West Harbour ...Part 17 ...Bothered and Bewildered

in #writing4 years ago (edited)



Sell your cleverness and buy bewilderment.
Cleverness is mere opinion, bewilderment is intuition.

― Rumi




smiling-woman-56a464a75f9b58b7d0d6c003.jpg
Sylvia Lightbourne



As I suspected, my afternoon invitation from Sylvia Lightbourne involved more than mere socializing over a restorative cup of tea.

By choosing me as a trusted confidant concerning her daughter, Sylvia obviously harboured a deeper motive.

If she intended to flatter me or recruit me as an ally for some ulterior purpose, I had no idea, but my antennae were up and I found myself transitioning to hyper vigilance mode.

Why was it everyone in West Harbour except me was privy to some dark secret?



I might have left the Lightbourne's feeling wary and watchful, but what happened next filled me with wonder and frankly, left me bewildered.

Sylvia showed me a photo of her comatose daughter.

I expected her daughter to be beautiful as Sylvia, but I did not expect to be looking at an image of the girl in my dreams―the girl I can never seem to meet.



It was shocking to see her face but it was also very unnerving. I was reluctant to tell Sylvia― she'd probably think me mad.

I decided to keep the truth buried and simply remark on Clare's beauty and how much she resembled her mother.



"If you're trying to flatter me, Marcus, it won't work," Sylvia laughed. "Besides, Clare may resemble me but she's really a clone of one of Clay's relatives, now deceased."

"Well, I appreciate your humility, Sylvia, but she does resemble you―it would be plain to anyone who saw you both together that she's your daughter."

Her eyes filled with tears. "Thank you for saying that, Marcus. It's my fondest wish Clare recover and you have the opportunity to see us both together."



I could see Sylvia becoming sad again and I strove to cheer her up.

"According to my doctors, head traumas are mysterious. They say sometimes patients spontaneously awaken and have complete control of their faculties. I hope this is the case with Clare."

"That's so kind of you to say. When I visit her later this afternoon, Marcus, I'll tell her what you said. She's about your age and I'll tease her by saying a handsome gentleman caller wishes our sleeping princess would awaken."

I patted Sylvia's hand and smiled encouragingly, "We must always hope and not lose heart."



I left the Lightbourne's that afternoon feeling grieved for Clay and Sylvia. I had no idea about the burden they were secretly bearing.

But I was also mystified by the photo of Clare.

They say everyone has a look-alike, or double, but the resemblance between Clare and the girl in my dreams was uncanny.



I was right to say Clare resembled her mother, but there was more than a resemblance between Clare and my dream girl―she didn't just look like the ghost who appeared at the foot of my bed, but was an exact clone or doppelgänger.

Call me superstitious, but they say seeing such a paranormal phenomenon is a harbinger of bad luck.

But even if that's true, I say, bring it on―I'd like nothing more than to be haunted by such a beautiful wraith



To be continued…


© 2020, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

lol - I waited* to see what comments this post would get, but none! No dreamers loving the idea of meeting the girl of his dreams who is his love from the past (or something like that). Maybe nobody is in the mood to exercise their imagination?

(*Actually, above not strictly true, I have been limited in what I could do over these last few days as my eczema flared up and it has never been so distracting before, plus I have sommeone who shares the floor I live on and he takes drugs. Recently I have begun to lose my sense of balance and fell down the stairs twice. Now he thinks it is funny, or else he does not like me, but he waits until he hears me on the steps, at night, and switches off the light. It has made me angry, and I prefer to keep to myself when I am angry).

Luckily the problem will soon be dealt with for a while as he is being committed for treatment, so it is just a matter of patience.

It is odd how we are prone to seeing some things in an unrealistic way, even when we know better. I saw that someone who posted on YouTube says he lives in Ontario and I thought, 'Ah, where John does".....as if you are neighbours, in my imagination. It would be like you thinking so for me, because someone says he lives in South Africa.

Well, as you get ready for Winter, Summer is taking over here and I wish I could fly to Greece to be back in Winter...I do not like Summer heat. An odd thing happened to me the previous and this last Winter - I usually wear 3 sweaters/jerseys plus a jacket and still feel cold. The last two, I did not wear anything more than I do in Summer and did not feel cold. It is driving my family and friends nuts!