Creative Expression as a Healing Intervention

in #writing2 years ago

I have always found forms of creativity to be very healing, and a great way of working through and processing thoughts and releasing emotions. At different points in my life; when I have been through the most adversity; I have found I initially struggled to find a suitable outlet for releasing and healing; that would also fit into my busy life, that my mind would allow me to focus on.

However, I naturally discovered creativity, as it is possible to spend just snippets of time here and there or much longer whenever time allowed; towards being creative. Whenever I have really pushed myself to work on personal healing, and ensure that I actually release emotions; rather than burying them, ignoring them and closing off, I have found I can actually eventually achieve personal growth, despite going through adversity.

writing.jpg

A couple of years ago; when my youngest son (just two years old at the time), was diagnosed with a rare childhood cancer; obviously it came as a complete shock. To start with, it was so overwhelming that I couldn't really do much at all; other than concentrate on the immediate tasks and essentials. Eventually though; I found my own way of coping.

I had written poetry previously; during other difficult periods of my life and found it very helpful, so this naturally came to mind, as a way of possibly finding a way through the pain. On my most difficult days, whenever the idea came to me, I would force myself to sit outside in the fresh air with a notebook and pen to see what transpired.

Around this time; after a few minutes, I was often inspired to write about how I was feeling. Sometimes the thoughts would initially be too dark and heavy, and yet I needed a way of healing and releasing the emotions and energy. After some time though; I always seemed to find a way of working through that heavy, blocked feeling; beginning to organise my thoughts and feelings; looking for any blessings and focussing on the positive in my life. Miraculously, this often resulted in actually writing some lovely healing poetry; which I still use as a healing and creative outlet regularly in my life now.

crystals etc.jpg

Due to my holistic and spiritual background; I was and still am also naturally drawn to working with crystals, angel and oracle cards, meditation, healing energy sprays and other interventions of that nature, so I also often work with those techniques; to get into the next level of healing through pain, by then being creative after these methods have changed my mindset or lifted a layer of emotion. I found I could then very quickly write the inspired poetry and prose.

painting.jpg

Other times, I would have the urge to paint my angelic and spiritual paintings, but I must admit that when I was at my lowest, whilst going through personal trauma; I couldn't quite motivate myself to do that; as it seemed much more effort than sitting with a notebook and pen.

I have gathered together my poetry written over recent years; into a spiritual and healing collection, and I'm looking forward to releasing it in the near future. I feel the words may help others on their journey.

I have a lot more to share on other Applied Positive Psychology interventions and about how I have been able to achieve growth and empowerment through trauma; but for now I will leave it there! However, I will also try to inspire you to be creative yourself; as a way to heal through personal trauma or any difficulties you may be going through now or in the future, by posting one of my recent poems for you to enjoy:

A Fraction in Time

*We’re here but a moment in time,
A blink of an eye or a kiss;
What memory do you want to create?
Before you float off to bliss.

Will you focus on visions of joy?
To take with you for eternity.
Appreciate the sounds, colour and light?
Embrace the unexpected; enjoy uncertainty?

Are you ready to open up to magic?
Be present; awaken your soul?
Understand the deeper meanings;
See the universe has a goal?

Some things really can’t wait.
Certain words to be shared;
Experiences to hurry along,
Feelings that need to be aired.

The last thing any of us want,
Is to regret what we haven’t done.
Once we return to that divine spark;
And all of those chances are gone.*

I look forward to sharing more in the near future and thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @resiliencelouise! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!