With great power comes great accountability?

in #wysiwyg-vyb2 years ago (edited)
}

The engine has started up again! woohoo
Downtime is important and so are the six senses.

New things for 2022? I'm gonna start some intense hot yoga. I've been doing it at the steam room for a couple of months now but the distractions knock me out of my zen. Conventional thinking and fitness centres go together like salt and pepper.



(edit: couldn't miss the opportunity)

---

I've got an interesting one here that I'd like to discuss as it ties in closely with the plans for the VYB Curation Project.

https://www.vybrainium.com/hive-150329/@topbooster/vote-post-and-comment-review-of-onealfa-pob-of-the-year-2021

Why would the VYB #1 stakeholder drop his "triple-boom" on your content, but not on a yearly curation review of himself? I thought about the potential detachment because of conflicts of interest, although that seems bonkers considering the work that topbooster has done on the post.

What do you think?

(edit: maybe the low VP and his recent POBvsVYB post may factor into the decision to upvote. it's important to step back and assess different angles)

---

The #the12daysofvyb are finished and I'm happy with my choices.

On reflection, I realise that creatives were the stars of the show. This is an interesting look into my own personal taste and curation. How do you think the list would have looked if I was more interested in informational content? Does this give philosophical insight for the VYB Curation Project? <sub><sup>Concentrated vote weight to one account **does not work** within a DPoS system. Challenge me on it, the logic is undeniable.</sup></sub>

---

*Crowd Wisdom? Who sets the bar for that? Who really cares?*

I've been thinking about scarcity lately and how all this talk about abundance mindsets and "moving on from the legacy system" is a crock of shit as long as people keep giving in to this mentality of hoarding and greed. Fortunately, there are avenues to be explored, unfortunately, I don't think Hive is the place to explore these avenues (not in its current form, that's for sure).

...

Are these #wysiwyg-vyb posts appreciated? Let me know. I use the WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) editor on the https://www.vybrainium.com front-end.

Are you putting yourself in a box because of pre-existing content standards on the Hive blockchain? Who is the gatekeeper of self-expression? Is this the "Token Milkers Paradise" some speak of? I seriously can't wait to witness the hypocrisy when #ProjectBlank finally drops (arses will likely be dropping in sequence).

---

... lots of questions here, @vybolt has been inactive for a short stint and I've got questions coming out of my ears. I hope you don't mind the brain prods!

(found this track while I was making the playlist for the solitude nft post. beautiful music for an icy-crisp tuesday morning)








Sort:  

Oh my goodness, Salt n Peppa, how long has it been? I remember the large disco where we flocked at the weekend and discovered hip hop, Grandmaster Flash & Co. I think I was eighteen years young at the time. What a wonderful time when we had no worries except wondering where we were going next weekend to dance.

:)

I am so jealous 😄 I'm in my late twenties and my 17-18 y.o experience of the nightlife didn't have that golden age soundtrack (although it did have its own unique quality!).

My favourite memory of Salt N Pepa - Push It, comes from my pal of almost 25 years. It came on one night at a dub event and my friend "lost his shit", jumped onto the stage, and proceeded to do the running man directly next to the turntables. His left arm swung down and spun out the track and we bared witness at the front of the crowd (the laughter was on another level). The following boos, cheers, and excitement still put a huge smile on my face as I reminisce.

What a wonderful time when we had no worries except wondering where we were going next weekend to dance.

Bring that back to the forefront 😉 have a little boogie today and forgot the world is spinning for a moment or two.

:) What a good story. I loved reading this incident with your friend.
As a contemporary of this music era, I never thought that the stuff from the 80s and 90s would become so popular again. But of course, we also listened to bands from the previous decades. Only my sister said she couldn't understand how we could revive the awful fashion from the 70s. LOL. I hope that times will become carefree and beautiful again for young people who want to dance.

Boogie on!

Interesting. Thoughtful. Time to reflect.

Off to a slow start here @calumam, thanks to greeting the new year with a massive head cold. Hard to be very effective when your brain is cottonwoolery.

Is this the "Token Milkers Paradise" some speak of?

"Token Milkers" are everywhere, all the time. At the time, they weren't "tokens" but that same mindset has been present on "rewards for content" sites since the first one saw light of day in 1999. It's human nature, at least among a segment of the population.

I expect it likely won't go away till we have a world where nobody has to worry about food, clothing, shelter, health... and that sort of abundance will take some years to arrive.

So many people busy milking the cows these days.

masinazamuzu.gif

Damn, that's a long jiffy.

image.png

Educational too!

Milk.

It does the body good.

Pass it on.

Much smoother with Ice, baby!

Still got that cold? That is less than ideal! I wouldn't worry about being effective anyway, got 359 more days in the year 😀

Saying that though... your perspective here about "token milking" is seriously on point. It's easy to get bogged down on the selfish acts of a few (is it even fair to say selfish if conditions have been laid down to deem the acts as normal?) when you're only looking at a small section of the bigger picture.

I think it's abundantly clear that time is the answer! How much time? that is the question!

You have been thinking a lot.

