How Much to Tell, How Much to Keep Secret

in #writing6 years ago
Talking is a hydrant in the yard and writing is a faucet upstairs in the house. Opening the first takes the pressure off the second.

ROBERT FROST

I have a superstition that if I talk about a plot, it’s like letting sand out of a hole in the bottom of a bag.

SHIRLEY HAZZARD

I find that discussing an idea out loud is often the way to kill it stone dead.

J.K. ROWLING

Keeping It In

Writers are secretive beasts.

It's an occupational hazard, and comes with the territory. The writer's current project is always a mystery to the people around him. Even loved ones will often be kept out of the loop. And that's too bad, because secrets are bad for relationships.

They are, however, good for writing.

The False Because: Plagiarism


Luckily for writers, the people around them always believe that the writer has a good reason for keeping his secrets, even though that reason happens to be wrong.

Because to non-writers, the reason why their writer friends are so secretive is that they're afraid of plagiarism. Nobody wants to have their million-dollar idea stolen, after all.

 

But in reality, plagiarism in the literary world almost always comes after the book is already published. A plagiarist, after all, isn't going to take a risk in stealing unpublished work. They're instead going to set their sights on books they already know are bestsellers.

The majority of book plagiarism today comes from hacks who copy the entire text from a bestselling book and then use a selective paste function to change all the names of the characters. They then sell the new text as an ebook on Amazon and watch the fraud dollars pour in.

But, even though it isn't the truth, it is sometimes easier for the writer to use the plagiarism excuse when keeping his secrets, because the real reason why writers are so secretive is harder to explain to a non-practitioner.

The Real Because: Fear of Obligation


Once the book is written, the writer has a bit more leeway in telling people what the book is about.

But before the book is written---while even a single chapter remains unfinished---there exists a danger in being too free with revealing secrets. That danger takes the form of obligation.

Because in order to write the book as it needs to be written, the writer has to be free to change his mind and amend the story as it unfolds. Even the writers who are staunch outliners need the freedom to introduce spontaneous changes.

But if the writer reveals details about the book before it's finished, those details turn into obligations. The writer has promised that the book will be a certain way, and by locking himself into that certainty, he hamstrings himself. And what would have been a creative work becomes, instead, a yoke and a burden that changes writing into drudgery.

Until the work is finished, the writer can't be sure he is proud of it. He has to get the book ready for public exposure, and that process cannot be rushed.

The Sorrow of Secrecy


As most of you know, I am currently submitting a project for publication. The professionals to whom I am submitting know the details of the work, but here on the blog, I refer to it only by the codename "A9".

And it's not fun keeping this a secret. The book, after all, is done and ready. However, when the entire internet is the potential audience, it pays to be even more cautious in keeping secrets. I likely can't reveal any details about this book until I have a publisher under contract.

I could be wrong. I don't have enough experience in the industry to know how much secrecy is necessary at this stage of development. But the book could still go through a lot of changes once I have an agent and/or editor. I don't want to paint myself into a corner.

But I also don't want to keep secrets from you. I want to start marketing this book right away, and I have an impulse to do just that. There are a lot of people on the internet who would be intrigued by the ideas contained in the work, and I'd love to talk to them about it.

But I have to be cautious right now. Keeping the book under wraps is part of my efforts to deliver it to the right publisher. The story is being saved for the people who can actually do something for it. This book deserves the best chance it can be given.

The Hope for an End


So I'm sorry that I have so little to say about what I'm currently doing. I'm not doing it to be selfish or unwelcoming.

But with this apology comes a silver lining: if a publisher picks up project A9, I should be able to release details gradually. And you can trust me when I say there's a lot of good ones waiting to be known.

In the meantime, I wish you all luck in your own writing endeavors. Let's hope we all get some good news soon.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

@talanhorne,
After reading this article I understood why did you said Writers are secretly kind of a beasts! It's easy to review what they said, but if we try to write something like they did, now I understood the impossibility behind it! So, whatever you are doing, that's amazing! Hope your writings will be published in this year and one day you might be at top class writers list as well!

Cheers~

This is brilliant post from you @talanhorne! You are an inspiration to many! Thank you for sharing your wisdom.

@talanhorne sir...
Another wonderful and interesting post again...
Wel done and perfect work sir..
Cheers~~~

I am very happy, my friend, that your book is ready and I very much hope that soon we will see your work. Of course, your caution at this stage is natural and while you are looking for a worthy publisher to fully discover all the secrets, I'm looking forward to learning about it, yet I think we should wait. I wish you good luck with the publisher and the publication of the book! Thank you @talanhorne

You're a good knowledge person about writing and it's very difficult.
Your job is excellent Blog.
Thanks @talanhorne
Have a nice day

Great post and good writing.i like your post and upvoted.

This wait must be the worst, but you did all you could and now it’s the wait time. Let’s hope the good news come soon. Plagiarism has always been a problem for original authors and always will unfortunately. There is a reason writers are trying to keep their writing in secret, just like you do. I wish you the best!

