Hazy paths with nice surprises

in Wednesday Walklast month

IMG_20240410_213022.jpg

The "calima" haze clouded our sky during the whole weekend. This kind of haze occurs often in Spain when the wind brings dust from the Sahara Desert. You can instantly recognize the calima and decide whether to stay at home as it is not so healthy to be exposed to it for a long time, or just ignore it and carry on with your activities as always.

To be honest, I was not very happy with the thought that I was breathing all those small solid particles in suspensions like dust, sand, and ash but we anyway took a walk on Saturday afternoon.

IMG_20240410_212949.jpg

Although the most affected regions in Spain are the Canary Islands and south of the Spanish mainland, as you can see sometimes we also experience it. It is like being covered with a grey blanket. In twilight, we see the sky and everything in yellowish and orange nuance.

But let's not think about that meteorological phenomenon. We are in the walking community ;) So, we went to the rural area of Altea, between the river and the mountain. The walk started in the parking lot near the little river but then we went to that part we had never been to before. My husband sometimes checked the route with the GPS but we have been choosing the paths mostly on intuition.

Maybe we had some doubts in moments like this:

IMG_20240410_213301.jpg

...but everything else was fine. We didn't get lost and I found some nice surprises.

The first one was an acacia tree. I like its white flowers, they have a nice fragrance. But did you know that you can also eat its flowers?

IMG_20240410_212615.jpg

Of course, you have to be sure that it is an acacia flower. Don't try it if you are not sure about it!

I have been eating acacia flowers since my childhood, the time when there were many more of these trees around. Nowadays it is not that common so I feel fortunate when I find one.

But I am also fine when I find loquat trees. The fruits started to ripen maybe a week ago.

Do you see the beautiful grey sky? 😑

IMG_20240410_213148.jpg

IMG_20240410_213054.jpg

I saw these loquats in some orchards but I didn't touch them. I promise.

Later I found a tree that was in no man's land. You see the fruits are small and not from those trees that the owners take care of. Compared to a small tangerine - these are super tiny loquats from a wild tree.

IMG_20240410_213821.jpg

Despite the haze, the route was nice as we also passed by orchards with orange trees full of flowers. The blooming is not just nice, it also gives pleasure to our smell. The scent of orange flowers is special.

Being surrounded by orange blossoms is fabulous.

IMG_20240410_212922.jpg

Also, lemon trees were blooming.

IMG_20240406_175725.jpg

IMG_20240410_213750.jpg

But that's not all. More surprises happened on this walk. Look at the next photo and imagine what she would say to you.

Something like Hello Hiver, how do you do? Welcome to my home!

IMG_20240410_213606.jpg

She had baby goats. So cute little souls!

IMG_20240410_213515.jpg

IMG_20240410_213404.jpg

The only confusing thing was a donkey sticker and not a goat sticker on the door of the shed by this yard.

IMG_20240410_213654.jpg

But then you see some horses and the confusion is even bigger. But probably it was all because of the haze and strong fragrance of the orange blossom. 😁

IMG_20240410_213216.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

OMG baby goats! <3

The dust gets to Portugal too. Quite annoying to see everything covered in it.

Yes, baby goats 😍

And they had a nice, clean home!

Dust - finally, the wind has blown it away and I collected a nice amount of the same from the balcony. Some of the plants got a shower in the bathroom 🚿

Love the blossoms and goats so cute, the dust no so much lOL

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)
Have a great day :)

The dust - no much we can like about it hahaha

ohh yeah for sure and it reminde dme yesterday to do some dusting lOL

A bit of cleaning work - it is just good, right? 😁

ohh yeah for sure

I love how all those white flowers look with the apocalyptic sky that surrounds you these days hahaha things about this country and its curious climate.

I love lemon trees, it always brings back fond childhood memories to see some. But hey! I've never eaten acacia flowers, I'm quite curious now xD.

In the end it turned out to be an interesting tour, who would have expected such a variety of animals over there.

Hahaha, apocalyptic sky, it indeed was, you are right! 😂

Acacia blooms just in spring and the flowers don't last for long so you have to be lucky and quick in finding them :D

Sí, varios animalitos 😇

Awww that goats are so cuteee!! 🤩

siiiii

a ver, no son unos galgos, pero también son muy monos 😇

untitled.gif

But did you know that you can also eat its flowers?

My wife is very fond of these flowers. She loves the scent and the taste. She eats them just like that, naturally, and tells me that her mother used to cook them.

I'll disregard the cute little animals and tell you I like all the flowers and fruits you've put here. I'd love to have them in my garden. It is estimated that in 20-30 years there will be a climate in the south of Romania similar to that of Greece... so close to that of Spain. Unfortunately, I have no chance of seeing that.

I also just like that, in a fresh version when I find them :)

Really, Romania will have a similar climate as Greece or Spain? Oh, what will be then with this climate in these countries, even warmer and drier? 🤐

Unfortunately, I have no chance of seeing that.

You never know 😉

Bulgaria, Romania, probably, also Serbia are sliding towards a Mediterranean climate, with milder winters and hotter summers. In the south of Romania, near the Danube, there are vast areas of land that turn into desert...

