My Writing Process (ENG)

in #writing6 years ago

My Writing Process

large (17).jpg

source

With the passing of years and experiences doing what I like, it could be said that I have learned a couple of things for the time to sit down to capture an idea and with which, little by little, I have improved. Nothing fantastic or unique, only the customs I got to write stories that have more than one or few parts. When creativity attacks me and it seems that it has the ability to last for more than a few parts, the thing gets more complicated, because to work, I must organize myself, both the idea to not forget any detail, and myself, to to be able to take the time to write this idea. And that can be complicated. Sincerely it continues being it, because still I do not find the suitable formula.

The first thing I always do, of course, is think the idea well. From start to finish. A habit that I learned to stick to when I made the mistakes of the past, when without thinking I just wrote and wrote, without a point of arrival or a goal, causing me to lose myself in one and many laps and I never managed to reach a blessed end with the story. Many of my old stories today have no end, and it is for this very reason. There were so many laps that I gave in the plot, that by the time I wanted to reach an end, I was entangled in myself with twists and turns of a plot that I could not unwrap. That is why in the last year, I have taken the habit of making a timeline with the fundamental ideas, beginning and end, so that, just have to think about the secondary ideas without worrying about not finding a light in the end of the tunnel. Having written in front of me a starting point and arrival point, it is easier for me to concentrate on the medium, and if for reasons of destiny the plot makes the turns reach an even better ending, then welcome. It's a strange mixture of order, and what happens on the way. The truth is I do not know if it is possible to understand this method because the truth is everything is a disorder in my mind, but there everything has its meaning.

Another thing I do (and I love) is to spend hours and waste time of my days thinking about possible titles, because for some reason it's fun. I do not know. Even many times to see a word is created in my mind a possible story that has to do with the meaning of the word. Both titles, as possible prologues, names, settings, those details that always thrill.

When I have an idea ready, and I move to a timeline, it is when hard work begins. Everything from before, are games of inspiration. But now, now the good starts. The time to develop each frame of the timeline. Normally, a timeline takes me about six or seven points of importance, and my goal is to develop each point little by little, and do the transmissions from point to point without hurry. For this part I take my time because I must extend, and also because everything is subject to changes. It is even possible that in the middle of the development of an important point I can not with the transition to the next point and I was stuck. For days, weeks, and months without a way to follow. Many stories, too, are stopped by this other circumstance. And so, many others for different reasons that if I begin to explain, I would not end without feeling overwhelmed and disappointed. There are more waiting stories than finished ones, for my sad fortune. (Now that I think about it, this process is very bad and nobody should follow it).

It is very difficult to reach an end with which I feel happy and at the same time have the same quality as all the previous chapters, because when starting with a story, it may not end up having the same style as when I started. I mean, it's very difficult to maintain a style, not improve or change over time. And since it takes me a lot to travel from a starting point to an end point, it is inevitable to feel that it changes in some way. I start an idea at the beginning of January, and at the end of May with the whole story, I have already changed my way of writing in some way. Maybe I learned something, maybe I feel that it is not necessary to do other things, and by the time I finish, feeling that everything is coherent and equal, it is difficult. It is also difficult to explain this part.

This is, in very general lines, my weird - and not so good - process. Very confusing and probably impractical, like me. Before, a couple of years ago, I did not even have a minimal idea of how to write, I just made it meaningless. There was no kind of plan, and the result was very bad. Now, I feel there are improvements (very considerable). Although I'm still not at the point I want and I feel I could be. This is a topic that personally interests me, I like to know and see how others carry this work in their personal forms. I always try to read articles of this style to take customs and writing tips to help me, because I know I need * a lot * to travel until I get the right thing, so if I later learn something that works for me in practice to improve, I will communicate with pleasure. See you in the next post!


¡Thank you for reading!