Hints: #6 --- Say Yes to Everything

in #writing6 years ago

This post was co-published at talanhorne.com.

It's that time again.

Welcome back to Hints, a miniseries of Mr. Horne's Book of Secrets.

There is no shortage of people who will try to control you, as a writer. Advice can be helpful, but for some people it is just a way of trying to hijack your story to make it their own. At the end of the day, the only one who can tell your story is you, and you can't rely on someone else to fix whatever problems you encounter.

At the same time, it's wrong to expect you to make it completely on your own. You are not the first writer the world has ever seen, and you should not have to reinvent the wheel.

So how about a compromise? Just a glimpse of the direction you should be heading. Because what you really need...is a hint.

"Hints: because you only need a little help."

Pop Quiz, Hotshot


Say you're an unpublished author trying to sell your first book who suddenly gets asked to contribute a short story to an anthology.

What do you say:

  1. "Gee, I dunno."
  2. "Short stories? I'm more of a novelist."
  3. "I need to ask my agent."
On a blank sheet of lined notepaper, write down your answer. Then crumple the paper up and throw it in a campfire because the real answer is "What's the pay?"

Huh?

Judging by the title of this post, you probably thought that the answer was going to be "yes", because this is a post about how budding writers need to say yes to everything.

And they do...as soon as they know they're getting paid for it.

Because there is one situation in which every writer---established or not---should always say no, and that is when people offer to pay you in "experience" or "exposure".

When people offer to pay you this way, it means they want you to work for free, and once you have a reputation of working for free, no one will ever pay you for anything ever again!

It's important you know this to begin with. Usually, whenever I have to list caveats and exceptions to a post I put them at the bottom. But this one exception is important enough that it needs to go first.

And with that out of the way, we can proceed to the actual hint.

Say No to Unpaid Work. Say Yes to Everything Else.


If you're an author, fame and connections are not just nice things to have, they're the key to survival. An author does not need to be a household name to earn a moderate living, but he would be an idiot to not even try.

And the most lasting way to become memorable is to become prolific. One book alone is not enough to build a career. You need to be churning out projects with gusto. So when you are asked to contribute to an anthology, or write a script for a radio-style podcast drama, or convert one of your existing manuscripts into a graphic novel, and once you are sure you are getting paid for the venture, your answer should be "yes".

And if It's Unpaid but Not Work...?


To split hairs even further...

There are some non-paying opportunities you should say yes to, but only if they do not count as work.

For example, if a TV show, radio show, podcast, or YouTube channel invites you to briefly appear on their platform and plug your book, you probably don't want to demand some kind of payment. Here you're just trying to make friends.

If, however, these same venues asked you to do something more intensive---say, for example, that a YouTube channel asked you to guest host an episode or make a series of videos for them detailing your writing process---then you're going to want to stand up for yourself and require payment.

Once you know you are getting paid, or that you are not doing any work, then your job is to say yes to everything.

The Benefits of Saying Yes


When people know you are up for anything, they tend to call on you more.

And the more you are called on, the more you will get called on in the future. Opportunities lead to more opportunities. Success breeds success. And all that can be derailed if you say no too often.

Sometimes, it is hard to say yes. To use the anthology example again, you may end up having to write a short story in a genre you're not familiar with. Or you may find out, too late, that you do not excel at short fiction. Saying yes to that may seem like taking a stroll into crisis.

But some of the best opportunities come from leaving your comfort zone. And if you can prove your mettle in multiple genres, then you'll have so many more avenues to get your writing out to the world.

Conclusion


I've already said too much. This was supposed to be a hint, not a diatribe.

But this is a problem that many budding writers face, as a lot of us are shy and scared of new opportunities. It's important to know that walking headlong into scary new territory is the most important part of being an inexperienced professional. Your first step is always going to be a "yes" moment, so you have to prepare yourself to say yes to it.

Look forward to those moments, because they will carry you to amazing new heights.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

"Opportunities lead to more opportunities. Success breeds success." well said..

@talanhorne,
Yeah if opportunity found, I will say Yes, coz few times back I said No and now I am feeling like I was a big fool at that day! I think it's valid for every industry, so yeah it's valid with writing industry as well! Great article my dear friend!

Cheers~

Completely agree with you from the first step depends very much, and if it does not prepare, everything can go not in your favor. It is very important to do their work at a high level. Thank you for sharing @talanhorne

Wow...such a wonderful and interesting topic for blogging by @talanhorne sir...
Actually I'm always respect to ur uncommon ideas...
At first, saying yes to everything that was asked of or offered to me was uncomfortable. At times, it was even scary. I’d spent most of my life carefully analyzing (and overanalyzing) the choices I made, even those that may seem simple in nature.

Giving up that control was a new experience for me, but the adrenaline rush I felt when I stepped outside my comfort zone somehow told me that I was on the right path. It taught me the value of being vulnerable and remaining open-minded.

Bonus? Stripping away the complexity of decision-making made life less stressful and freed up more of my time to focus on more important things, and many more opportunities found me as a result.
Thanks sir...

Yes sir you trully said,some people it is just a way of trying to hijack your story to make it their own.

Upvote and Resteem

Very nice,, success always..

Very good

Good writing you just shared.Writing is very hard.
For your post propagation.
Upvote/Resteem
@talanhorne

Congratulations @talanhorne
Now you are in the MinnowsPower Loyalty Member List...!!!

