PSST! Hey! Wanna Earn More on Steemit? TOP SECRET Tip Right Here that NO ONE ELSE Is Talking About!

in #writing6 years ago

So, you thought real writing was dead here on steemit, huh? Yeah, a lot of people did, but I'll share a little secret at the end of this post that totally proves that ridiculous.

I want to talk about the tag system.

You ready? If you're new, go to the top right corner, click the little square button with three horizontal ridges through it and choose "explore" This brings up a list of categories, based on post tags, that people have used most frequently.

So, I was going to count them all, but then, nope...

Somewhere I am sure there is an article telling us how many tags are on that page, but let's get real, knowing the number is useless information, so, let's move on.

There are hundreds

On the page, you'll see categories on the left, in a list.

There are four pieces of data for each tag listed

  1. Category (tag)
  2. The total count of articles in that category (posts)
  3. A total replies count (comments)
  4. The total of Steem paid across posts in the category (payouts)

Since posts can have up to 5 tags, the stats are based on the main category for each post. There are no stats for cross posting.

This is where it gets interesting.

If you look at the page, you'll notice, the column headers are clickable. Much like a Windows file registry, you can reorder the data for each category. You can see them by

  • Alphabetical order
  • Number of posts, most to least
  • Number of comments, most to least
  • Total payouts most to least

For our purposes, the payouts category is the most important. Click it. You'll notice that life comes to the top, as of this post 1/29/18 it's unlikely to change soon, but if it does, the principles I'm sharing will still work.

The Life category is also tops in another column, number of posts.

These numbers change daily, but, I checked it a few times over a couple of weeks. The order didn't change much. While there has been a LOT of money paid out to "LIFE" posts, there is also a TRUCKTON of content posted there.

TOO MUCH COMPETITION!

It makes a great secondary tag, but I don't suggest it for your primary. Hot and Trending is determined in each category, with those posts going to the list. That's why you'll see high paying to huh? in those lists. Each category sends its best that fit the criteria.

We're looking for a lucrative, but low competition category.

This is just like choosing Google adwords. You need to find a phrase that people are searching for, enough to drive traffic, but without too competition, which drives the price of advertising up. If you've never bought adwords, you're missing out, you should try it.

Forgive me, that's a lie, adwords is the eighth circle of hell, but the analogy holds water.

So, upon further investigation, you'll notice that some of the higher paying categories, have much less competition (post number) Remember, all of you go up in that category, users filter through to choose what to upvote, as do bots and curation trails.

So, what am I pointing to?

Steem, Blog and ART are all solid choices. You're aiming for the hot and trending categories. As long as your piece roughly fits in that tag, it can help you. But, there is one tag, typically further down the list that is the highest paying category, per post, on all of steemit.

If you recall, I promised to share proof that writing on steemit was not dead!

That's right, the writing category pays better than any other!

There you have it. It's an open secret, but no one else is talking about it. Is it a conspiracy, I don't know, but it smells like one. Am I joking, sure, maybe, okay, I'm not. This is b*llshit and we're not going to take it anymore! LOL

Seriously, though, if your post will fit in the writing category, use it! If it won't occasionally write one that will! Getting on the hot and trending lists has HUGE benefits.

  • You'll get more votes, guaranteed. This is why bots work!
  • You're payout will be higher
  • You'll attract new viewers
  • Some of them will follow you
  • One hot piece of content, can lead to additional votes on several!

Trust me on this last one! I get this comment sometimes. "Thanks for that post, I'm upvoting all your stuff!

So, there you have it! Remember where you heard it. Don't keep it a secret. In fact, one lucky reader who upvotes, resteems and comments on this post, will get some SBD (at least 1 full coin) in their wallet from me!

NOW CHECK OUT THIS GREAT CONTENT!

  1. Co-author a guest post with a known steemer and split the revenue, for FREE!
  2. Act like you own the place, things you can do to make steemit better.
  3. An Amazing Giveaway by my friend @markrmorrisjr

UPVOTE RESTEEM COMMENT AND FOLLOW THANX!

Sort:  

Thanks for the tip. Some tags I use are not even listed on that list. I don't believe it contains all the tags that Steemians have conjured up over time. I sure wish there was a way to find them all!

I think it's based on payouts and comments too. So, if your category was the first one on your post, it might be on that list. Like, I tag a lot of my stuff with markrmorrisjr, so it's searchable,but, it's never my primary tag.

Thanks, I will try that!

Also, you can search hashtags in the search bar and it will return any piece with that tag on it.

The 3 square lines is called a "hamburger" :D But great post!

Sorry, I realize it looked like I didn't know that, but when I say hamburger menu, I have to explain it eight times out of ten, so...

you're right as a dev i make so many of those lol its just stuck in my head. great intel though!

Thanks for injecting that... I learned something today!

Anytime glad i could help! its always good to try and learn one new thing a day.

dev, huh? Hmm, have you built anything on the steem blockchain? I've got several ideas.

I develope mobile and web applications. never looked into the steem blockchain or any of it. i actually just purchased a cryptology book im reading to help me understand how it works so then i can figure out how blockchain works.

