Young Again ...Part 12 …Apparition

in #writinglast year



I love watching her―she's a silent film of gestures
― john j geddes




download.jpg
Eve



It was pub night for Norm and me and we decided on The Wheat Sheaf, even though it was the place where I first met Sage.

But the place held no nostalgia for me because a lot of water has gone under the bridge since then and after all, time is the greatest distance between two places, or in this case, between two people.

I needed to kick back and relax, enjoy a bit of pub food and just have a change of scene― at least, that was the plan, but in my life everything is subject to change.



"So, you spent the afternoon with the lovely Britni Hill," Norm began, "how did that go?"

"I guess the answer to that depends on people's viewpoints," I laughed.

"Uh huh," he frowned, the way he always does when assessing a problem, "Then, I take it not everyone was happy."

"Well, Henry was," I smiled, "he was in awe of Britni's beauty. The woman's in her fifties and still incredibly beautiful."

"And how did Eve get along with her?"

"The usual, " I said casually, "detached and professional."



"Let's cut to the chase, Pal―obviously Henry was smitten, but did you gush over Britni as well?"

"Naw, actually the opposite. Britni came onto me and it was a bit awkward for a while."

He raised an eyebrow, "You mean the glamour queen of daytime television was enthralled by you?"

"Well, I wouldn't say enthralled exactly, but she was definitely flirting."

He clapped me affectionately on the shoulder, "Good show, old man―you've still got it!"

"Still got it?" I said confused, "I never had it."

He winked. "Well, that can't be true―I'm sure Ms. Hill has her pick of countless men she could flirt with, but chose you. Was Eve upset?"



I felt at a loss and didn't know how to answer.

"I have no idea," I moaned, rubbing my forehead. "I can't read women―every time I try, I get it wrong. But she did look annoyed by Henry's rapt appreciation of Britni's beauty."

"But you didn't do anything to upset her―like flirt back or encourage Britni in any way?"

"Hey, Norm!" I protested, "it's me we're talking about not some Don Juan from a movie set. I actually think she was attracted by my little boy lost look―and believe me, I was at a loss for what to do. It was brutal."

"Could Eve have been annoyed with Britni coming on to you?"

I gave him a hard look.

"Hey, just saying, I mean, it's a possibility."

"Well, if she was, she played it cool."

He smirked and shook his head. "She always plays things cool, except when she's really upset. I don't think it's about Henry."



I knew what Norm was suggesting and it lit a fire inside me. I wanted Eve to be jealous―not because I wanted to play games but because I wanted a sign she cared about me.

But I had been in limbo so long hiding my feelings, I didn't know if I even stood a chance with her. Cool and professional was how I described her―but I wanted warm and caring and didn't know if I'd ever get it.

And then, I happened to look up and standing in the doorway was Eve with another girl. Our gaze locked, my breathing stopped and my mind went blank.

I wasn't sure if she were real or a vision.



To be continued…


© 2022, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo



Sort:  

Congratulations @johnjgeddes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal