Garden in green version

in HiveGarden9 months ago (edited)

I have to admit that I look at these pictures with a little nostalgia. These vegetables were photographed in a garden that bears fruit and vegetable - in my mom's garden. You have already seen the fruits, known and unknown ones, and you know that my mother makes marmalade from some.

IMG_20230712_091905.jpg

I hinted in that post about the fruits that there were also vegetables. A little quantity, enough to have for themselves, although, last year there were so many tomatoes that they cooked tomato juice, which they then use for meals during the whole year. That will not be the case this year as too much rain has ruined the crop. Then the storms came, and the hail damaged the few green tomatoes that remained on the branches. The marks are visible.

IMG_20230708_185027.jpg

The pumpkins are doing well. They will ripen in autumn, but for now, they are enjoying the shade under the huge leaves and surrounded by grass. There are some little flowers too, to make them company.

IMG_20230708_184352.jpg

IMG_20230708_184428.jpg

My parents made a few sections in the garden for different vegetables. There is a place for tomatoes, green beans, cucumbers, as well as bell peppers. There are several types of peppers, the bigger ones that are sweet and the smaller ones, that are like hot chillies. This pepper is something in between, a middle-sized variation.

IMG_20230708_185108.jpg

Cucumbers have their place by the terrace. Dad made a metal structure for this plant. Ropes are stretched between and the cucumber plant grows and climbs up that mesh. When they need a cucumber, they just go out and pick it. Very practical. And believe me, these cucumbers are very refreshing.

IMG_20230708_185003.jpg

IMG_20230708_184920.jpg

Let me know do you know the name of this vegetable. Ok, if it is new for you then I can help. It is called Kohlrabi. It is so tasty when it is cut into small cubes and cooked in soup with other vegetables.

IMG_20230708_185015.jpg

Green beans! We can find them in a few different spots in the garden. One section was planted without a net where a plant would climb. These pods were growing close to the ground.

IMG_20230708_184204.jpg

IMG_20230708_184226.jpg

Some of the green bean plants were grown close to the construction for the cucumbers, so they could nicely climb too. They were pretty and already one green beans soup was prepared from them when I was there with my parents.

IMG_20230708_184949.jpg

The most surprising thing was to see green beans growing by the apricot tree. It almost looked like the tree was bearing green beans instead of apricots 😂
Actually, they were growing from an old plastic basin, placed close to the tree.

These are some extra long and thin green beans. I have never seen this type before...
At first, I thought these were long, but then I saw an even longer pod.

IMG_20230722_192804.jpg

Look at this one. It hangs and I made a few photos (all were a bit blurred, unfortunately). However, I hope you can see it well.

What do you think - how long is this green bean pod?

IMG_20230722_192913.jpg

I have another photo showing how many cm it is long. But can you guess it before I show it?

mipiano_banners_strip_gimp.png

Edit: There were two users who already guessed it correctly. 62cm. I am adding that photo!

IMG_20230723_115332.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

I sincerely admire your parents for having that space planted and producing like that. It's great, why am I so lazy my god? hahaha... maybe it's not laziness, but lack of motivation. Tell me how long is one arm of yours, it must be a little less than that :P hahaha... (62 cm = abundancia)
I planted rosemary and passion fruit, but since I was gone a few days I think the rosemary got a little damaged, but I see a little plant growing there that may be passion fruit.

They are at an age where this activity is good for various reasons. It keeps them still a bit more active, and entertained + having their own vegetables saves money.

I hope the passion fruit and rosemary will grow nicely

62?

Look again at the post and in your wallet... and congratulations

untitled.gif

Puede ser que es una señal que tendrías que plantar green beans or other vegetables :))

Qué?! 🤓 Increíble/ Hahaha ... @ewkaw likes that number too. Congratulations.

Gracias mipiano por el premio. 😂🫂 Es una señal definitivamente.

;)

Hahah it is an awesome number :D
Congrats as well!

Qué?! 🤓

😂

De nada.
¿Y cuando empiezas con gardening entonces? 😆

😶‍🌫️ sí, hay que empezar, es bueno para distraerse 😂

Green! My favourite colour :D

Let me know do you know the name of this vegetable.

Oh yes I know it! It's kalarepa :)
It is even more delicious eaten raw. Especially when it is young, crunchy and juicy. Yum!!!

Lucky guess: 62 cm

Karalábé in Hungarian :)) haha, so similar 😇

Lucky guess: 62 cm

Holy moly kalarepa kalamoly

look again at my post (the added photo) and at your wallet 😁

untitled.gif

Whaaaa?
Hahaha oh that is so weird :D

Thank you! 🥦

untitled.gif

Hahaha,the GIF 😆

If not of the tunnels, but you are a guessing master of vegetables 😁 ☘️☘️☘️

Haha I know my veggies :D

You do 😇

Waoh, even you have apricot tree. That's really nice to read because I haven't seen apricot tree in real. Twisting beans around the tree would be looking like a cage to tree 🤣

Green beans are climbing plants, so it is true, the apricot tree would be like in a cage haha

How are you dear friend @mipiano good afternoon
It's good that your parents have this beautiful space to plant vegetables, and it's good that they prepare their own jams themselves.
What a pity to know that it has not been a good season for tomatoes this year, these vegetables are very sensitive to rain and hail
I appreciate you sharing these beautiful photos.
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid afternoon

Each year it is different, so this was not good for tomatoes. But it has to be accepted as nature goes with its rules.

 9 months ago  

45 cm 😁

Longer 😁

As two users guessed well, I am adding that proof photo to the post too.

62cm 🤓

And thank you for your guess 🤗

How interesting is the detailed description, @mipiano. The freshness of nature acquires in the green color the beginning of life, it is the beginning of what will later mature. That of appreciating the beauty in things that we believe to be simple is synonymous with greatness. Good post. I ate green beans in Spain, but I didn't like them.

So true, the green is the beginning, the freshness!
Later they mature, though some of the vegetables stay of that colour. 😃

Oh my gosh, I have never seen a green bean that long. I am going to take a guess and say 29cm? Those pumpkins look really healthy. I wish I had enough space for ground growing vegetables like those. The only thing I grew like that was a butternut last year - and that was an accident 🤣

Me neither, so that's why I had to measure it haha. We were all surprised, so it was 62cm long (am I saying it now as we have two users who guessed well already, so I added that photo to the post too 😇)

Oh my word, seriously? That's not a normal bean. That's a freaking Jack & the Beanstalk bean! So cool. Thanks for the reply. I really wasn't expecting it to be that long 😁

Hahaha, yeah. I didn't think about it but must be the reason of that super long bean 😆

I love green beans 😋 I like to eat then ardente a little hard 😁, I never see one so big, I think 🤔 that could be around 50cm long , I'm guessing 😅😅

I like them too 😌

Thank you for your guess, it was even longer. We had two users who guessed well, it was 62 cm long!

I was so nostalgic to see the tomato plants, I love the aroma of this plant, it brings back so many memories.

Beautiful garden! As for the final question, I think it measures more than 40 cm.... is it so?

Thanks @mipiano ❤️

The real tomatoes from the garden - priceless

It was 62 cm, so as two people already guessed correctly, I am adding that photo with the metre to the post too :)) But thank you for your guess @avdesing 😇

This is how garden tomatoes are the best.

I wanted to see if I could guess, I wanted to try it without seeing anything else hahaha.😀

Yes, that is how a guessing game works indeed 😇

And I love riddles!😀

@tipu curate 🥝

Wow que lindo jardín. Las judías son una delicia, si no me equivoco esas son las que en Cuba llamamos habichuelas.

Sí, puede ser que las judías son habichuelas. Son sabrosas :)

Your mother must be a hardworking woman. Looks like the vegetables are tempting me. Haha
I just love how those green vegies grow in the garden. It's a stress reliever as well.

You are right, it is a kind of stress reliever and also a way to stay active at that age :)

That is one hell of a bean!

Hahaha, but maybe it can taste heavenly 😂

(I wasn't there already when they harvested the long beans. The regular ones were good 👌)

I bet they were so much better than shop bought ones, I saw some the other day funily enough .... flown in from....Nigeria, nice to keep it local lol

Long beans look very long and 62cm is a unique long bean and this is the first time I have seen it

May the plant grow well and the harvest is satisfactory

I have not seen earlier that type either. Thanks :)

You're welcome

What is the name of the string bean seed?

I am not sure. My sister brought the seeds and mom planted them. I was there when they were this long already. Sorry for not being of help with the name 🤷‍♀

It doesn't matter what matters, the results are satisfactory, not and always give the best

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @ackhoo 😍

Beautiful vegetables!... That will be a good harvest, it is a very well cultivated garden!... Very good for your parents and thanks to you friend @mipiano piano for sharing!

!discovery shots
!VSC

They have it as a bit of entertainment as they are retired already for a long time and also, it helps to save some money 😉

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @mipiano

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @mipiano

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 12/25

Wow, it's nice that your parents have this much plants in their garden. Thank you for sharing these images from your garden with us, they're lovely.

They like it, and also it saves money. They have to buy less in the shop ;)

Yeah it does save money, seeing your parents garden, I wish I could also have one.

@mipiano again your post reminds me of one of my grandparents. He also had a garden where he grew cucumbers, lettuce, beans, cabbage and other vegetables.

Having a garden and growing vegetables is a great thing, luck, or a blessing. I am glad your grandfather also did it!! :)



This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Visual Shots community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

The fruits are looking so big and healthy
I wonder how you are able to take care of them for them to look very good like that
I love the pictures!

My parents dedicate a lot of work to it!

I myself am very fond of seeing natural things like this and I have also planted tomatoes and two or three things like that in my garden. It has a very good effect on human health.

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 27000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 28000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the first Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 1

It looks very nice that garden, your mom has a good hand for plants and what good fruits, sure the jam she makes must be delicious.