A gastro journey through northern Brazil - Part 2

in #writing6 years ago

A continuation from Part 1.
steemit-photography-a2.jpg

As I was typing furiously away at my notebook, the phone rang, jolting me from my stream of consciousness. Knowing exactly who was calling, I snapped up the receiver before the first ring completed.

"How many," I growled.

"Fourteen," the reply buzzed and crackled.

"How b--" I began, but was interrupted.

"HUGE. And they're alive."

"I'll be there in a half an hour!" I barked into the mouthpiece, leaving the front door open, as I bolted to the car.

Be sure to follow me for more great content.

I skidded into a parking place in front of the hut where the fisherman was sitting. In front of him was a pile of beautiful, enormous scallops, agape and panting.

Pecten fumatus - the king scallop.

STEEMIT-FOLLOW2.jpg

Skeptically, I lightly caressed the eyes along the mantle inside a scallop. It closed slightly, in protest.

I leaned in to smell. Ocean. All day.

"How much?"

"$0.42 cents (USD) a piece"

He didn't even need to complete his sentence. I thrust the worn, dog-eared bills into his hands, and sped off.

Patted with salt, pepper, and Ethiopian mitmit'a spice blend, and set aside.

Sweated some coarsely chopped basil, garlic and shallot in portuguese butter, prepared some angel hair pasta with a light aglio olio, seared the scallops and their accompanying roe for 45 seconds each side, and tossed everything together.

Finished it off with a gorgeous sunset.

STEEMIT-FOLLOW2.jpg

All content is mine, and original.

Chinese, China, Shenzhen, shanghai, beijing, hong kong
汉语,中国,深圳,上海,北京,香港, 录影

Visit some of my other, memorable posts:

  1. L.A. Short Story (creative writing)
  2. The Pink Sands of Polynesia.
  3. Incredible time-lapse of storm and cloud activity in coastal Brazil
  4. My self-introduction post (introduceyourself)
  5. How-to make a huge vacuum-tube light fixture (creativity)

logo-texagonia-grey.png

self-intro.jpg

Sort:  

Enjoyable trip
write interesting to read