It is 100% true that,Until the work is finished, the writer can't be sure he is proud of it. Sir, you doing very good job and keep it up

Hello @talanhorne,

Don't reveal your secrets until your book published. Extraordinary good article you made again.

~@mywhale

good job, you get a good art

I hope you get the good news soon!
And you can count on it, once your book is published, there will be individuals trying to plagiarize your writing, even in different language.

great job...nice post...

impressive post...upvote and resteemed..

great writing,good job,awesome article,my dear friend @talanhorne,i really really love this post all time,thank you for sharing with us,

Very beautiful.publishing.life. news post this post to you for thank you very much, and this post a lot like and like post vote and comments and post share, I like this post a total of all see and this post to everyone can vote

you are very good @ telanhorne.anda can keep a secret, not easy to keep a secret.good work temsn.sukses always for you

@talanhorne - Sir you have a born talent... Therefore, you can be one of the best writer, you already proved it by your reviews Sir... Wish you all the best Sir...

+W+

This is great publishing and great writing experience.
@talanhorne
Resteem

Great my dear you are one of the best writer on streem

@talanhorne, That's very better publishing work. I prefer to your writing article. Nice one to shared community.

This is professional writing experience and great work.
Upvote Resteem

You've better idea and thoughts about writing and publishing field. We can take best opinion from you @talanhorne. Thanks for the effort.

That is article is professional & Excellent writing . so great experience.
Thanks @talanhorne
100% like and resteem

If in this environment it is very difficult to be recognized, I hope you get good news soon.

Congratulations @talanhorne
Now you are in the MinnowsPower Loyalty Member List...!!!

Exceptional article & wish best of luck to finish all ongoing projects...!!!

100% Upvoted by @MinnowsPower

I’m glad to hear that was not true about amazon and plagiarism. I was about to say that is a bit disappointing they do not have better safe guards in place. While I have never created or self-published over there I have been thinking about giving it a try. While I love Steemit it does require constant and never ending attention. One of things I’ve noticed for a while now is I’m lacking multiple sources of somewhat passive income. That is just something we don’t get to enjoy here with things only being 7 days.

I’ve noticed a couple of people try and write as they go and publish longer writings or even books here on Steemit. The hardest part seems to being unable to go back and edit or fix loopholes or anything that needs major correcting. I’ve given it a try a couple of times and usually don’t make it far into some longer works here. It seems you more or less have to just have the entire thing finished before you even start releasing it in an environment like one we are in.

I wish you luck in getting published and I hope the burden about it is about to be lifted!

Good writing you just shared.Writing is very hard.
For your post propagation.
Upvote/Resteem
@talanhorne

wow very excellent post Thanks for sharing i will done upvote.....
to be continue..... ..... .....

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 18 SBD worth and should receive 85 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Very better included contents here. Awesome writing post @talanhorne. Your writing blog very clear to understand better.

You will get the good news of your publication soon. Excellent article~

Smart post again by @talanhorne sir...
Actualy I think you have wonderful and uncommon writting skill....execellent ideas...
I'm really like and appreciate your work...
Cheers~~

Great post sir. Resteem

great writing content you ae doing great job keep it up thanks for sharing

Very good post about publishing and writing, thank you very much you share valuable information, regards

Wow! Great post sir.
Good writing skills.
You have a great knowledge.
Excellent job sir.

Thanks @talanhorne sir for sharing this post. 🤗💙

Upvoted + resteemed your post.

hi @talanhorne.bicous uncomfortable to keep a secret, but the secret still we must guard By not telling it to anyone. I salute with your commitment to keep this secret. I am very happy with your post

Hi dear @talanhorne..
How are you?..
And good-morning..
Dear ..amazing writing,and good news..good job,awesome article,my dear friend @talanhorne,i really love this post all time,thank you for sharing with us,....
I look forward to each of your posts..
So i just resteem and upvote..done

Dear @talanhorne, Daily Learn some new from your post. Love to read it.

a very great movie. i am interested to watch him. very good post. always success for you @ talanhorne

Wonderful post. Upvote and resteem done

i really impressive to read your post sir,,,its really great post of good article ,,,great love to you sir
@talanhorne
i appreciated it of book that you wait for which,,very soon you will get goood news sir,,, i wish

thank you for giving a story today, this is a very cool story, hope you are always healthy and can be successful

awesome article
dear sir @talanhorne,,thanks for share
i hope very soon you get your book to publish

s ~ (m) i' L/L e'ye (a) t ~ (0) w/i ce AD
Screen Shot 2018-04-09 at 8.36.54 PM.png

Really wonderful article done well
But plagiarism has become a lot in the days
But every human being must register his book in the patent so as not to be impersonated

Usefull article about writing tips, thanks for your sharing to us, success for you brother @talanhorne, i have upvote and resteem your post to more than 1820 my follower

Great job, Be patient my dear friend @talanhorne, good news for you will come soon, thank you for your sharing usefull post,

There are 2 pages
Pages