Compliment Yourself! - STEEMIT CONTEST - Week 7

in #yasminepcontest6 years ago (edited)

Two days ago, @eveuncovered wrote a post 'Why is Being Proud of Yourself Considered Bad?' which really hit home with me. You can read it here.

It isn't just a Finnish thing, or an English thing.. maybe it's become universal. Are we so afraid of being arrogant or too much that we have completely inverted and now are shy of not only receiving compliments, but even speaking of our achievements?

I am THE worst person at being complimented. I just don't take it well. But is it because I actually hate it or because it's so ingrained in me that i'm totally unequipped to deal with praise? I think it might be the latter.

This week my contest is taking a more serious turn and i'm asking you to:

Admit to yourself and to your fellow steemians, something you LOVE about yourself.
Something you love about your character, something  you're incredible at, or something maybe you think is great about yourself that you have never told anyone. Whatever it is say it loud, proud and confidently! I asked before what you're most proud of, but this is different. This is more about who you are as a person and what you value in yourself. 

Please resteem this one because maybe it will shed some positivity into peoples' lives this week!

 I will be giving away a SBD prize of 1 SBD as always, but it's not so much about that. It's about bringing people together, answering tough questions and exposing ourselves for something really positive.

I'll kick this off.. 

I'm creative. I can look at things in a different way and pretty quickly too. I see a blank wall and know how to make it beautiful or canmake a single outfit new many times over, by styling it differently or cutting it up a little. I can create things well which aren't tangible too, like business ideas or abstract concepts or make creative, tangible solutions to fix my problems.
Today it was just that. I'm careless. I never actually lose anything permanently, but I lose most things throughout the day and end up finding them moments later. One thing I'm constantly misplacing is my sunglasses. Today, in order to solve my carelessness, which I just can't fix, I made a jazzed-up glasses cord.
I'm trying to make glasses cords cool here people.. here it is.

THEN I made this cocky Instagram story ust to see if anyone would shoot me down. Also to make a bold point for this contest. Got a couple of crying laughing emojis, nothing major. Just goes to show that even when we are a bold, cocky, proud version of ourselves.. people might not even care as much as we think!

WHAT IS THE CONTEST:

Each week I will be posting a contest. The idea is to inspire you, by reading other people's posts, and to inspire others who read yours!

RULES:

1. Upvote the post - this is still a very new contest and I don't know how it's going to go. But by upvoting we'll have more money to spread around.

2. Comment a direct answer to the contest in the comments section or make a post about it and then post the link in the comments section. If you make your own post then please use #yasminepcontest

3. Comment on one other person's comment, in the comment section, with either a thoughtful question or thoughtful reply. Please avoid answers such as 'nice' 'cool' etc. 

4. (Optional) - Resteem this post so it gets more attraction and I can have runners up in future!

SIMPLE. The winner will receive 1 SBD for week 7.


I will distribute the money 7 days after this post. You have 7 days to take part!

Good luck and do help to share the contest so we can grow it and get some cash out there to you steemians!

Winner will get 1 SBD!

Once I gain more attraction from the post I will start to give out more SBD and also have runners up too!

Good luck!


Yasmine

Sort:  

Well i'm not used to compliment myself but i'll try my best. I think one of the things i love about myself is the capacity that i have to get everything i propose to myself, i always thy my best at something. Another thing that is valued about my personality is the capacity that i have to make everyone laugh, i'm such a funny person. Also, i consider myself as a kind and humble person. I'm creative, and super nice at the moment you get to know me.

This is my first time participating, btw

To make people laugh is so valuable! I love that one!

Love this! Good for you! :-) How does it feel complimenting yourself?

It feels good. I think we all should do this more often.

I totally agreement. Complimenting oneself is an expression of self love. If we can love ourselves it then becomes easier to truly love others and to compliment them as well. Afterall - we all want to be accepted and recognized - praising/complimenting each other is a great way to do that. We will also instill in each other a sense of wanting to live up to the sentiment expressed. It becomes a vicious cycle as then we get the best from each other - that creates a positive and caring environment to be in.

