My Favorite Fossil? Terapetrifiedite Stumpicus πŸ’Ž Can't Have Just One!

in #yourluckyphotos β€’ 6 years ago

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwoodbw2io.jpg

Fossil Friday!

My Favorite Fossil For @snowyknight!

Just one? Now that is hard to pick just one!
I would have to say my favorite is my
grandfather's petrified tree stump!

Black & white petrified stump with special
rock ball in the middle, more on that strange
ball another time.

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwoodbw5io.jpg

Full photo of both stones has a tape
measure laying by it is set to 24 inches.

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwoodbw9io.jpg

Close up with tape measure of the texture.
Maybe the type of tree can be recognized?

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwoodbw6io.jpg

There is a dime, 10Β’ cents on
these two photos for scale. Can you see it?

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwood7io.jpg

You can almost see the micro climbers
on this rock face! 🐞

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwoodbw8io.jpg

This petrified tree stump is from California
My grandfather found it many moons ago.
He was a logger back in the 1930's and
found this stump in a ravine. He hefted it
out of some canyon and into his truck.

This stump is very heavy, I'd say at least 200
pounds. I know what a sack or bale of feed
weighs and this rock takes the two of us to
pick it up and load it into a truck.
Might need some block and tackle to move
it again! lol

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwood12io.jpg

The black center is from years of having
water in the indentation. It use to sit outside
for the birds and other critters to drink out of.
It also doubled as a splash guard for rain
coming off the roof in CA.
Plus pet hairs! :-)

Now this stump has been around!
First in its living days along the coastal
mountains of California, not sure what
kind of tree it is.
Perhaps I need to ask @mountainwashere
on his next Nature Identification Thread!
It could be a oak or a redwood or?

When my grandfather passed away my mom
moved his rocks to her home, 50 or so miles
away from her parents home.
Many years later when my parents passed I
moved those rocks 3300 miles away.
All the way to Alaska.
Now that is a story in it's self!

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwood10io.jpg

Loki said these are her lookout stones!
She perches on them to critter watch.

shasta2018june14th47petrifiedwood11io.jpg

More about these other stones on future posts.

Pliocene 3.5 Million Years Ago.
Petrified wood is in many parts of California.
Petrified Forest California History.

Some photos are from the Nikon and some
are from the phone cam, can you tell who's
who?

Only The Rocks Live Forever!
Rocks Of The North!
πŸ’Ž

Clicking the photos makes them bigger
Click again zooms them in

shasta47reds9.png

Category β€’ favourite fossil

Cameras β€’ Nikon D7500
& Phone G7 Samsung

Location β€’ Home Alaska

shasta47brown9.png

Photos β€’ Words β€’ Bars
by me @shasta

June 15th 2018
1:11 AM Alaska

Take Good Care Everyone
Enjoy ❀ღ And Stay Awesome

shasta47yellowss.png

Sort: Β 

Very nice! I love finding petrified wood! I don't have many pieces but I have some! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you very much @bitfiend!
You are most welcome :-)

Sometimes we find some little pieces
of petrified wood here along the beach!

Congratulations on the πŸŽ‰ 🐬

I thought that was an excellent post, and yes the dang thing is really heavy, but we will manage it, somehow someway. That last picture with the dime, looks like a monster face in profile, squared off flat chin bottom, folded type nose, and one serious look set of chompers .

Thank you very much @bashadow! πŸ’•
Forsure the stones must go with some way
somehow ;-)

I even found a little crystal patch on one
of those photos, see is anyone else does!

Rock teeth!

Beautiful photos and a very interesting subject. ThanksπŸ‘ŒπŸ˜˜

Thank you very much @lindari!
I bet you have some real pretty rocks
over your way! ❀ :-)


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


Rawks for the win!

Rocks always win in my book! πŸ’Ž :-)

Totally awesome
photos blowing me away
trees living as rocks

ps. Amazing photos and kick as post. Looks like redwoods! But I am not an expert.

I'm excited too about the amommite rock sample future post too (from your last photo!). Cheers!

Thank you very much @snowyknight! :-)
It does kinda look like a redwood, how
the bark on the third photo from the top
remind me of what living redwoods look
like. I'll have to get going on those other
stones! πŸ’Ž

You are welcome! Beautiful photos. Do you know the age of the rocks or the name of the formation? That may help with identification of tree species?

Thank you! All I got to go on was grandpa found it in
a revine in Sonoma county California, Mayacamas Mountains.
Some types of trees would be oaks, madrone, and redwoods.
I know he logged all over the northern parts of CA. Some
volcanoes near there are Saint Helena and Konocti.
The geysers geothermal plant and many hot springs.

Also all around Mt Lassen many years ago when one tree
would fit on a 18-wheeler! Types of trees in the mountains
change to pines and fir. Loads of geological history in CA.
I do love learning about all the plumbing and where rocks
come from. How it all ticks lol

I know how driftwood looks cause I like to collect that
also. This stump is like driftwood in looks, it has embedded
stones in the crevices. Tumbled and worn edges. As it
sits on the floor I think it's upside down! the bottom is almost
flat as if sawed off and what I call the top is perhaps the
start of the flare into the root part of the tree. With the hole
in the middle like some ancient rot. It's definitely petrified!
It's rock and heavy and has crystals in some of the cracks.

It would be interesting to cut a slab off the bottom so it would
sit flat and to see the tree rings. Would cost a few more rocks
to do that. Tho I do love it just as it is! :-)

Hey mate, I wish I could give you a several $ upvote but I need more time here. Nevertheless awesome comment. I think that it looks like this did travel a bit in a river or creek which was how the gravel was imbedded in the rock. Super cool rock.

I think it may have something to do with this:

http://www.petrifiedforest.org

3.4 Ma - awesome and related to an eruption. Super cool! They said redwoods. I buy it! Thanks as always! :) Keep yaking!!!

Thank you very much king of the north! :-)
Do you by chance use https://steemworld.org/ ?
If not, put your @ name after the /
It's handy dandy! lol
Right now looks like you need to let your
steem ''wheel'' fill back up :-)

Thank you very much @snowyknight!
Those rocks were very photogenic, took
to many photos, was hard picking through
them all. ''Trees living as rocks'' ironwood
kinda comes to mind. Along with Devils
tower, giant stump I mean volcanic core!

It would be something if it was, not sure
how big the biggest trees were during
the ages of different giant things.

Living fossil leaves or in stasis, found around
different archeological digs, that quickly
turn brown when exposed to the air and
light. Leaves living as mud stones. 🌿

Just some random thoughts :-)

Your post brings this to mind. A tree of stone, columner joints, formed two ways, once by the giant bear, or the former core of a volcano. Both are beautiful and both almost hard to believe.

Screen Shot 2018-06-17 at 11.01.34 am.png

https://www.nps.gov/deto/learn/historyculture/first-stories.htm

Thank you for this, especially the "leaves living as mud stones". Have a nice evening.

Loading...

That's so cool! Your grandpa and parents must have taken good care of it really well and you too, for us to look at it now here and enjoy it too. Those stumps must have quite a story to share for everyone if they could only speak. They're beautiful. πŸ˜„ Got me curious too what kind of tree it is.

Thank you very much @happyfree! That they did!
If rocks could talk! It does make one wonder, with
sounds, vibrations, shapes and patterns
what they might tell us! ❀ :-)
I wonder to if it might be a redwood, relooking
at the bark on the 3rd photo from the top.

Wow! A tree stump rock...how interesting and I am glad that you were able to keep it in the family. I am so very interested in your stories on this and the others. Tip!

Thank you very much @whatisnew!! ❀ πŸ’•
Mom kept saying, you have to come get
your rocks someday, I'm sure not mailing
them! haha

Will get my brain in order and remember
the stone stories! πŸ’Ž :-)

Just now reached rep 50 β˜€ June 16th 2018 at 11:11 PM LOL

HaHa! No mailing those suckers! I will be looking forward to your stone stories.

Yay! Congratulations on your rep 50! Way to go! : )

There is a story about a guy mailing
blocks through the mail to build a bridge
up here, will gather more info on that, it
just came to mind, old story lol

Thank you very much @whatisnew! πŸ’• 🐱

That is crazy! Oh, please post it. I would love to read it. : )

What great treasures and a wonderful story to go with them. I like the rock ball. Is that your kitty looking at the large artifacts ( 2nd photo up from last)?
Is the crystal in the last photo..on dark one to the left? U & R.

Thank you very much @redheadpei! πŸ’•

Yep that is Loki starting to climb on
her rock! One paw on it 🐾 lol

I wonder how far the crystals go and what it
would look like to cut a slab off the bottom!
I haven't the heart tho to cut it, looks perfect as is.
shasta2018june16th47petrifiedwoodcloseup12io.jpg

3rd from the bottom in the four photo picture.

It is bottom left. Here is a cut out kinda close up for you :-)

Hi @shasta! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Day 237: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday-Prompt: Dew Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.