3 Ways To Improve Your Writing - Especially For Steemians!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Since you're here, you probably know the importance of writing effectively. There are countless minnows that are trying to get some decent upvotes on daily basis but they hardly get any attention. It is not necessarily because your content is not good enough. With an increased number of registered Steemians, the competition is increasing.

Most whales have delegated their power to voting bots, so manual curation is very low nowadays. But it doesn't mean that there is no manual curation. Some groups of people and some projects are focusing on supporting minnows like project @curie which is the reason for staying here for many steemians. Therefore, the importance of effective writing cannot be ignored.


enter image description here
Image Credits: Pixabay

If you're not getting proper attention, you're welcome to use those voting bots and push it forward. But you know? there are some loyal whales who won't like shit posts on trending page. You're supposed to buy votes for visibility, not for raping the reward pool, so be in the limit when doing so. When your promoted content is good enough, you make decent profits. But you need to learn how to improve your writing and this post is going to help you. Let's take a step forward.

# 1 - Use short but meaningful sentences:

It's easy to fill the post with garbage words but it's quite difficult to deliver the message in short but meaningful sentences. The goal of many Steemians nowadays is to get 500 words figure in word counter but let me tell you, it doesn't work that way.

Long content doesn't guarantee the quality and similarly, short content doesn't mean that it is of low quality. Actually, your writing will improve and automatically reach 500 or more words if you just stick to short and meaningful sentences. No one likes to read the whole article just to get one thing. Be straightforward instead of being flowery with the language.

# 2 - Research as much as possible:

Length is the problem only when your research is not good enough. And let me tell you, sparing 5 minutes to Google stuff is not an effective research. A good research may take much longer than 5 minutes. In some articles, I personally spend 2 hours or more in research because I want to make sure that my content brings information and enough value to the steem ecosystem.

At this point, I won't call myself the best writer. There are people like @donkeypong and @the-alien whose writings are much better than mine. But the point is, you should spend more time in researching and only then if you start writing, you'll find that your fingers and mind, both are working so fast. More research means more ideas of meaningful sentences too ;).

# 3 - Don't rush to post:

The biggest mistake most steemians do is rushing to post because they just finished writing. Why I consider it a mistake? because there is probably more to correct in your article, especially if your finished article was your first draft and the first draft always sucks, trust me.

Spend enough time proof-reading what you've written. Think on the better sentences and that's the only way to improve your draft. Correct your grammar mistakes. For this purpose, Grammarly app will help you greatly. Even after knowing when punctuations should be used, we often forget to use them properly. In such cases, Grammarly will help you correct those errors.

Anyways, that's all for today. If you've enjoyed the post, make sure to support and follow me @princewahaj for more interesting content. FYI, I am also running three series: SEO Tutorial Series, The Weird Series, and How-To Series. You're welcome to spend your time. You have my appreciation. Thank you for reading. Have a nice day!

Sort:  

very helpful post.. to the point and knowledgeable.

This post is very useful ... thank you very much for your call of attention and for your insistence on taking into account those people who just start here ... thanks from Venezuela ...

Nice post! Before Steemit was not much of a writer. Now trying to get better. My motto is ... "there's always room for improvement!" Thank you for sharing.

I tend to reread my post like 50 times and I still find errors.
Just because you know what you mean doesn't mean that other people do, and just because you know what you are thinking doesn't mean you wrote it down that way.
Thank you for your post and insight, I'm still noob here so it's really nice to see a good post.

Hi princewahaj, thank you for your upvote, I was wondering if you could answer a question I have about reputation. You are a level 63 rep and around 1770 SP so that would make you higher than me in every aspect, even though you only used 25% voting power wouldn't that still give me some sort of rep gain. I only ask because I seem to have stopped getting any rep gains for about a week now, even with higher rep level upvoters that comment or upvote my posts. I'm not sure why steemit has stopped giving me rep. If you can answer this I would be grateful, If you don't know the answer I still very much thank you for the upvote and content you post, have a wonderful day.

No, the reputation increases slowly. Every 1 point is 10x stronger than previous. With every upvote from high rep member, your rep increases (either small changes or big changes based on the power and rep of voter).

Before upvoting you, I checked your rep at https://steemnow.com/@markeverlasting and it was 44.59 and after my upvote on this comment, it increased to 44.62. I knew that but I did just for your satisfaction. Steemit is decentralized. No one can take away anything from you except the posts within 7 days window that can get downvoted from people.

Thank you for the info and the weblink.
Now I can track that too.
one last thing, where would I go to check for flags, I mean how would I know if I got flagged?
thank you for your time.

Click on the "x votes" which is shown at the end of your post. You will see upvotes with + sign and downvotes with - sign. If not, you can visit steemd.com to see who upvoted you or downvoted you.

thank you o' great princewahaj. may your steem ev'r be rising.

Truly, writing is an art that one can only get better at with consistency and of course, learning the basics about it (some of which you've adequately explained in this piece).

Thanks @princewahaj for sharing this amazing post. It was really helpful

I started reading it still not done because lack of time but i will finish reading it asap, i just wanted to say thank u for sharing really until now what i read was interesting

This post has been resteemed by @steemiteditors - keep up the good work!

Follow @steemiteditors to get updates on editors' availability, to receive writing tips and advice, and to network within our community.

Such a nice post indeed, I am a new steemian and Alhamdolillah my last post got much success, I am still learning new things and you have guided us in a very enlightening manner. Thumbs up for u bro