Haunts …Part 21 ...Power of Distraction

in #writing3 years ago



There was a kindliness about intoxication -
the indescribable gloss and glamour it gave,
like memories of ephemeral and faded evenings.

― F. Scott Fitzgerald



Cindy.jpg
Cindy



I returned to lectures on Monday needing an umbrella because of steady rain. I was mulling over the mystery of the Victorian house and how I would deal with Esther.

I stopped by Hart House for coffee and sat absent-mindedly sipping it while staring out the rainy window.

A female voice interrupted my reveries.

"Did you miss me, Prof?"

A lovely red haired girl slid into the seat facing me.



It was Cindy from Abe's team and she looked the part of a fresh-faced coed. I couldn't believe the change.

She had bought an order of fries and a coke and leaned across the table to offer me some.

I don't know what smelled more delicious―her fries or her perfume. Yeah, I was slipping under her spell and could see from her bemused smile she knew it.



I took a fry and dipped it in ketchup. "I don't usually go for for this kind of fare this early in the day."

"Judging from your expression, I'd say that's a lie, Prof."

Busted! Damn, this girl was good. She could read me like a menu.

"When Abe said you were 'undercover', he downplayed your abilities."

"Oh, I don't know about that,' she drawled, in her soft sing-song tone. "I think you just like the idea of being undercover."



I was blushing again like a school boy, frustrated I couldn't get my reactions under control, and flattered by her attention.

"Abe doesn't want to be seen too much around campus with you―he just telegraphs cop to look at him. So, he sent me to liaise with you. Are you disappointed?"

"Not at all," I said. "You're very good at what you do."

"You haven't seen anything yet," she whispered, giving me a sly wink that made my stomach flutter.



"Okay, so what does Abe want?" I asked.

"He needs to know what you told the girls and what Hannah Becker's reaction was."

"I simply told the girls we found a skeleton and had to notify the authorities according to protocol."

"And what about Hannah's reaction?"

"She appeared irritated we weren't able to proceed with our investigation because the forensics team was there all day."



She watched me closely. "So, Hannah wanted information about the house?"

"Yeah, she didn't seem interested in the corpse," I deadpanned.

She ignored my sarcasm. "Keep a close eye on little Ms. Becker. I don't trust that girl."

I nodded. "I don't know why Esther maintains a friendship with her."

"Oh, they're not friends―it's more a business relationship."



I frowned. "What kind of business is Esther involved in?"

Cindy placed a finger to my lips to shush me. "Don't worry about Esther. She's just trying to represent the family's claims against the government who has an interest in the property."

"Really? Why would the federal government be concerned about a private property in Toronto?"

Cindy stood up to go, noticing a few of my students who had been staring, and bent over and brushed her lips across my cheek.

"Let's give them something to talk about, Prof," she said breezily as she deliberately walked by the female students sitting a few tables away and smiled at them sweetly.



Okay, she wasn't going to answer my question...yet.

But there was now no doubt in my mind that Esther was the innocent party in this intrigue and Hannah Becker was the person of interest to watch.

I glanced at my hands and saw they were trembling and knew it had nothing to do with the undercover operation.

No, those tremors were more the after shocks of an earthquake which was as good a metaphor I could find to describe the effect Cindy had upon me.



When I told her she was good at her job, that was an understatement. The way she broke through my defences was akin to a hammer smashing stone.

I had to force my mind to focus on something else―anything, to break her spell.

She taught me a lesson, however, to never underestimate the power of distraction.



To be continued…


© 2020, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo