Cherry trees and golden fabric - an upcycling project

About upcycling clothes fast and why I have to be my own model.

Most things worth wile need their time to be mastered.
And sewing clothes or photographing well are for sure no exceptions to that.

But let me go through the upcycling first...

Meanwhile there are thousands of DIY videos out on the internet, making you believe that it takes just a few minutes and no experience to create upcycle clothes yourself. Turn an old boring shirt into a fashionable crop top, reality often doesn’t look as expected.

What I am trying to say is, that everything that promises you to get to a result faster than it took you so far, or faster than it takes people experienced in the subject, usually doesn’t work great.

Fast ways lead to fast results, that might end up in the recycling bin faster than expected.

Does it have to be difficult and complicated to be good then?

Either.

Even though most of my upcycling projects take me days and long hours of thinking and making, I figured out a few little upcycling-tricks, that can be done in a very short time, without disappointment on the result.

One of them is turning (stretchy) trousers or leggings into a top.

Basically, all you must do is cut a hole in the part right between the legs. Finished.

A bit of extra care and some more dedication doesn’t hurt though.

Instead of only cutting the hole, you could unpick the seams.

Test and try from time to time how big or wide you want your new neckline.

Cut it into shape if necessary. Should the neckline be round or a V?

Finish the edges of nicely so they wouldn’t open up later on.

Your new neckline is between the legs of your old trousers and the arms replace the legs.

Why should you transform trousers into a top?

If the trousers have a pattern or fabric that you like but wouldn’t want to wear it as such. If they are too long, too short, and even too tight or too loose. Or just for the fun.

The result obviously warries a lot, weather the trousers are loose or tight, long or short.

In my case they were too tight, and the waist was to low, which I don’t like. But I love the fabric. Lately I am into gold, who knows why?

I was very close to abandone this Mondays post.
Why? A lot of cheap reasons, not to confront a part in my work I am not always comfortable with.

Self-portraits.

Meanwhile I love to imagine how and where I want my clothes to be worn, I feel very incapable to replicate those pictures in actual photos.

It is a goal I am working on though. Getting better at taking self portraits of me and my clothes.

For a long while I didn’t want to see myself in front of the camera. “I am sewing the clothes” was my excuse “I am not into modelling, that should be someone else’s part”.

Guess what, “someone else” isn’t always around ready to be photographed in some slow fashion pieces that I just finished designing and sewing.
“Someone else” is also very hard to guide when taking photos of them. They usually know their angles better than you, and if I am not completely sure of what I want it isn’t going very far.

I dropped the project of someone-else-in-my-clothes (since a while, as you might have noticed). It’s going to be me.

It might rain, there are people around who could watch me, I do not have a remote control… and so on, where wandering through my thoughts. Teasing me with the option to let the project go. I didn’t listen.

It didn’t rain and running back and forth with my phone worked just fine. And I am actually quite excited about the outcome…

…which one is your favourite?

Thank you @crosheille to remind me of how important good photos are. And for giving me the necessary outside inspiration to push aside all the cheap excuses and just focus! :)

And thank you all for passing by, have a lovely week.

All photos and words are mine, written and taken by me.

Sort:  

Hey hey, this was an amazing recycled piece. You're definitely giving me ideas😅.

Fast ways lead to fast results, that might end up in the recycling bin faster than expected.

This! I've been here numerous times and my recycling bin can attest to it. It's best to take things slow and also process the design you want to make because if one chooses to follow the videos on the internet head-on, they are headed towards fraustration.

Thats nice to hear😊

Indeed, usually it pays off to take the time. Even though its also difficult, to tame the impatience..😅

Patience taming is really an art😅

All you have to do is make a hole :D

Don't give me such a ideas, I might end up ruining lots of (currently tight) pants.😂

Huge wohooo for the ribbed material, not seeing them much often nowadays (it was trend two-three years ago)

Don't be afraid to be one woman show, it's uncomfortable, just sometimes. (:

😂 ...well usually I find it very uninspiring to own too many tight pants, so cutting holes is quite an easy solution!

Ooh I love the ribbed fabric, especially when you wear it and move it feels really good on the skin😊 (don't find it often either, gives me a bit of 2000-vibes as well)

💛

Why? Occasionally repacking serves as reminder to drop the sweets 😂

Oh, it does feel like bare skin ❤️

...yes I know, but it seems not to be the right motivator for me (tried it tough)😂

Same here, same...😜

Ooooh, I so adore your post! A lot of what you write is just how I think of it, too! Your photos are wonderful, and I might even take some of myself - though in recent years I have become clearer that I do not want my face online unless absolutely 'necessary'! I really like how you compromise and do not reveal everything.
The trouser pattern is fabulous... This is my favourite kind of upcycling: taking something which doesn't-quite-fit, and turning it upside down/ inside out/ putting it together in a new way... I too take a LOT of time, like I was just sharing in my focus challenge post, to finish a piece - then sometimes it doesn't get worn until much later, when I actually decide to adapt it a lot more. I very much appreciate others who also take this organic and natural approach. It is the best!
Much love @kesityu.fashion ! I was thinking of you in the mercato at the weekend, as I got my car back on the road - wooppeeee! - and could buy an extra big sack of 50c goodies: I got some silk items that you would love: even a wee black silk jacket for the summer, which I'm adding new buttons to now. 😍 Very excited to get them all lined up in my sewing room!

