You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wachusett Reservoir and Dam

in Worldmappin11 months ago

There's gigantic fish in there dude, since it's no boats allowed not even kayaks or canoes. The fish are fucking giant lakers. They've got brook, brown and rainbow trout I think. One guy told me they had tiger trout too but I don't know if I believe him lol. My dad said the place is amazing for trout fishing and might join us when we go, but I won't hold my breath on that one haha.

We don’t fly fish either although my son really wants to. I can’t do all of the fancy wrist work and all that. I just want to cast and reel, jig or do something like that. With trout, we’ve learned that you just cast it out really far with a weight and let it sit on the bottom and it will eventually come by for a snack.

I haven’t caught a wild trout in decades, I’m looking forward to actually getting to do it. I’m hoping that when we do get one, that we can cook that shit up right there and eat it lol.

Sort:  

Oh that's super cool they have all three species of native trout. Tiger would be cool to catch there a cross breed they stock them in sone ponds here. I agree trout is a fish you eat right away, flame 🔥 in, lol

Yeah we're lucky in that we have a lot of the species! I never knew tiger was a thing until my son got a poster from one of the local fairs last year and it described them. Sounds cool but weird lol. I don't think they stock them in many places, certainly not in the numbers they do rainbows!

We were just fishing on a river a little while ago and my son almost caught a brookie! It was in a spot that I swore he wouldn't catch shit hahaha but I was packing up and all of a sudden I heard a splash and my son yell that a fish just jumped at his bait! We are getting closer to that elusive damn trout lol