The king's Favors

in #writing2 years ago

She was standing alone in the garden, the lights of the house visible in the distance. Her green dress fluttered gently in the breeze with the flower stitched on it swaying from side to side. A gentle smile graced her lovely face, one that I can stare at for forever.

"Captain, the shuttle is ready at the port, Ben said over the comm, interrupting my thoughts. He's such a thoughtful person, always there when I need him. I thanked him over the comm and left the deck.

As I walked, a part of me hoped I might get a glimpse of her before my shuttle took off.

I was wrong.

Hope was lost when I saw another man with her. I ran as fast as I could to get close to them. The man was old and looked like an important figure judging by the way he was dressed. He put his hand on her right shoulder and spoke in to her ear but I couldn't hear a word of it. She gave him a small smile like they were talking about something pleasant.

I was too far to hear what they were saying, so I couldn't do a thing. Whatever he was saying must h

ave been important. I had no right to barge in like that even if it was to see her. I didn't want to disturb them.

After a while, they left the gardens and into the house. The guards would have stopped me if I tried to follow them.

I couldn't focus. I had left the deck chaotically and was delayed for what felt like hours. My ability to breathe felt like it was cut short. It sounded like the guards had just left but I knew they were still in the house. The air was still cold. People were still milling about the gardens and porch.

"Excuse me, I said to a person walking past, faking interest in their talk. They ignored me, so I said it again, Excuse me. I need to pass.

"I guess you heard superman is arriving today, a sniggering guard said in to my ear, you must be jealous.

"I am. The princess is my responsibility, I said, forcing myself to sound cheerful, She must be really important if the superman is coming to see her.

"It is a pity he's coming to take her. She is up for a great prize, I guess

I breathed through my nose. Who says he is taking her?

"Oh, I don't know the details, he said, but I guess it is time for the princess to be married. No guy would have the gall to come for her if there was a prize at stake.

I didn't feel the need to go into further details with him. He started talking about who the Princess was supposed to marry and joked about their happiness if he was the lucky guy. That was the last thing he said as I ran for the garden.

The trees opened and led me to see them at a clearing where only an angel would find it hard to happen upon.

"Princess, you have a visitor, the old king said in to her ear. I paused for a moment. I didn't know it was the old king.

"Who is it? she asked.

"I can't tell you that, the king said, "You should see him to make sure.

"I will say hello, I guess.

I heard them breathe excitedly and in a fraction of time, the old king went away and she came towards the arch of trees. I breathed in eagerly, the missing will to live flooding back from just seeing her.

She was smiling, her eyes locked on me. Too eagerly. It looked like I had been waiting just for her.

"We have met before, I said.

Her smile faltered immediately and she looked embarrassed.

"No, we haven't, she said.

"Don't play with me, I said, "Not after I waited all this while to see you again.

"You have the wrong girl, my good man.

"Don't play with me.

She walked back and I stared at her face.

"You might have grown in to a beautiful woman and forgot me but I have never forgotten you, I said.

She glanced at the king who was still at a distance, listening to us with great interest.

"This is getting too intense, she said with a short nervous laugh. I walked closer to her.

"You don't have to run away, I said.

It was not lost to me that she was backing off out of fear. She kept on backing off until she collided against a tree.

The king, who had been walking behind me, reached the garden door and turned around. He looked at me disapprovingly before going inside.

"Please spare me, she said, the words coming out of a trembling mouth.

"You used to love me, I said. She shook her head, so I said, "The day your mother told us we had to leave, we met behind the barn. Everyone were sleeping, but we couldn't sleep.

"We kept talking and talking until my legs felt like they would break. You made me feel like I was alive again, I continued, "We started to kiss and agreed that it felt right too.

"We didn't want to wait for our parents to wake up and stopped kissing.

"The next morning, you left but said you would come find me again, so I still wait, I said, If the King hasn't marked her as his, perhaps you can be mine too.

"No, she said and ran away.

I chased after her.

She was now in the garden and in a full sprint. I could play the gentleman and follow her.

She was fast. She stopped in the winter garden, then in the midst of the heart of the garden, and then finally at the balcony steps. We were in front of the garden door, now.

"Do you want me to go? I asked.

She didn't answer. She didn't look at me. She looked right at the door.

"Why are you trying to get away? I said.

"I have to keep on my guard sir, I'll get in to trouble if I make you angry," she said.

"You had to punch me the other day to escape, I said.

She shook her head, "Sir you don't get it, I'm trying to be good, I'm trying to be the good girl so I can win the favor of the King.

"And what do you get from doing that?

"I promise you I will never, ever marry you and get you into trouble,she said,

"I just don't want to get into trouble discovering all your secrets. We could sneak away, you know?

Then, she looked at me and held out her arms, Just like we always do.

"I hoped this day would come. You always reminded me why we should be one. I love you,I said and kissed her hand.

"You don't even know me, she said, Why would you love me?

"You are the prettiest princess I know, I said.

"You still don't know me.

"That's why. You gave me a reason to love you.

"You're too handsome for me to not love you, she said.

"Please, you don't have to come all the way to get me, she said. She tried to tug on my arm but I held it firm.

"I promise I'm not trying to get in to trouble, I said.

Please, what are you doing? Sir?

The door opened.

She did not stop me as I pulled her inside.

Painting

Sort:  

Congratulations @owlant! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 30 posts.
Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 11
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!