Thank you!!!!😊
Yes yes the face, apart from not wanting to show everything (which I find more aesthetic anyways, most of the times) I feel like having to focus on the place-set up-light, where I place myself and then would want to achieve a decent look on my face is just too much (for now)😅
...and there are too many cool ways to hide anyway:)
It does feel like a constant flow of adjusting, reworking or tuning upside down! Love it too, maybe one reason I would mostly go for upcycling instead of making something completely new.
Oooh😍 well I am glad you got your car back!! And I am super excited to see them all:))
❤️

For a long while I didn’t want to see myself in front of the camera. “I am sewing the clothes” was my excuse “I am not into modelling, that should be someone else’s part”.

Me either. 😁 I don't like taking pictures of myself or modeling some crochet wearables I made. 😅

But I do like your style, in which you just cover your face in an elegant way. Very clever. And the photos are awesome. And by the way, I like the long and wide sleeves of your top, pretty. 🥰

In the end I had to, giving my choice of being my own model or not having any photos of the clothes at all😅

Thank you!!this is really nice to hear, also helps a lot to be more and more comfortable with it, getting such nice feedbacks😊

Thanks for spilling the truth on upcycling, yea,lots of videos out there make it seem like it took just several minutes, not knowing it take days, maybe weeks, reason why I do include duration in some of my diys

one of my favourite tool is the seam ripper, since I discovered it, i've never gone back to other means.

I love your upcycled top, doesn't look it by the way,feels more like the original and the fabric is beautiful as well.

Thank you for this lovely comment:)
Indeed it is always interesting to know how long it actually took to complete a project! Especially if you do not know about the skill, it always look so easy when someone experienced is doing it...

Are you so true, all the internet tutorial dosen't can up as they presented, they aren't that easy and dosen't turn as well..
But your it is more beautiful, really love the sleeves shape, so your picture are editorial material so pretty pose and background..
Thank you for share

Thank you for those lovely words!! Very nice to hear:)

It seems gold is your color of the summer 😁 Really a beautiful top. Looks nice on you. I would like to challenge wearing gold in the future. I was more like a silver fan when I was young but I like gold more and more these days.

Happy Needlework Monday & great start of the week!

Seems to be my colour summer-2023 yes😅
I also have phases I find, between gold or silver, meanwhile jewelry I would still stick to silver mostly...
Thank you😊 have a great day too!

I don’t know where to start because you have shared so much valuable information with us. That cutting the whole in the pants part was like 🤯! Especially for someone like me that doesn’t really do the sewing thing, it makes so much since. I am now seeing that you are wearing the leg part on your arms 😄. This was so cool.

I am glad that you decided to continue on and just model the work yourself. I have to tell you that just from this post I can already see the photography improvement in the lighting and clarity. You did an amazing job and the last three photos are absolutely my favorite. I loved how you zoomed in on the details to highlight the material and the sewing efforts of your hands. The material is gorgeous and you did an excellent job displaying it here.

Awesome work @kesityu.fashion! Thanks so much for your entry and all of the great info you shared with us ~

Yay You!! 😍❤️

Thank you, so much for your lovely words!!💕

Aha, isn't it. I mean it is quite cool I think to be able to do some upcycling stuff without having to get full on into sewing😉

I am very glad you could tell the difference😊 Indeed this time I took the patience to press the shutter and run back and forward for quite a few times in different locations😅 (when before I also did some filming and taking screenshots which hurts a bit on the sharpness of the photo) ...but seeing the difference motivates me quite a bit to keep going like this:)

❤️

Yes, it’s super cool! I am horrible at sewing so that tip was golden for me. 😄

Yay! I love hearing that you are motivated! Yes, I say keep it up and you’ll just be more and more amazed as you progress and get more experience with this. I’m so happy I get to be here for the journey ~ 😘

Fast way leading to fast result that might end in the recycle bin is a very good point and 100% true, I like it.

Thank you! glad you liked it:D

This already paid-out post was just upvoted by @libra.gardener.
This post was created to allow this voter the oportunity to still upvote this content IF (s)he deems this content to be high quality.
Please don't use this post to self-upvote. You will get blacklisted if you do. And don't use it to upvote low quality content

This is a hive-archeology proxy comment meant as a proxy for upvoting good content that is past it's initial pay-out window.

image.png

Pay-out for this comment is configured as followed:

roleaccountpercentagenote
curator-0.0%curation rewards disabled
dev@croupierbot2.5%author of hive-archology
dev@emrebeyler2.5%author of lighthive
author@kesityu.fashion95.0%