You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #19: 199 words, 5 winners, 15SBD prize pool!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


The path of shadows

I had never taken this narrow road before, flanked by a thick mountain trying to invade its space, but the constant steps of people do not allow the grass to grow. It’s a long trail of yellow earth, I want to get to the other side, a strange sensation invades my body, I feel as if someone is following me. I turn around to see behind me and I do not see anyone, I accelerate the pace. There is total silence, there’s only the sound that occurs in the ears when nothing causes it outside, white noise. Not even the wind appears in this space that makes it feels more and more unreal.

I hurriedly follow the path, only me and my shadow that I see projected onto the flattened earth, until I suddenly stop at what I’m seeing, another shadow accompanies mine, I look desperate to all sides and I do not see anyone. Horrified, I start to run, I see that the spectrum chases me, I stumble and fall to the ground, I have reached the end of the road.