The only one holding you back is you.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

spirit-in-mirror-180x300.jpg

A: Where do you think you’re going?

B: To Mark’s party…

A: No you’re not, I can’t believe you’re foolish enough to think you can go.

B: Why wouldn’t I? I was invited.

A: Yes, as a joke!

B: That’s not true! You’ll see when we get there.

A: Oh yes, I’ll see and I’ll laugh my lungs out when you finally realize I was right all along.

B: Or maybe you’ll leave me alone when you realize I was the one right.

A: That’s never gonna happen. Tell me, I have ever been wrong?

B: …

A: That’s what I thought.

B: I can’t let you stop me from living my life!

A: Oh honey, that’s not at all what I’m doing. I’m stopping you from ending up living in hell.

B: What does that even mean? You’re not making any sense.

A: You follow your heart and go places, meet with people… that’s only gonna get you to encounter the reality I’m trying to protect you from. You have no idea how cruel this world is.

B: No, I don’t. Because you’re always stopping me from experiencing it myself! Just leave me alone and I will prove you wrong.

A: I can’t do that. My job is to protect you at all costs. You’re not going to that party and that’s the end of it.

B: Oh yeah, watch me!

A: No, get back here! At least wear something decent!

B: This is the prettiest dress I have.

A: Yes, to visit your grandma, not to go partying. They’ll all laugh at you. Don’t come complaining to me when you end up crying in the bathroom.

B: You’re unbelievable! No matter what I do it’ll never be good enough, will it?

A: It will be if what you do aligns with what I tell you to.

B: Every time I listen to you I end up crying all alone anyway, so I’ll take my chances.

A: You don’t understand, it’s not the same-

B: Shut up! I don’t care. See you later after I have a great night at the party.


A: Ah, there you are. I told you you’d end up crying in the bathroom.

B: Do I look like I need to cry?

A: Excuse me?

B: I’m having the best night of my life! A group of girls even invited me to stay over. They like me!

A: No they don’t! They want you to stay to play pranks on you! Don’t you see it?

B: I’m not listening to you anymore. I don’t need you. I finally have others to talk to. Goodbye, friend.

A: No! They’ll destroy you; you don’t know what you’re doing! You need me to keep you safe; you’re nothing without me!

B: No. I’m nothing when I listen to you. But without you… I’m just like everyone else. I hope I never hear you again.

A: Don’t go out there! Come back here right n----------------------

And her life began the moment she stopped listening to the reflection on the mirror.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jeremyroy30! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jeremyroy30! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jeremyroy30! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!