Are You a Product of Your Environment?

in #writing6 years ago

Image7(photoshop).jpg

Like if you were born on the opposite side of the world, would you still have the same interests and passions?

I grew up on a ranch out in the middle of nowhere Texas. Everybody there likes American football and bbq, including myself. Girls drink beer and love country music. Mostly everything they like or focus on was instilled in them through where they were raised. Now I love Texas and the people therein, but let's pretend that if somebody there were to be born in say the UK or even another State in America, would they be the same person?

How can you get two different people from one single person?
The math just doesn't add up.

Now the reason I bring this up is because most people haven't discovered themselves. I believe that souls are our true self and we just wear clothing called skin to shield us in our environment. That's why it's good to experience other cultures and places, including people, cuisines, religion. And whatever beliefs and interests stick with you through time makes up who you really are.

Now I can say from the places I've lived that I am not a football aficionado or bbq connoisseur, though I would be delighted to partake in either from time to time. I do love being in nature though, and I am forever a believer of individuality and voluntaryism.

Out of 7 billion people, there is only one you. Isn’t that amazing? Hopefully this will allow some of you to reflect on how much your environment has an effect on shaping your decisions and interests, and whether that truly is the real you.