It sounds like I am reading our DM. The human heart is the most important muscle in the body carrying oxygen and nutrients to all vital areas and allowing us to breathe and think and exist. Some creatures such as the earth worm have five hearts. Maybe an earthworm can deal with heart break easily as it has four more hearts to rely on. Human beings however seem to wound easily in matters of the heart. Opening up just a little bit is very painful.

If I think about Hive too much my head hurts. It's like you've got a gig at this old cafe. There really is no owner but the guy who built the place left a long time ago. He gave out some magic jelly beans before he left. They were called "magic jelly beans" because when you give out one you get two back. The guys who got these first magic jelly beans could have turned that old cafe into a really hip place by inviting artists and thinkers to come and jam and exchange ideas. But what really happened is that the place turned into a battlefield and a leper colony.

You stick around because it's a gig and you like the idea of the magic jelly beans and ironically you like the people you meet there because they seem sincere and you find that they have real lives like you outside of the cafe. The problem is you can't figure out where this leprosy is coming from and why the battle never ends. Then one day you see a tall thin character in the back of the room playing a stand up bass. You hear the cacophony of disharmony. It has a strong beat. Sometimes you can even dance to it, but behind the curtain you see something even more frightening. You see greed face to face pulling the strings that make the song of disharmony.

Well this doesn't concern me too much that face is all over the world pulling strings. I look over at my stage and it is set up and ready to go. It is like a book that needs to be written. I'm not too concerned about what people do with their jelly beans. The stories that go on at this cafe are never erased. It's not about the jelly beans at all. It's about what is written on the Jelly beans that makes them precious. Entangled in this blockchain are people's lives and their joys and their ideas and their games, their art and their hopes. No one will ever take that away.

image.png

Picture from Candy Wharehouse

@vybolt definitely fits one of these flavors (Maybe mixed berry smoothies). Just give me a couple days and I'll be with you on vybolt. !LUV

Then one day you see a tall thin character in the back of the room playing a stand up bass. You hear the cacophony of disharmony. It has a strong beat. Sometimes you can even dance to it, but behind the curtain you see something even more frightening. You see greed face to face pulling the strings that make the song of disharmony.

Slick! I know of that bass, very well. In fact, just yesterday I had to re-tune the string and adjust my own melody alongside it. The music is very clear and harmonious today, although it never stays the same.

vybolt definitely fits one of these flavors (Maybe mixed berry smoothies).

Oh yeah, with a couple of banana's thrown in! ps. Also, we'll get there where we get there 😄

Moving right along

I’ll have to check out the editor. I built one a few years back and use my own crazy system for my web content (on my own site, not here). Basically, Ecency (which I use) supports HTML (please don’t tell that I just found out about this. Haha). Who built the editor? There’s so much POSSIBILITY that it’s staggering...😆

I built one a few years back and use my own crazy system for my web content (on my own site, not here)

Very cool! The WYSIWYG editor on the VYB front-end was created by @eonwarped as far as I'm aware, vybrainium uses the Nitrous front end which is an upgraded version of the OG Steemit front end source code (I think, lol. Don't quote me on that, it's outside my circle of competence).

There’s so much POSSIBILITY that it’s staggering...😆

I'll be watching closely with great anticipation!

Not me, was built by the OG steemit Frontend team. I'm not sure it even works well 😅

Oh shit, lol. Well, it works for me, although I definitely don't do it justice 😂
Is it something that will remain on the front-end or do you foresee potential issues?

I don't anticipate removing it, unless it really is just broken. The times I've played with it have been a bit awkward. I think the markdown format is great, and can blend html on demand too, so never saw a reason to go out of it.

The times I've played with it have been a bit awkward.

Yes, can relate. I'll see what is possible within it over time, the draw for me is that it removes the "bells and whistles" that I'm accustomed to. So what if the posts look a bit shitty, lol.

"Are you putting yourself in a box because of pre-existing content standards on the Hive blockchain?"
Everyone is locked in a box with one form or another pre-existing standards we got from those who taught us when we were children.
We can chose to decide what does not work for us anymore and when it no longer works for us.

I like the caterpillar - cocoon - butterfly, metaphor when it comes to expression and perception. We all go through this cycle thousands of times over in our lifetime.

We can chose to decide what does not work for us anymore and when it no longer works for us.

I like this. That's when the adult self is stepping in, right?

I certainly hope I'm not in any box :) ... I prefer to keep my brain growing!!!

Everyone's box is different! 😂 I am in a box as far as my own knowledge and perception are concerned, the question always reminds me.

I know that I know nothing!

I read you are driving curation project, if I delegate my #vyb to you I would not do a lot wrong right? Will there be rewards for delegation? @calumam

Give it a few days bud! There are going to be multiple options available for supporting manual curation within the next few months, the first and leading example will be announced on the 8th (alongside more info about the other options).

I don't know if anyone is running a project like @amr008 where dividends were earned for delegations. The best option currently is curation trails, imo. Some people have differing POV's though.

I'd recommend following @onealfa.vyb or @scholaris.vyb currently to ensure that your earned curation rewards are indeed from manual curation efforts. Or, hold on for the 8th 😎

Congratulations @calumam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 4000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!