10'000 hours.

It takes 10’000 hours of practice to master a skill.

That is 3 hours a day for 10 years.

If I look at it this way, I am not there yet.

But are 10’000 hours my goal?

Rather a side product.

One day I’ll look back at my sewing history and notice that is has been 10years and something around 10’000 hours.

Maybe I’ll get to that realization while I pin some fabric, readjusting the wedding dress my model is wearing. Todays photo shoot takes place in the 16th century french castle that I have been living and working in over the past few months. My first complete collection of wedding dresses is about to launch.

That’s the long therm vision.

What about each little step on the way?

While I believe that we shouldn’t be afraid or hinder ourselves to dream big. The only thing you really can influence is the present. One stitch at the time.

2023 I spend cycling and sewing. Each road represents a seam on another garment.

My favourite project reunites the two.

But maybe I should say, it resumes the whole journey of this year.

Cycling from France to Istanbul, while keeping little sewing projects in my pockets.

Learning and establishing the patience and skill to sew by hand. All the way to choosing hand sewing over the machine.

Experimenting with photoshoots exploring different ways to present my work. Finding satisfaction in the results and excitement in the process, which once was the one thing terrifying me.

The inspiration, exchange and support through sharing my projects here and following yours! Which even brought two of us to meet and sew together, in person.

Visiting all the different second hand shops, fabric stores in unknown countries. Inspired by the way people dress similar and completely different.

The start of a feeling, a glimpse. Did I just find the one thing?

One project that reunites them all.

My favourite captures of the year.

Flowers and gold.

Precious sewing company.

A newer ending road in front of me. This year she brought me to Istanbul. Which way will I take in 2024? I carefully set my foot on the doorstep, well knowing that I couldn’t guess the turns I’ll take. Looking forward to the surprise. One stitch at the time until I’ll look back one day and count 10’000 hours.

Thanks for stopping by, have a lovely Monday and an even better year ahead!

All photos and words are my own taken and written by myself ©kesityu

Sort:  

You inspired me to go outdoor more 😊
I love cycling too. But I need to improve my bike for better performance.

Cycling makes me have many creative ideas for my writing 😊

Thank you, that is great to hear!💕

It is very inspiring indeed (cycling) really frees up your mind and thoughts I find😊

Happy New Year! I'm excited to see your line of wedding dresses.

I've never been a fan of the term "master" when it comes to a craft or skill. To me it implies knowing all, which frankly sounds boring. I think you can be extraordinarily gifted and experienced at something while simultaneously being open to and even excited about learning some new way of doing it. Otherwise it would just be a job...

Just in case you wanted to be let off the hook for the 10,000 hours rule.

Thank you!!

😁 I totally see what you mean! In the end I don't take these 10'000 hours too seriously, I just read about it once and kind of liked the idea on how much time you actually have to spend on something before you "know" it. But in the process I believe that restriction and missing knowledge can actually lead to great ideas and projects. It's a mix. On the other side if you know something well you can take it apart and put it together in a different way...

...far from "just a job" if that reassures you😊

My two favorite photos you took in 2023 are right on the cover page! 😍

This was well and beautifully put. I love your thought process. Now, I’m really thinking about this 10,000 hours. If I had a different life I could have definitely made this possible by now lol.

I am so looking forward to what you bring to 2024. Here’s to more fun and creativity with friends ~ 🥂

Aaah that's awesome, thank you!!❤️😊

Well there are many things you probably did already for 10'000 hours!

Me too😊
And to you, too all the best wishes for that new year, I am sure it's going to be an exciting one🌸

Socks, socks! 😍

Your 2023 was the brave one, long cycling path behind you, perhaps that should be also included in those 10'000 😉

Yes true I guess the cycling is probably near 10'000 hours or at least it feels like it😊

Thank you!💕🙃

Wonderful thoughts and wishes for the new year! 😍

Thank you💜 To you too, all the best wishes!!😊

How wonderful to read your musings this morning, as I send in my own to our beautiful NWM community, tapping away at the kitchen table of my family home on the Isle of Arran's wild mountainside... It has been so blessed to cross paths and sew by your side, and to have your amazing inspiration both on- AND off-line dearest soulsister friend! This new year feels like the greatest of possibilities, and I ADORE your vision of making wedding dresses in the castle: I might be popping by to help with an upcoming deadline! :-D

All good things!!

We'll have to do one edition for each country; French castle, Scottish hills... I'll let you know when I have the keys😁

And yes, I much enjoyed reading through yours too, a wonderful way to conclude this year with all the energy and inspiration we set free together😊💛🌻
Thank you!

The best things, for another great year!!🌸

WOW! this is awesome! cheers to when you look back at 10,000 hours!

Thank you😊🥂

Happy New Year, Kesityu ^^
May it bring new adventures, prosperity, and joy!
!HUG

I like your vision and I'm looking forward to the day when I can congratulate you on achieving it. You're truly inspirational! Keep up the amazing work.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

Thank you, that's awesome to hear😊

A great new year to you too🌸

Dear @kesityu.fashion, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @josie2214.
(2/2)

The future is called a promise, what we do during the time till the promise is achieved is so important. If you propose to invest three hours of your day into your future for the next ten years, You can't imagine what you can make out of it. It's going to be a fantastic achievement, I promise.

Indeed, it is all about how you spend your time till you arrive:)

I’m currently learning how to sew and you’ve encouraged me
One stitch at a time
Thank you

Thank you:)
That's great to hear, I wish you all the best then! And looking forward to hear how it goes:)

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - December 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the January edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - January 1st 2024

Thank you @hivebuzz 💛🐝

You're welcome @kesityu.fashion! The HiveBuzz team wishes you all the best for 2024! Have a Happy New Year ✨🥂✨

Thank you😊💕 A very happy new year to you too!!🌸

Your designs are really nice.