Getting Real

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I am going to get uncomfortable here for a bit and show my vulnerable side. I feel I have not been coming from a very genuine place with my writing in here. Yes, it is all true and what I believe, yet it is lacking my heart, my vulnerability. So I want to take off the and show you who I really am.

I grew up not wanting much of anything. My parents were not mega rich, but they were well enough off that among friends and family, they were the Joneses to keep up with. We were the first to have a computer, video recorder, boat, and other things. We went on trips, had land and my sisters and I were even bought a horse. I knew I had it easy in many ways (not that we didn’t have our own struggles). I also innately knew that struggles built character, so I actually wished for a harder life and it did get harder.

I ended up being pregnant at 19 and married the father of my child. By the time I was 25 I had 3 boys. A distant relative in my husbands family wrote a book on his family going back 7 generations. It was through that book, to the dismay and anger of many family members, that I found out how alcoholism ran in the family. I will forever be grateful for that book because it opened my eyes and I eventually got the courage to break the cycle of alcoholism and leave my husband.

Yes, being married to an alcoholic had it’s hardships. We were also not nearly as well off as my parents but we were able to get by. It was after the divorce that my my life financially would get worse, mainly because of bad decisions on my part when it came to money. My first bad decision was when I was talked into refinancing my home even though I knew the payments were too high. A few years later the house was for-closed on. Yes, it was 2008. I moved into my mom’s house and have lived here ever since.

Here it is almost 10 years later, divorced for 19 and 1 year living alone. My mom lives on her property up north and the last of my 3 boys moved out last October. I am first now feeling like I am making some progress on improving my financial situation. This is my biggest area where I am out of line with my integrity. I had made other mistakes financially and working to finish paying off debts. I am first now really saving and investing as well and doing several things to earn extra income. I could have probably filed for bankruptcy when I wasn’t working but I never felt right about doing that. Besides, I am a lucky one and have a family that has helped me. It was bad enough that I have a for-closure in my name. I don’t want anyone else paying for my mistakes.

I would say my wish for hardships came true. Sure, there are many people who have had it much worse than I. We all have had our trials and set backs though, even the mega rich. In fact, many of those failed more than anyone. They just knew how to brush it off, get back to work and take the chance of failing again.
I am hoping that by sharing my stories, and what I have learned along the way, that I can help others. I really do not have much to give at this time, so I will give what I can, and that is myself.

All content photo’s are @originalworks (except school picture)

Some of the things I am doing to improve my financial situation are.

Paying off debt and improving my credit

Putting a little money aside each week to invest in Cryptocurrency.

Automatically withdrawing $5+ a week and investing in Stash
Here's $5. Try this out:
https://get.stashinvest.com/ritans3kj

Dog Sit with Rover.com for extra cash which I will invest.
Click on below link if you need dog sitting services and you can save $20.
https://www.rover.com/refer/ritzpalusz/?source=header_feb&bep=event%3Dnavigation-give-20-get-20&bep=event%3Dnavigation-give-20-get-20

If you would like to dog sit too you can use this link.
https://refer.rover.com/s/Rita13

I am also big believer of network marketing/affiliate marketing. I currently am in Norwex and Seacret Dead Sea Minerals and very excited about a new business model called Trunited. https://trunited.com/user/realunited

Sort:  

Well, I came here with the newbieresteeminative to resteem your post. I'll stay to say this: It's been 27 years since I had a drink. I get it, sister.

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Congratulations. That is a great accomplishment.

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Is there a time frame @originalworks comes by to check on the validity of a post. I only ask because I had put a link in my blog and you also linked them here, yet I saw they replied to another that I believe was posted after mine.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Thanks, I had tried to do that but did not think it worked. Must have though if you are posting here.

Congratulations @rpalusz! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rpalusz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!