Sort:  

Basically I come up with a story idea:

"The year is 3017. Humanity has just discovered interstellar travel and can move great distances. Although, theres a catch..."

And then users would take the idea for the story (above) and write their own short (or series) relative to the idea, putting their own take on it.

This gives you many different writers tackling the same idea. It's very cool and something I think steemit could really use.

Do we post the rest of the story as our own steem or in the comment? Do we post new writing prompts on our pages, then use #writingprompts as a tag? I won't lie, I lost interest in reddit for most things, so I haven't ever done one like this on a board like these. I feel old or slow... or maybe both ;)

You could do both! There isn't any reason you couldn't post the story in the comments of the original post and then make it its own post! Thats the beauty of this idea : )

To keep everything organized, it would be best to post it in the comments.
Only the people interested in the writing prompt would see it though.

  • This is a disadvantage for whales, since their large following won't be notified of their story.
  • However, this is an advantage for 'minnows'. Their story will be seen by all the people interested in the writing prompt, which is typically more than their small following.

In general, I would like to see more conversation and discussion on all posts on Steemit. So I would definitely post my story in the comments and not as it's own post.

Why not post it on your own and then a link in the comments?

I would prefer to just see all the responses to a prompt on one page instead of having to click on several links. This is the way it's done on Reddit as well. This works wonderfully. (example)
Of course, this is my opinion and @anarcho-andrei seems to disagree and prefer links as well. To each his own.

Since Scott originally expressed wanting more of a reddit type experience this makes sense. It's just the endless scrolling! I like to right click each link and open in new tab. Helps me think. Writers sure are funny with their preferences. Keeps things varied. Good luck on this endeavor :D

We could combine this with the #freewrite tag for those who want to just get their juices flowing!

Hey, thats not a bad idea! I wouldn't say we make it mandatory, but combining the two dads would definitely make it a better type of "space" for the type of content writing prompts would produce

Combine all the dads into one superdad.

it's... it's too much power...

You have to. It's the only way to save the moon.