2022

in #writing2 years ago

This is going to be a short, not entirely ordinary, post. I fell off the radar last year when a few things changed. I got a job, a regular job, and I really loved it.

My writing goal for the year was a million words, and I was at a point where it had become practically impossible to keep up with, so I figured that my nine-through-five would be good and I just sort of stepped away from writing, not realizing that I wasn't just giving up a little writing–I was giving up almost all of it.

So this site's a little dusty. I hope to undo that in 2022.

Goals and New Format

Last year, I got really discouraged with writing. I tried to put on a brave face, and sometimes failed. Sometimes I was open about my mental state, and sometimes I wasn't. I finished my MFA program, which was an ordeal (albeit a good one), but also had personal tragedies. Those took me out for longer than they should have, which is partly my fault.

I also let myself get sloppy with my writing, in part because I had a reliable job.

I loved my job, but a variety of things revealed that it couldn't be sustainable long-term. So I'm trying to do writing full time, with some freelancing and odd jobs on the side.

What I want to do to get that working is to get publishing stuff. Some of this will be self-publishing, and some of this will hopefully be through traditional and digital outlets.

That means that the blog is going to be a secondary thing, but there are going to be updates, hopefully two a week.

Right now my plan is to do a weekly update here on this blog, plus work on the serialized Aspects of Sand again. That will come over here (as opposed to being on third-party sites), since I want to drive more traffic here and those sites didn't really produce additional traffic as hoped.

I'll begin posting those snippets here on Friday, and as I run out of content, I'll start writing new stuff.

Publishing Plans

I'm working on a new game, Kenoma, for Loreshaper Games, alongside rebooting the Loreshaper Games website. That's going to take up most of January.

I'm also working on two books, one non-fiction (TBA formally) and a companion novella to Daughter of Spades that should help to set some groundwork for it.

Those will both be self-published. I expect it to be an adventure, to say the least.

That should keep me pretty busy through March.

Because I'm getting back into game design stuff, I probably won't do as much pure writing, and a lot more of it needs to be in a direction that is financially sustainable.

What I'm saying is that if I get a chance to freelance or do some odd writing on the side, I'm going to take it like an unattended donut in the staff break room. Since I now work from home, all donuts in my staff break room will probably be unattended, but let's pretend I still work with other people for a moment.

The Future

I'm heading into 2022 with some optimism. It's guarded optimism, because I know my goals are going to be difficult, but I have a hunch I can pull it off.

And if I can't, it's not like I'm married to burning out and failing horribly.



Posted from my blog with Exxp : https://kwilleywrites.com/2022-2
Sort:  

Congratulations @kwilleywrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!