Finally Reunited | The Field part 8

in #writing2 years ago

family-g7acde4335_1920.jpg
picture source:https://pixabay.com/photos/family-vacations-together-1517192/

Oh, Arrow hoped Marlene hadn’t moved on after five years of him being in the war. Arrow had been wondering about her for years and years, ever since he lost touch with her when the war got really bad. Their kid had to be about four now. Arrow wondered tirelessly if it was a boy or girl, how they looked, what they liked and what they didn’t.

Arrow went straight back to Linday, who was now inside the grocery store in her office.

“Lindsay, do you know where Marlene lives?”

“Marlene? No.”

This was going to become a wild goose chase wasn’t it? “Do you know when’s the last time she came here?” Arrow asked desperately.

“No. Wait, I think it was… two weeks ago, if I’m not mistaken. She buys in bulk, probably so she doesn’t have to go out for groceries so much.”

What!? Marlene had always been the outdoorsy type, as far as Arrow knew.

“Do you know where she lives?” said Arrow.

“Well, I don’t know where she lives but I know where she goes, she always heads south of the city, out into that field where that ancient game console factory closed down. You know the place.”

“Yeah, I know the place! Thanks Lindsay, you’re the best!” Arrow yelled, and walked out of the store.

Of course Marlene would be at The Field. That had been their special place to go since they were kids!

Arrow got to the old highway bridge at the end of town. He felt foreign walking under it now, having spent so many years away from it only to come back and see the always endlessly busy road empty except for a few stray cars every once in a while.

Once Arrow got to the field though, all the feelings of worry and strangeness left him. The sun shined down on his face, and the tall green grass swayed in the light breeze accompanying him. He missed being out here, sitting with Marlene, eating cookies or laughing and talking about life.

He was thinking about spreading his arms and legs out and collapsing into the grass when he heard the leaves crunching from the forest.

Arrow checked his surroundings. He saw a small shadow tangled in between the skinny trees ahead. The black drone he had seen earlier flew up to him, this time, a toy gun was tapped to the bottom of the drone.

The drone made A mechanical beep, then: “You're done, buddy. Say your prayers.”

Arrow smiled. “Oh, no! A drone with a plastic dart gun attached to it! I’m doomed! Please! Spare me!”

“Nope.” was all the boy said, and with that, an dart was shot at Arrow. Startling him.

How did the drone pull the trigger? Thought Arrow, until he realized the drone hadn’t shot a dart. Besides, the dart was stuck to Arrow’s chest, which meant the dart had been shot straight at him, not from his side. He turned to see the boy had put his drone controller down to hold a long plastic gun with a scope on top.

Smart, thought Arrow before putting his hands to his chest around the dart and saying “uh! I’m a goner! Oooooh nooooooooo! Uuuuuullllleeeehhh…”

Arrow fell to the ground dramatically, falling to his knees first, then yanking the dart off his chest before falling flat on his face.

The kid laughed, and Arrow could hear him approaching through the grass.

“You’re a terrible actor. My mom can do a better job at being the bad guy than that,” the boy told him.

“Is that so?” Arrow said, getting up and handing the dart over to the kid.

“Yep.” said the boy.

“So, you’re the kid with the drone who was talking to me earlier while I was in my ship. How did you know where I was?”

“I saw a ship flying over to the abandoned side of town and just flew my drone after it.” AJ explained.

“Cool. That’s a pretty sick drone.” Arrow told the boy.

“Uh-huh. The drone’s got my name on it. See?” The boy then turned the drone on its side to where it read ‘AJ’ in gray marker.

“Oh, so your name’s AJ?” said Arrow.

“Well, my real name is Arrow Junior, but my sister calls me AJ. Arrow wasn’t gonna fit on my drone, so Mama just put AJ.”

Arrow’s heart raced. Arrow knew he had a unique name, so the chances that he and AJ had the same name by coincidence was very little. This had to be… his son, but he could hardly believe he was meeting him here, in this very field! He had to know for sure.

“AJ, what is your mother’s name?” Arrow asked the boy.

“Uh… Mary? No, Marrin? I…I know it but I just can’t remember it!”

“Is her name Marlene?”

“Yeah! That’s it! How’d you know?”

“She… was… is a good friend of mine, do you mind taking me to her?”

“Uh.. okay… wait! Aren’t you a creeper?”

“No.”

“I don’t believe you!” AJ yelled.

Not this crap again, Arrow didn’t have time for this.

“Uh, if I was a creeper, you could easily take me out.” Arrow reasoned.

AJ thought about this. “... you’re right. I’ll show ya’ to Mama, then. Follow me.” And then AJ turned, picking up his drone with one hand and walking into the trees.

Arrow followed, and he was soon shaded by the tall treetops. Marlene had to have found someone new. How else would AJ have a sister? Marlene must have given up on Arrow and fell in love with another man her age who stuck around after the bombing. It hurt Arrow’s heart to think this, but he still had to see Marlene. He still had to know what had happened to her, and if AJ really was his son.

Soon they passed the old creak where Arrow had proposed to Marlene and made it to sunny, open plains of bright, vibrant green grass.

Out not too far was a house with blue shutters and rectangle windows, a chimney sticking out the top of it.

“There’s Mom,” said AJ, but Arrow could barely hear him, as it sounded like his voice was fading away.

There, in the lush grass field in front of the house, was Marlene. She was laughing and tickling a girl about AJ’s age.

She looked up for a second and her mouth formed an O as she saw Arrow in the distance.


