Sort:  

Thank you! All I got to go on was grandpa found it in
a revine in Sonoma county California, Mayacamas Mountains.
Some types of trees would be oaks, madrone, and redwoods.
I know he logged all over the northern parts of CA. Some
volcanoes near there are Saint Helena and Konocti.
The geysers geothermal plant and many hot springs.

Also all around Mt Lassen many years ago when one tree
would fit on a 18-wheeler! Types of trees in the mountains
change to pines and fir. Loads of geological history in CA.
I do love learning about all the plumbing and where rocks
come from. How it all ticks lol

I know how driftwood looks cause I like to collect that
also. This stump is like driftwood in looks, it has embedded
stones in the crevices. Tumbled and worn edges. As it
sits on the floor I think it's upside down! the bottom is almost
flat as if sawed off and what I call the top is perhaps the
start of the flare into the root part of the tree. With the hole
in the middle like some ancient rot. It's definitely petrified!
It's rock and heavy and has crystals in some of the cracks.

It would be interesting to cut a slab off the bottom so it would
sit flat and to see the tree rings. Would cost a few more rocks
to do that. Tho I do love it just as it is! :-)

Hey mate, I wish I could give you a several $ upvote but I need more time here. Nevertheless awesome comment. I think that it looks like this did travel a bit in a river or creek which was how the gravel was imbedded in the rock. Super cool rock.

I think it may have something to do with this:

http://www.petrifiedforest.org

3.4 Ma - awesome and related to an eruption. Super cool! They said redwoods. I buy it! Thanks as always! :) Keep yaking!!!

Thank you very much king of the north! :-)
Do you by chance use https://steemworld.org/ ?
If not, put your @ name after the /
It's handy dandy! lol
Right now looks like you need to let your
steem ''wheel'' fill back up :-)

No worries. Had not been there yet. Thanks for sharing. Need to rest up so I can power up some posts! hahaha. Thanks for the link!