PERSONAL TESTIMONY –YES YOU CAN

in #writing5 years ago

When I entered my high school studies I had excellent grades in mathematics, physics, chemistry and biology, so I decided to study civil engineering at the Metropolitan University in Caracas - Venezuela, however at the beginning of the basic cycle I visualized that as soon as I graduated I would be working under construction, but I had a lot of problems with some subjects, which delayed me a bit, but I never gave up, and since I am the youngest brother of two children and the only one who studied a long career, I did not have a proper study method and I say adequate because studying at school is very different from the University, so the difference in study habits between a high school student and a university student is huge.

UNIMET 2.jpg

Hence, after the first semester, my cousins who are engineers graduated from the same University, at a family party, sat down with me like at a round table and gave me many tips on how to study, and how to make a schedule, etc, However, I realized at the same time that my low initial performance was that I was very nervous when I had to take an exam and because the University is so expensive I had to retire a year, and while I had two jobs I went to a psychologist who It helped me incredibly to overcome the trauma of bad grades, once the year ended in which I quote that helped me find myself, I went back to study with great enthusiasm and the ghosts of the nerves disappeared completely.

It happens, then, that I started to get very good grades, to such an extent that on two occasions I was late for the test and took the best grade from the classroom, which makes me stand out that I learned to study and see the true potential that I have. Meanwhile, as the semesters passed, the university authorities increased the enrollment, an issue that for the economy of my family was somewhat overwhelming, but I remember that my mother told me, I will do what is necessary for you to graduate, because that is going to being my inheritance for you, on the other hand my father also helped but I was retired, I was of age and the class schedule did not allow me to even have a part-time job, so at that time I saw that my parents were doing a great effort to pay for my studies, after a few days I found an announcement in the Dean of Students that said about an educational credit for those students who needed it and had a good grade point average, I applied for that purpose and thank God, they gave me the 100% of the credit for raising the average grade.

In this way I managed to graduate taking outstanding in the thesis and how I said at the beginning, visualization is essential to achieve your goals, once I finished and defended the thesis they called me to work on the construction of my first building.

With this story I really want to express that you must be sure of what you want, perseverance and determination are essential to achieve any goal you set in life, as my grandmother said, never say I can not, in fact the times that I doubt follow, I repeat, do not give me over and over again and that's how I did it.

Yes you can…