You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A clear understanding of the gunas is tremendously useful to the effective practice of Yoga.

in #yoga8 years ago

It is a belief in Ayurveda that the balance of these gunas is fundamental to physical health of the body. For example, if the three gunas (or Doshas in Ayurved) are in perfect harmony, your internal resistance to disease grows to a point where nothing can penetrate and the body is disease free.

In fact there is a powerful herbal medicine in Ayurveda called Triphala which is known to be "Tridoshic", meaning it has the potential to balance the three gunas in the body, keeping it healthy and disease free.

Sort:  

Thanks @norbu,

Yes, indeed.
Ayurveda and Yoga are closely related, as you know I'm sure.

Triphala does sound very awesome.
I've never felt the need myself but I know friends who have had great results with it.

Your blog is v interesting and varied!
Following.
😊

Love & Peace & Freedom

I see a lot on your blog which interests me too! Followed you back and thanks!
Also people seem to think triphala is for constipation only, it is not! It is quite the concoction!