Staring Blankly at an Empty Post Screen (Can You Relate?)

in #writing6 years ago

I'm sitting here in front of my computer staring at a blank post screen. When I'm away from my computer I have all these grand ideas and visions for fantastic Steemit posts, but when I sit down to actually put in the work... I go blank.

IMG_6327.JPG

Can you relate to this?

I'm new on Steemit. I set a new year's goal to start writing more and I found this awesome platform. Each day I try to post something of value to the community. Right now I'm just testing different things, posting whatever is on my mind, and just learning the ropes.

I made a list of ideas for posts, but when I sit down to write none of them sound good to me.

I find myself playing a dangerous game... comparing myself to others on Steem. I know this is a bad idea, but I see the other profiles with successful and popular posts and wonder... what do you have to do to get there? I know it will take time. I know it will take work. I'm ok with both of those. But still... the impatient side of me battles with the hard working side of me.

First I set a goal to create 30 posts by February 28, 2018. Now that I'm thinking about it, I think I can do more. With each post I create I gain a little confidence. Even though my posts only get 1-3 likes, each one inspires me a little more.

Note to self: Look back on this in 6 months and appreciate where you started and congratulate yourself on the growth and hard work.

At first I was looking for popular ideas and things to post, but the more I think about it the more I'm leaning towards just being ME. I like the idea of being able to create and post about what's on my mind. I think if I create things that I like and have interest in, it will attract others with the same interests. So with that being said... I might be sporadic at times, but I will enjoy doing it.

I still don't quite understand Steem power or steem rewards, but I really love the platform and I'll keep learning as I go. I see lots of awesome opportunities on here and look forward to creating some cool stuff for you to enjoy.

Also... I just learned you can use emojis
Here's the cheat sheet for emojis: https://www.webpagefx.com/tools/emoji-cheat-sheet/

What's your tips for newbies on Steemit? I'd love to hear your comments, tips, and advice!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit and good luck for your goal.....wish you all the best ;)

Thank you very much @abhishekrawat! Much appreciated.