Exceptional article & excellent hints...!!!

100% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

You're a good knowledge person about writing and it's very difficult.
Your job is excellent Blog.
Thanks @talanhorne
Have a nice day

Amazing ideas by @talanhorne sir....
"Say yes. If you want to get stuff done and further a specific vision, say no to most things unrelated to your goal. If you want to get out of your funk, on the other hand, say yes."

I’m a depressive; my whole life feels like a funk. Even my goals depress me. But I’m no stranger to saying yes....
In fact, I think it's plausible that I am addicted to saying yes. More specifically, I’m addicted to keeping open my ability to say yes. The idea of saying no, of closing off any opportunity completely, makes me feel like someone dumped a truckload of rocks on my chest. It's a terrible feeling, similar to the one I get when I think about getting sober, or getting married, or having a child. The forever of it closes in on me, and I can't breathe. All the air pushes out of my lungs. Saying yes is like popping a Claritin whenever I’m having an allergic reaction to the concept of “forever.” It’s a magic pill that opens up my airways. Saying yes makes the future seem exciting and endlessly possible, instead of just endless...

it's really amazing friends

that's get tough along the way of saying yes as a writer all the way down to the wire thanks for sharing this excellent blog post :)

Amazing writting.
Thanks for sharing. @talanhorne

Good jop friends @talanhorne

a great writer is only that who write from the heart and unbiased talk always :)

Great work dear for sharing this awesome writting.I like it so much.
Lot of thanks for sharing this.

That is article is professional & Excellent writing . so great experience.
Thanks @talanhorne
100% like and resteem

Really nice post dear.

Very interesting writting and some photography and gifs are also interesting.Thanks @talanhorne for sharing.
upvoted and resteemed.

wow its realy amazing yar @talanhorne

This is great publishing and great writing experience.
@talanhorne
Resteem

I'm waiting to see your post like as a Netflix movie. But this time posted awesome article of thoughts indeed. Great job my friend.

Wow great writting.
I really like to read your writting always.
Thanks for sharing.
100% upvote and resteem done.

Really amazing writting.I never see it before.
Really good writting.
Thanks dear for sharing.

Tremendous effort @talanhorne. Writing is very hard task. Need to think much and need to control mindset. But you all did it and final production awesome.

Wonderful writting.I really impress.
Thanks @talanhorne for sharing your writting.

Your writting touch my heart.Realle excellent writting.
Thanks for sharing.
upvoted+resteemd

Wow..Awesome your publication blog...It's a awesome writing blog... lovely content.. Amazing article using here...
Keep it up sir..
Thanks sir @Langhorne for that great writing.
Upvote

the best time and the best post of the day nicely written and narrated wonderful :)

Your writting skill is really good.I read you previes writting.You are really good writter.
Thanks for sharing @talanhorne

Very valuable writting.Really great job bro.
Thanks for sharing Your valuable writting with us.
100% like + resteem done.

I completely agree with you, it is important for a novice writer to feel new horizons, as this gives a better perception of reality and of his possibilities. Therefore, at the beginning of the creative path, it is better to try and figure out what and how. Thank you @talanhorne

You are a good person to write.your ideas and writing have been fulfilled.
(((((( Resteem service)))))

@talanhorne you're right the title does not stick with the content .. 

lol but it's like you say if you ask the favor of writing a script free for whatever it is, always your work is going to do no one will take you seriously, you will be a writer of second another of the lot, it seems to me to charge for our work is as a writer, contractor etc. 

our effort is worth, time and money ..

Hello sir @talanhorne,,, I'm just astonished..
I want to say that ,,, You have extraordinary power of written communication.
Really I'm glad to read your every article's...
It's make me amaze free..Keep it up..
Thanks for the great share..

This is professional writing experience and great work.
Upvote Resteem

@talanhorne, That's very good enough publishing work.
This is a talented one. I'm glad to reading it.

i like your post . because your post is very nice . thanks for sharing @talanhorne

Your first step is always going to be a "yes" moment, so you have to prepare yourself to say yes to it.

Very nicely said. For whatever reason what you wrote reminds me this movie. I think you will recognize when you start reading it.

“No maybe I can't win. Maybe the only thing I can do is just take everything he's got. But to beat me he's gonna have to kill me, and to kill me he's gotta have the guts to stand in front of me, and to do that he's gotta be willin to die himself. I don't know if he's ready to do that. I don't know. I don't know.”

It may sometimes be safe to say no, but it’s hardly ever fun. If you say “yes” to everything, everyone will tear you apart. If you say “no” to everything, no one would be willing to work with you. You just have to find the middle of this way of life. We shall say ‘no’ because we want to wait for the right moment. While patience pays off and having a strategy in place before you jump into something crucial is not a bad thing, you have to admit that sometimes you’re waiting for all the wrong reasons. One of the reasons might be that you’re waiting for courage or waiting to take the plunge.
Your mind of writer is very creative, I love that.

Excellent writting @talanhorne
Thanks for sharing with us.
100% upvote + resteem done.

I read your full post.I think you are a professional writter.Great work.Keep it up and
Sharing with us always.
Lot of thanks @talanhorne

this is really amazing always with the best posts friend.

Say yes, yes yes. Excellent article.

Very awsome post it is.
Effective writing it is .i love to read your post .
Keep it up hope you will do more like this .

Good post @talanhorne.
Thanks you shaaring

There are 2 pages
Pages