Manhattan by the Hudson - Lunchtime in NYC

in #writing7 years ago

Though New York City is all hustle and bustle, with a side of shoving, there are beautifully serene moments to be had, if you know where to look.

Unknown-2.jpeg

Lunchtime Wandering


I love to walk around everywhere, but since coming to work in Downtown Manhattan, I've fallen in love with walking along the Hudson River. Sure there are still lots of people milling about and enjoying the weather, but New York has that way of letting you feel alone even when you're around others.

Unknown-7.jpeg

Down by the water in Manhattan, you can find people dining outdoors or lazing in the sun, or exercising along the river bank.

It's easy to forget you're in one of the busiest cities in America when the breeze is caressing your face and there doesn't seem to be a single mob of people anywhere. This is why I come down around here, because even 100 people feels like a lot less than I'm normally around. And because I like to walk and sweat, it helps me feel like I'm doing something positive towards my fitness goals.

There's a lot that does on down along the water in Lower Manhattan. Just last week I went out for my daily lunchtime walk and discovered that the waterfront had been transformed into a Tennis/Beach Tournament event.

Unknown-11.jpeg

Yeah, they got in my way, but it was pretty awesome to witness the crowd and excitement that the tournament brought.

It's one of the things I really like about New York, how even in the bustling heart of the city there can be a moment for beach volleyball or tennis.



Unknown-10.jpeg



Apparently these gentlemen are a big deal in the world of tennis, but all I saw was how well they interacted with the public. They brought people from outside the net inside to let them serve a few. Everyone seemed to love it!

Unknown-4.jpeg

Concrete Jungle, Empire State, City that never Sleeps... New York is a lot of things, but in moments like these, it's just a place that's near the water and makes me feel relaxed.

Unknown-1.jpeg

I don't really get to share my day to day on Steemit, I'm usually so busy being a corporate slave or commuting to and from being a corporate slave.

When you're living that kind of existence, it's easy to forget that there's an entire beautiful world around you that is going on no matter what. It is indifferent to your neglect as much as it is indifferent to your adoration.

This isn't to entice you to notice the world around you, no no no. This is just me wanting to share one of those moments of existential clarity, when I can truly appreciate everything around me, despite whatever may be weighing on my mind.

I hope you enjoyed taking a lunchtime walk with me as much I did doing it! How did the hardfork treat everyone???

All Aboard! Steem On!

Unknown-12.jpeg



@prufarchy

giphy-16.gif

Sort:  

When I was working in NYC as a mover, I was often in and out of buildings overlooking the Hudson. You're right, as far as Manhattan goes, its quite calm & peaceful!

If you really want serenity in NYC, you have to head to the outskirts - Long Island, Far Rockaways, maybe Corona Park-Flushing Meadows in Queens.

Even Coney Island (shamless post-promotion!) feels like an escape!

Sounds like you had a nice lunch break! :)
I have been to New York once, so I can understand the peace of finding a moment in Manhattan like that.
Maybe the hard fork will help get you out of being a corporate slave!

I love biking and walking by the Hudson! Although I am a bit more uptown by Riverbank and Fort Washington it is still quite a peaceful spot!

I used to live right off fort Washington on 163rd! I would walk all along that street, it really is peaceful... especially once you get up to Cabrini area :)

We should do New Yawk cawfee sometime!

Definitely!

i used to think that manhattan was the capitol of new york but then i learned that it's not

Albany is more centrally located. Transportation was a big factor in the 1700s.

That looks like a cool place to go for a walk.