Alone Or With Somebody You Don't Love?

in #writing6 years ago

Marriage is such a complicated topic to talk about but I often think about it and I wanted to hear for your opinion, too. I see girls and boys everyday committing themselves to the people they don't love and entering the marriage only for sake of their parents or people around them who would be judging them if they stayed alone.

That seems so wrong to me! I think marriage is a big deal and everybody should be aware of the obligations and everything else it brings but also, should be aware that it won't be happy one if they aren't getting into it with person they love. I will always support the fact that it is better to spend the rest of your life alone than with somebody you don't love or even hate, with the person who doesn't respect you, doesn't support your wishes and dreams and doesn't let you to be yourself by their side. 

We shouldn't hurry things up and listen to the advice and rules of other people. Who has the right to tell you the right age for you to get marry?! That's your own choice. If you want to, you can get married at 18 as well as 80. Don't live your lives by the rules somebody else imposed to you. Because, at the end... The one who will be living through that marriage will be YOU not THEM. Live your life by your own rules or forget rules at all. Just live. And always choose things that will make you happy, not other people. Live with somebody else by your side or alone. The important thing is that you are proud of your choices and not feeling like you should've done differently years after. 

What is your opinion on marriage?

Are you waiting for the right one or settling with anyone?

Should people respect rules in their life made by others?


Sort:  

I never got married, but always in my life I wanted it very much. Well, the circumstances, and the girl I asked it -although we were living together- finally said "not..." So, being alone is not a big deal if you can see yourself in the mirror every morning and feel not shame, but saying "not bad, it's been a good life". Thanks for your post!

I am sorry to hear that she said no but I am also happy you consider your life as a good one! Good luck and thank you for your comment!

Great read! Personally, I dislike the concept of marriage. I actually do not believe in marriage but I understand how it encourages people to fix and strive for their relationship. If it's affecting someone in a positive way, then by all means, they have my full support. But shouldn't love itself be the main reason to stay together? Why the need for marriage if both are committed? I personally see marriage as a certificate in paper only- not a proof of love.

Thank you! I like your thinking that love itself should be the main reason to stay together but I also think getting into marriage shouldn't be a problem if they both love each other, but it's a problem when they get into it without loving each other.

It depends on what our views on love is though.

If we adopt the perspective that Love is like a plant that is cultivated over time then it wouldn't really matter whether both parties were 'in love' before marriage or not. I reckon the Indians have a better grasp of this concept as most of their marriages (at least from pop culture and random google searches lol) in times past were pre-arranged and didn't require parties involved to be 'in love' with each other.

BTW I'm a Nigerian so of course my citation of India is based on my limited knowledge...things may be different/similar more or less.

I think that i will never get married since I do not need an approval or a written paper, which states that I live with someone together.
The most important thing is that i can be myself and the person who i live with stays the person who he is. Supporting each other and growing together. If this is not possible and one person wants to rule over the other, there is no healthy relationship possible and it's better to stay alone and be happy.