Could this be her long lost husband? For five years, Marlene had been waiting for Arrow to return from war. The first day she couldn't even leave her bed, she was left crying for hours about her true love who was over 220,000 miles away, out in space, fighting an evil enemy who didn’t care how many lives they took.

Years, past, and Marlene didn’t even know if he was alive. She was stuck with memories, memories of him, and everything he used to do and say.

Marlene, you need to stay strong and be happy, for yourself and for our kid,” Arrow had said before he left. One of the very last things he had ever said was, “I’ll always be thinking of you and your pretty face.” This made Marlene feel warm inside, and this is what she remembered at one point in her sadness, when she had been talking to Arrow’s Ma.

“You know, Arrow and I wanted to build a house on The- I mean a field near the city,” she had said to Ma.

“Oh, dear, he had lots of big dreams he wanted to share with you. Lots.” Ma had replied with, but Marlene was still thinking. That won’t be a dream, Marlene thought to herself. Arrow, my love, I’ll get that house built for me and our child! We will live in the field where you and I were most happy, and I will be happy, for you and for myself!

When Marlene had given birth to their twins, she wished badly that Arrow where there to share the joy with her, for they were expecting one child not two, but he wasn’t.

Still though, Marlene smiled and was happy she had had the twins. Dear Arrow, once you get home, you will be reunited with me and our children at once, and if you have already died in the war, I know your strong spirit is watching over us!

But now, Marlene saw Arrow again, his handsome face and soul were here again, in the very Field they had loved since they were kids.

She reached out and touched his cheek, which was a shock because she didn’t even know she was right in front of him. They had both walked up to each other so that they were standing between the creak and the house, staring into each other's eyes.

“Arrow.”

“Marlene.”

The two immediately touched foreheads.

“Ew, please, stop.” AJ aimed his toy gun at Arrow, while his sister put a hand over her eyes as if glaring out the sun.

“Oh, quit it you two! Y’know what, why don’t you both go get a bucket of water while me and your DAD catch up!?

The girl gasped. “Wait, this guy is our Dad!?” she asked.

“That’s right, Marina, he’s the man I was always telling you about.”

“I thought he was a creep!” AJ yelled, shocked.

“Well, he’s not. You both will get to talk with him as soon as you get some water, now, go get the bucket.” Marlene nodded over to the house.

The two looked at each other, then at Arrow and ran to the house.


“So I’m their… they really are my children?” Arrow looked at the kids and then back at Marlene.

“Oh! Yes! I had twins, Arrow! Arrow Junior is our son, along with our daughter Marina. Marina is older by 16 minutes”

“Twins! This is incredible!” Arrow smiled. Arrow actually had a family to come back too!

“So I’m guessing you didn’t remarry after I was gone, huh?” Arrow shyly asked Marlene.

Marlene looked at Arrow like he was crazy. “Of course not! Where do you get these ideas, Arrow?”

“Well, I’ve been gone for so long, and I’ve told you to be happy even when I was gone, which had to be hard for you. And I thought you were going to have just one baby, so when AJ said he had a sister I just assumed you found someone new.”

“Arrow you moron! You know no one could replace your spot in my heart! Besides, Marina looks just like you.” said Marlene.

Marlene began to tell Arrow of her life while she was gone.

It was our dream to build a house right on this field, away from the worries of city life, so I made that happen. I hired people to build a house for me and our kids right by the creek. I started my own garden for food so I wouldn’t have to go out into town so much for stuff, and when I do go into town for supplies, I buy in bulk so I don’t have to come often. I love it here, and I’m glad you're back home so we can live in this house and raise our children together.”

The two smiled warmly at each other. That’s when AJ and Marina ran up to them with a pale filled with fresh water.

“Ew, more mushy-gushy.” said AJ.

“Mom, I saw a pretty fish in the water. Can I keep it?” asked Marina.

“No, that fish belongs in the water,” Marlene answered, while Arrow kneeled down to the children’s height.

“Do you know who I am?” Arrow asked them.

The twins looked at each other, then back at him.

“Our Dad, right?” said Marina.

“That’s right. And from now on, I’ll always be here to help you two, if you need anything.”

Marina looked up at Arrow and smiled. She ran to him and gave his legs a hug. “Okay.” Arrow picked her up and gave Marina a squeeze.

AJ said, “Cool.”

“Since your father is back from war, we should have a picnic outside celebrating his return!” said Marlene.

“And let’s invite my Ma, she would love to see these two,” Arrow added.

When Ma arrived, the sandwiches were made and the blanket was set down, Arrow smiled at his children, his beautiful, wonderful children. They were surprised to have two new add-ons to their family, a father and a grandma.

“I’ve heard stories about you, Dad.” Marina said.

“I’ve got a lot of questions for you Mr. A lot.” AJ said.

“Let’s hear ‘em. I’ve got all the time in the world,” Arrow said.

“How’d you even find out about our secret field?” AJ asked.

Arrow chuckled. “I’ve known about this place way before you were born, I actually found out about this place with you mom over 20 years ago, when the city was huge and thriving, and your Mom was just about to trade me some cookies….

The picnic was fun and Arrow got to learn about his family while they learned about him. Arrow was happy to be reunited with Marlene. They both gave each other a knowing smile while the kids played with Ma.

“Glad you're finally home.” said Marlene.

“Glad to be back.” said Arrow.

~THE END~


Check out my NFT's at: https://ab2.gallery/address/VFJRN2LQ3F6I65YKQIMF6ULSYVF3B5HJRNLOQMTYTBNPJQNSYJANGFL6KU

thanks for reading! :)