Am I being to to full of myself when I say I am quite humorous?, I don't know but it's just the way I am. I am confident, but not to the extent some people actually think I am, I do things which no one wants to do and not because I'm confident but I want to challenge myself rather than go with the follow and society in general.

I always feel that I am the odd one out in a group, I don't fit in with a lot of people because they don't share the same hobbies as me but that's okay, because when has being normal ever been fun?.

I pride myself in being more wise than smart, because intelligence helps you make the easy decisions, wisdom helps you make the harder ones.

No, you're not being full of yourself at all. That's the whole point in this contest. To say how you really feel about yourself without also feeling bad about it :-) Thanks for sharing this one.

I am a good speaker. It does not matter if I am presenting to a large audience or just speaking to a friend. I can make any story seem interesting and I am able to engage my audience. I am naturally funny without trying and simply love to tell stories. I truly enjoy making a difficult topic understandable and the realization that my audience has clarity. I also love to make a simple story into something special just to see someone else's smile.
As a result, I feel as though I have the ability to make people happy and to feel good about themselves/ That gives me a wonderful feeling and energy and it also radiates to others.

That's a fantastic quality to have. Thank you for sharing this with us! :-)

I have resteemed this one! I think this idea for the contest is great, self-love is so important!
My strength is my stubborn side. This makes helps me to work on my goals each day and really focus on what I want. Some people dont appriciate this side of me at all, and others admire it. For me, it is just the way I am and like to live. Another strength I have and that I like, is that I am can put myself in others position and understand how they feel. I am a good listener and enjoy listening to others stories without projecting my own values on them.
What I also love in me is that I follow my heart and take the responsibility for my actions and feelings.

Much love to you!;)

BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for participating! So great to see so many people being so open here. Really appreciate it.

One thing that makes me so proud about myself is my passion: am so passionate, it makes me achieve anything I set my mind to do. Also, am very forgiving, no matter how hurt I am by others I still forgive, I really love this forgiving nature of mine.

Being passionate and forgiving are two successful traits a person can have, you feel a certain drive to to achieve things and when you stumble and fall on that journey due to obstacles and people, you have the ability to forgive them and yourself, knowing that they were only obstacles in a larger plan.

Thank you for being so open! Beautiful. :-)

I'd say I'm the most reliable person I know (ha). If you need me to be somewhere....I will be. A certain time...sure no problem. If you need me to do something and I say I can....I will. I put huge emphasis on not letting people down, whether it's something small or big. In the past, it's even been to my detriment! I'm now learning to remain reliable but also put my needs at a higher priority too. We all definitely need to value ourselves and our personal qualities more! Hallelujah to that. Loving your contests @yasminep, keep them up.

Totally agree with that. You are VERY reliable and love a structured plan. I admire that.

Great contest as usual @yasminep.

Great to see you back here again, lady! Thanks for the love.

You are welcome dearest @yasminep.

I think i am extremely organised and talented in creating and designing cakes. :) this sounds so cringy writing about myself !

Haha you’ve only just touched the surface of ALL the things you’re so good and amazing at! 😘

You need to say things like this MORE. Out loud too. Agree with @ingaaa, just one of the many things you are amazing at.

Wonderful contest! It is so great to see people lifting up their qualities which they are proud of. We just don't take a moment to genuinely honor ourselves , awesome idea!!!

I completely agree. Thank you for such wonderful feedback!

I hear you. Not very good add taking compliments either. Not sure why. Food for thought :)

me encanta leer estos post,son genialales

Thank you!

Trying to process this first. Hang on, ill need to come back to this one.

Lol!

Please do! Would love to hear your entry!

Need to work up the nerves for it. And actually figure what to talk about. I mean i pride myself in things like peeling an apple without breaking....haha, though i doubt that is the best talent i have hahaha!