Posting on Steemit

in #writing6 years ago

beard-black-and-white-dark-22147.jpg

So I managed to do fairly alright for my first few Short written bits... so I have seen a few things and I would like to ask some questions:

How many posts does it take a newbie (such as myself) to get at least a little recognition?

I ask this because I have over 150 followers here but I only got 2 upvotes on the previous post. I think that this has to do with the amount of people on Steemit and how much is being posted every hour of every day.

Another question is what post length is best to use? How many words for an article, a photo or a piece of fiction?

Responses would be greatly appreciated!

Sort:  

Congrats on winning a resteem in the Amidakuji contest (I will be posting the results shortly; haven't yet). I will look thru your posts and resteem one of them.

Regarding your questions in this post: It took me a few months before I was making more than 1 or 2 cents a post and actually getting some views. One thing I did that helped speed up the process was I networked like crazy — commenting on others' posts at least several times a day, joining groups on discord such as the writers block and msp, and going out of my way to make personal connections. It is tough work, but as they say, nothing comes easy.

Keep your eye out for contests you can join. I am currently holding another giveaway you can join here. There are many such contests and giveaways on steemit, so keep your eyes peeled.

Try not to get discouraged. Keep posting good quality things and trying to network and eventually it will pay off. Good luck!

Oh thank you very much!

I did not know I managed to win something! lol

I should post something new soon.

I will check that link and yeah... I will try my best to network a whole lot more!

Congratulations @thorrey! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!