Young Again ...Part 8 …Opening Skirmish

in #writinglast year



Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage.
― Anais Nin




sothebys-com.brightspotcdn.jpg
Beautiful Monster



I felt rusty after a fitful sleep. Nightmares will do that to you―mess you up and leave you feeling off-kilter.

I was tempted to postpone my conversation with Sage knowing it would turn into a confrontation no matter how I delivered my response to her ultimatum.

But being firm and assertive was the best approach―she needed to know I was determined to move ahead with the project and I wouldn't be swayed by threats or intimidation.



I also considered and rejected the notion of seeing Dean Edwards first and giving him a heads-up about Sage's intentions. I really had no assurance Sage would even approach Dean Edwards because her 'concern' might be viewed as meddling in a colleague's business.

And making an adverse report when she wasn't appraised of all the facts behind our clinical trials might be a career-ending move.

Actually, it might even be poetic justice to see Sage hoisted on her own petard and disciplined for interfering in matters where she had no vested interest or authority.

Well, they say karma's a bitch, an expression I deplore on many levels, but in Sage's case with her venomous ways, it might be simply appropriate.



I bypassed my morning coffee at the Hart House Grill and headed straight for Sage's office―confront the dragon in her den―it seemed the most direct method.

She was busily at work shuffling papers when I walked in and I could tell by her face she wasn't pleased.

"Don't tell me you're not reciprocating my gesture and simply doing business here in my office."

"Ordinarily, candlelight dinner at The Hazleton would be nice," I smiled, but not when it's intended as a shake-down."

"Excuse me?" she replied testily, adjusting her glasses.

"I don't like ultimatums and coercion, Sage―as I recall, that's what happened last time we went to dinner―two years ago, this past December."



"It's rude to bring up past spats we had, especially when I'm trying to help you."

"I seriously doubt you're concerned about 'helping' anyone but yourself. I don't know what your agenda is, Sage, but I came by to inform you I'm refusing your offer. We've followed all the proper protocols in screening prospective candidates and have called in an expert to review our procedures."

"Was that Dean Edwards' suggestion?" she asked defiantly.

"I didn't seek Dean Edwards opinion and I suggest you do the same. Another expert, whose opinion I actually value, told me you'd be running the risk of academic reprimand if you interfered with our project. I'm just informing you to 'help' you. I would hate to see you have to answer charges of unprofessional conduct."

"Yes, I'm sure you have my best interests at heart," she replied sarcastically, "both you and that tart that works assisting you."

"She's not my assistant but my colleague and the same applies for her―if you make an adverse report behind her back you will inherit a world of trouble. My advice to you is simple, Sage―back off! Your 'help' is not wanted."



I turned on my heel and walked out the door. I could hear my heart pounding in my ears.

I find it hard at the best of times to be assertive and confronting Sage was tantamount to Theseus facing down the Minotaur in the Greek myth. But this wasn't a myth, and Sage had proven time and again that she could be dangerous.

I was shaking and out of breath but managed to conquer my fears and face up to her directly. Where the conflict went from here, I had no idea, but I was proud I stood up for myself and the team...

But I had a sinking feeling that this wasn't over and the war between Sage and me had just barely begun.



To be continued…


© 2022, John J Geddes. All rights reserved


Photo