THE POEM SERIES: INTRODUCTION

in #writing6 years ago

Hello! I am Dammie, again with another series called the Poem Series.

I have been struggling to write and post works like poems or short stories here because I don’t have much confidence in my work. And I even got a call from my friend on Steemit asking me where I have been, imagine that! For context, I have previously showed him a few of my works and he seemed genuinely pleased with them. So I have a personal connection to the question he asked me.

Now that I think about it, one of the main reasons I backed out from writing is not because of criticism, as I am a huge supporter of that, but more that I fear that no one cares and might not even bother to read it. It does sounds a little high-handed but hear me out; having an audience to provide entertainment is genuinely heart-warming for a writer.

I have tons and tons of content that I want to share but I feel without an audience in mind, I kind of just post for myself, which isn’t the reason I started writing. My main inspiration is my mom who is a book lover and I have always wanted to write stories she would love to read since I was kid. And that is what kept me writing for as long as I have.

So, I was honestly pleased that someone somewhere can read my work and actually want to see more of them. Him calling to ask why I haven’t been posting makes me happy that at least I have a small audience I can think of when I create more content.

So that’s where the idea of this series comes from. It is going to be a daily post of two poems and my thought process while composing them. Although I am not a fan of explaining the reasoning behind my works because I love to hear genuine feedback, I will include a commentary so I can at least explain the dark-themed works without looking all bonkers.

So those are my views on why I put off writing for so long and the reason for this series. I don’t know of anyone can sympathise with this point of view and if you can, I would love to hear about that. Also, I know writers have their own different challenges but this is what I personally experienced.

If you can check out my series, let me know what you think, if you like it and all.
Thanks for reading and hope to see you there!

CREDIT
https://www.popsci.com/windows-tweaks-improve-performance