this opportunity has been golden to me. Learning more skills and expanding on the acquired. I created a free class for my students interested in Python Programming and schooled them on Easter Sunday when some people were battling with chicken laps. It was fun onboarding these Future Leaders (sarcasm) into the world of programming. The class will continue for as long as my data and strength can.

It is so sad how much I have spent on data in this country where the Government don't care neither do the network providers. They could only give free SMS but no free or subsidized data, shame on all on you. Boredom has been a major issue as an extrovert, I had to play this addictive game on the Telos Blockchain called Angry Warlord. It really helped me through the Easter weekend. I introduced my younger brother to it and he has gone farther than me (such a show-off). Oh, I just remembered how MTN almost embarrassed their ancestors and not me.


1_StSmkMF18VsWC7AXz6thQA.pngSource

I was in the middle of the programming class organised by my humble self. I just saw a pop-up message that my data was almost exhausted. It was so annoying, I have used almost all my savings to subscribe. I had to quickly sell Tlos on my Sesacash app straight into my bank. It was so fast then I subscribed to continue the class. They didn't even notice the short break. It was the third subscription in a week and it's becoming annoying. US citizens are jubilating over the money they got from Trump and I was here getting frustrated by numerous debit alerts. Well, I ate fried rice and chicken laps to wash down the stress of Easter Sunday.

Easter Monday came with a miracle, I won 5k (in Naira) on Twitter and i gave out 4k (in Naira) on Twitter. Take a stroll around Twitter Nigeria community and you will understand why I had to do that. There is so much hunger in the country and the lockdown ain't helping. It was the little I could do at that moment and it was fulfilling for me. A man noticed what I did and gave me 1GB of data. It was a good day to be honest. Easter has come and gone. I wish the world healing and quick recovery from this epidemic. This too shall pass.

As a quick follower of Telos4africa, I discovered my Easter weekend had similarities with their objectives and missions.

. Onboarding of youths
. Use of Telos powered dApps
. Charity.

Thanks to the team at Telos4africa for organizing this wonderful contest this week. You can be a part by contacting @bookoons for further information and guidance. Stay safe and wash your hands after reading this.

Sort:  

Beautifully crafted. Thanks for giving back to your community.