You never know

Haha, do you think I'm an immortal? I'm 70 years old. Your "You never know" made me laugh and I loved it.

It is good to laugh - it is heathy! 😉

So, I plan to live at least 90 or a decade more 😁

Then I'm waiting to see this!

LOL Love the Goats,

They live in a clean place with inside and outside sections, which is great. And they looked good, healthy and cute 😇

That's good to hear

You brightened up my night amidst the haze and the orange blossoms .... there are horses!!!! I love horses... cats too, but... horses! I go to sleep happy!

Bella bella bella walk.... no matter the haze, there are horses!😍😍😍

Horses - there were more, but these didn't want to pose for a photo

IMG_20240411_102134.jpg

One of these can be seen on that photo in the post too, where the white horse is.

Now you just need the carriage 😉

ohh thank you so much!!! They are beautiful... they are like me do not come out in photos🤣

😂😂

🤗🤗

I have never seen an acacia or loquat tree. Therefore I have not eaten their flowers or fruits respectively. I know there are loquats in the east of the country but I have never seen them in Havana or Pinar del Rio.

The aroma of the orange blossom is a delight. For many years I used only a handmade cologne made from these flowers in a place in Old Havana, it was exquisite. Visiting that place was a pleasure for the senses and you could refill the bottle every time it ran out. Unfortunately they no longer sell that cologne 😔.

Se agotaron los stickers de cabras y caballos?? 🤔🤣 Un abrazo.

Acacia were common in the place where I grew up. And the acacia honey is very very tasty. My dad had beehives so I liked the most this type of honey we used to get from the bees. 🤤

Se agotaron los stickers de cabras y caballos??

😂 quizás jajaja

Aunque había un burro por allí, más lejos pero no me acerqué. A mí me llamaron la atención las cabritas 😇

...My dad had beehives...

La apicultura es una actividad maravillosa y admiro mucho a quienes la realizan...le tengo miedito a las abejas 😬🤭

Eating the honey from a piece of honeycomb is a delight. Chewing that piece of wax to get as much honey out as you can is a memory I have from my childhood too, near my house there used to be beehives.

Las abejitas no pican en realidad porque quieren hacerlo, sino para defender a sí mismas y a su colmena. Ya después de unos años de experiencia mi papá las trataba sin guantes - con calma, sin movimientos bruscos. 😉
Una pena que un año todas las colmenas se enfermaron y murieron, no solo de nosotros sino de los otros apicultores también.

Ahora quisiera comer miel, así como lo describes...

It's a good thing the weather didn't hinder you from taking such a beautiful walk. We do have similar weather in my region, that's when I sometimes choose to wear a nose mask.
The goats are cute and they look like the African dwarf goat, known for its hardiness, I also loved the orchards.

African dwarf goats - I guess they are cute.
These goats seem to be Spanish dwarf goats (just kidding, I don't know which type of them 😉)

What a nice walk in this rural area, I like to see the horses and goats the first one looks like he talk to you, in Cuba we also had some time dust from the Sahara desert all the sky near to the sea get dark and ugly I don't like it either.
Thanks for the walk señorita Mi piano campestre 🤣🤣

...campestre de las cabritas y caballos, con acacias, naranjas y nísperos 😂 - full name hahahaha

Nice walk to the countryside @mipiano.🥰🤗❤️

Thank you @mamani 😇

🤗🥰

I loved seeing the photos of the beautiful flowering trees, like the orange and lemon trees. The aroma of citrus blossoms must have been simply delicious. And what a lovely surprise to find that mother goat and her baby goats - how cute!😍

The baby goats were the stars of that walk, though I also enjoyed a lot all those trees in blossom and the taste of the loquats 😌

when the wind brings dust from the Sahara Desert

Then we hardly wash the cars from that sand. if it happens to rain, it is like mud...

But did you know that you can also eat its flowers?

When I was a child in the village, I chewed acacia flowers every spring. I also chewed clover flowers 🙂

Yep - a reason why I almost never wash my car 😂 hahaha, just after the mud rain.
Luckily, this time it didn't rain, it was just the dust, and on Monday evening the wind blew it away .🌬 🌞

Well, that appears to be a very nice walk in spite of weather conditions, those you took are beautiful pictures I found myself in front of my cell screen saying hi to the goat. Greetings.

The mom goat was curious and cute. But seems that I was curious too and went that close to their home ;)

What a beautiful walk, the photographs of the goats are very cute, I see that since I like nature, I saw that my grandfather eats loquat, but I never ate one
What beautiful photos you have @mipiano

Loquats are a tasty fruit, but they don't grow everywhere. I discovered them when we moved to this area where there are plenty of these trees

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 40000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 41000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I wonder how the people who are asthmatic over there will be able to cope with the situation of inhaling dust. It’s crazy though and I hope it stops soon
Does anyone own that farm you took the plant pictures?

I have acquaintances who avoid going out on those days when the dust haze is dense as it indeed harms their respiratory system.

Baby goats are so cute!

The goat looks very omuThe goat looks very cute ✌️😅, And luckily you didn't get lost and managed to see some natural beauty like the lemon flower

Lovely lemon flowers, I am also excited to see the lemon trees that we have at home to have more flowers soon.For now I only see 2 flowers in one of our lemon plants