Cool, well, if you do, let me know! Maybe we could make something together.

Welcome to the rabbit hole!

Sorry, I don't respond to that. I support those that support me and contribute to the conversation. I appreciate the situation, but this comment is not related to what I posted, it's just begging.

thanks @steemgoblinbut how i will support you :)

Resteem, comment about the post above, tag a friend to invite them to read it, and finally, drumrollll.......UPVOTE! Thanks for stopping back by.

Really good advice for the newbies, thanks

I'm glad you liked it. Hope it helps.

Thanks very good info.Thanks for that post, I'm upvoting all your stuff!

Wow, thanks! Consider a resteem for this one?

Love it! Thanks!

Hey this is some great advice. Im looking to work on here and promote some of my writing and these tips make perfect sense. Thank you for the info on the post.

Drop what you're doing and go follow @markrmorrisjr if you haven't. He's doing some really great stuff for writers.

Thank You for the "Heads-Up"... great suggestion.

Cheers !!

Thanks, sometimes it pays to have grown up in the library and learning to research and think.

Great advice. It inspires me to want to get better at writing. I try to write a lot in my art posts but don't know if they qualify to be placed under the writing category. Any tips? Is there a limit or some kind of rules that determine what belongs where?

Nope, this is what anarchy looks like, brother. If you abuse a category, like "introduceyourself" by posting there with stuff that doesn't seem to fit too often. Somebody might complain in your comments, or one of the spam bots might find it and leave a comment, threatening to downvote it.

self policing seems to be the word of the day for me lol

Self governance, my friend, is the future.

Great observation! This is something I'm definitely adding to my post optimization list.

Awesome, I think for authors that are having some success, this can be the margin that makes them or breaks them. It's like any other social media platform, post it in the right group and you're in, miss that, and you'll be all alone with the crickets.

WTF, @teemgoblin you deserve 10 + times payout than what it is currently saying !! This piece is not just a well written article it is one of absolute substance. Thank you a million times for pointing this out. You learn something new everyday

Again, thank you. I'm Resteeming and Following . Hell, I might just try that Steemvoter and put you down as the first one I auto Vote all the time :)

Thanks, it's all good. I'm not that worried about it. My main focus is building a community here. If you haven't yet, you should follow @markrmorrisjr, he's the one that brought me here. Thanks for the kind comment. Glad you enjoyed it.

Yes thanks I did do that with @markrmorrisjr . And look forward to helping and working with you to build this Community :)

Input. I like input. This is good input. Woo-hoo Johnie 5 lives.

HA! Talk about a blast from the past "Where have all the good men gone and where are all the gods, where's the great white Hercules to fight the rising odds?...."

They are all on facebook crying about being deleted while boasting and bragging about how they are so important having so many followers or demanding it's not fair that they should receive more for doing less. I want, is all they know and you should get an extra job and give it to me. Now.

Yep, just wrote a post about that this morning. This is the wild west, ain't nobody else gonna build your cabin and plant your damned crops for you! Feed your own pigs!

I didn't really learn anything new. I did know about the tag system, I have been checking it and comparing the number of posts/rewards ratio to decide which category and tags should I choose.

Guess what, I'm still virtually invisible. What does it matter that a whale gives you an upvote when your posts still get read by less than ten people...

I know I sound too negative. I am sure there are many people who will really appreciate this advice, though.

Whether you think you can, or you think you can't, you're right. -Henry Ford here, go follow @markrmorrisjr, he's got some great stuff going to get promotion for minnows. But, until you believe in yourself, you'll just give up anyway. I don't mean that to sound fatalist, or derogatory, but no one can help you, until you make up your mind you can be helped. And what exactly is the point of this comment, of course I'm not the only to figure this out. I'm not even the one that discovered it in my case, Mark did and shared it with me. Don't know what else to tell you.

Thank you for all the info @steemgoblin - I'm learning slowly :)

Sometimes, that's the best way. Those people who believe in sitting still after a meal to digest seem happier and wiser. Absorb, apply, advance.

Thank you for your suggest!

Absolutely, anytime! Did I get your upvote?

I apologize. Seems you were reported by someone in the community for comment spam. Not sure how you can spam your own blog when replying to comments. The person who wrote the original comment was confused by comment tree.

Thank You! ⚜

Um, this is my post. He said it was great. If you read comics in the store they stop you reading them for free. And, my reputation is higher than yours. So, there's that.

Well, at least we agree on that. Automated bots suck. Seriously, if you want to be Spam Sheriff of Steemit, at least take the time to do it.

Ironic, your dumb bot threatens me, in my own threa, a thread, where this comment was just above it.

hy @steemgoblin i need your some help I want that you resteem this post to help someone.
thanks :)
https://steemit.com/life/@hamza77/my-father-used-to-buy-simple-goods-from-poor-people-at-high-prices-even-though-he-did-not-need-them

Then your whale buddy comes along and gives your apology a $1 upvote? The rich get richer.

Thanks for the tip! As a new Steemer it definitely takes time ... and new friends ... figure these things out!

Yeah, it's just like the real world, but with fewer ways to end up in prison, huh? LOL You've got it figured out.