A short play about Buddha, the Bodhisattva of compassion

in #writing6 years ago

(A Prince and a Princess walk together in a jungle. They are dressed in traditional eastern garb decorated with exotic jewels and colorful embroidery.)

jungle.jpg

Princess: They say that you are going to be a strong leader. They speak of your life as if they’ve already seen it happen. I’m excited to see you work sadhana and the miracles to come.

Prince: It is only by the grace of God that I will do well. I should not take credit as the doer when it is clearly HIS will. Unconditional love cannot be cultivated when the mind is preoccupied with thoughts of I. Even a prince must be humble and fully surrender to the lord.

(He runs his fingers through the leaves of a nearby tree)

hand.jpg

Princess: How is it you do not take credit for actions for which you claim participation?

Prince: When I rise in the morning, I have already dedicated my actions to God. Before I sleep, I express gratitude and give praise to the giver of all life. I only borrow my life to do his work. Though I may produce, but the product is not mine.

Princess: And is there nothing we should aspire to take for ourselves?

Prince: The suffering of others is something we can take unto ourselves. To ease the suffering of others is the most beneficial of obsessions.

Princess: And what is the cause of human suffering?

Prince: Desire.

Princess: Then would I be wicked if I desired to smell the delicate scent of flowers in my chamber?

Prince: If your desire was granted, would there be anyone else to enjoy the flowers? To desire is to desire alone. In a garden where our thoughts are seeds, sprouting into love and anger, wicked seeds grow ugly trees.

Princess: And If I desired the flowers to perfume us all in this world …

Prince: Then you have cleansed your mind of impurity and acted out of compassion to help others. That is God consciousness.

buddha.jpg

(A large jungle leaf is suddenly pulled back by stage crew, revealing a tiger with her cubs. The tiger looks weak and unable to care for her young. The Prince sees this, but the Princess does not.)

Princess: Oh how it is my wish to see your wisdom unfold! I know the path you walk will be as beautiful as this jungle. Your story will be told by poets and seers for all time!

Prince: It has already been written. Princess, I do believe that your heart truly yearns for peace. That is why I ask you to please leave me now and go back up the path whence we came. Tell those who ask that I wished to be alone. Tell them all will be well.

Princess: I will do as you say.

(She turns around and exists stage right. The Prince walks up to the Tiger.)

Prince: Tigress, I can see that you are too weak to feed your cubs and that they are starving. There is much suffering in the world, but much love as well. I can see that you are in need, and I wish to see you and your children at peace. We are divine creatures, together, bound by love. Though we live different lives, in death we are one spirit. I love you Tigress, because I see in you the life that is in all other beings. I love you Tigress, because you are a mother, a giver of life, like the earth. I am giving my flesh to you to eat, to feed your cubs and live. In the name of the Divine, Creator, and Lord of the worlds, I offer myself for you to eat.

tiger2.jpg

(The Prince lies down in front of the Tiger. They look each other in the eye and pause. The Tiger lifts her head and rests it on his stomach. She is still too weak to eat.)

Prince: Tigress, you are too weak. I would give a thousand lives to see you well, and all your sisters and brothers too. Eat! Eat me for your children. I have already given my body and mind to the Lord. I have given my heart to compassion. You may have my flesh.

(The Prince pulls out a knife and cuts his stomach. He takes out a red cloth from his belt as if it were blood. The Tigress licks the blood and is then able to nurture her cubs. The Prince dies and the lights go out).

(In the next scene, the Princess is standing center stage. The set is clear.)

Princess: The Tigers were fed and the Prince will be reborn as Sidharta Buddha, Bodhisattva of Compassion. His teachings and selfless doctrine will live on. His story will be told by the seers and poets for all time!

flags.jpg

Sort:  

Nature is always beauty. Thanks for this post.