Pick A Card, Any Card

in #writing3 years ago

julius-drost-C8wlYF8ubBo-unsplash.jpg

“Pick a card, any card, they don’t bite. Well, some of them don’t.”

Everything around me and the boy turned black, as if nothing else existed at that moment.

I had run away from home, but as the Princess I knew if I didn’t get somewhere fast, the King and Queen, also known as my parents, would have all 1,001 kingdom knights after me.

“They’re all aces.” I said, looking in the boy’s eyes skeptically.

“Yes, but they take you to different places, and I recommend you pick one now before he sees you.”

Somehow a nod of the boy's head brought the world back.

I turned to see Sir Barns holding up a replica of my painting held in the main royal halls up to a market woman.

“Have you seen The Princess? She’s been gone an hour or so by now…”

I quickly picked the ace of hearts. “That one.”

“As you wish,” the boy said suspiciously and he laid the cards down. They quickly started to turn gold as glittery sparks started to form around me. Soon I was overtaken by golden streams of light and not a moment later, a tall forest stood before me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @restcity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP