You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Project Mistletoe: Yearly Battle with Large Imaginary Elf Inspires an Uncommonly Good Idea, in 2 Parts

in #xmas7 years ago

Damn that evil elf! But I'm torn between between feeling sad or laughing at that particular predicament you got yourself in ;)

Sort:  

The evil elf was handy for me in this instance; I could make it look like I was enchanted instead of just stupid! I did enjoy roasting that mind-control device called Santa here though, his real enchantment needs to be pointed out-- I failed to do it properly last year (so this is in 2 parts:)

Okay, I have to confess- I did the whole santa thing when my kids were young. I get where you're coming from, but at the same time I have a long and vivid memory, and my memories of believing in santa were a time of magic. The movie The Polar Express captures it perfectly for me. My daughter was a little upset to learn that he wasn't real when the time came, but I asked if she would have rather had that time of excitement when she did believe or have known the truth all along to avoid the disappointment and she decided on the former. My son was more like myself, he realized the truth when he was ready and he wasn't bothered by the deception. I know that it has become super commercialized, but one thing I never did get into was 'keeping up with the joneses'. We've never used credit cards so we never bought more than we could afford to buy. I just...always wanted to believe in magic I suppose.

I did the Santa routine with my daughter, Easter bunny too. I didn't really think about such things as mass-hypnosis much back then, and I probably wanted her to have a chance to be normal at least, regardless of my influence ;)