Wachusett Reservoir and Dam

in Pinmapple11 months ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share some photos of the beautiful reservoir the little man and I went walking at!

IMG_1508 combo.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Wachusett Reservoir and Dam

The little man and I are always up and out for an adventure. We tend to get to traveling some decent distances for a good time when it comes to going for a walk, hike or going fishing. We did both with this trip! The Wachusett reservoir is one of the most beautiful places in central Massachusetts, besides the other giant reservoir the Quabbin. The Quabbin though isn't as walkable as the Wachusett is, and it definitely shows!

The little man and I were going out for a fishing trip, we had something to do in this area and figured that we might as well try to do some fishing while we were out there. I remember as a kid I had an uncle that used to love fishing the place, he would always catch these crazy ass fish too! I knew that I wanted to check it out, since we aren't normally in this area too often, so off we went!

One of the things that's great is that they share a lot of history in many of these places. The Wachusett reservoir was actually used as a model for some of the massive construction projects around the world like the Panama Canal! That's insane to think about, something as world-renowned as the Panama Canal got some of it's inspirations and ideas from somewhere up in Massachusetts. The reservoir here was built sometime in the early 1900's, where the often way to build these things is to move the local people that had been living in the area out and flood the whole area creating the reservoir. That happened a lot sadly lol.

IMG_1518 combo.jpg

When it was built in the early 1900's it was the largest reservoir in the world! That's crazy, because a few dozen miles west of this place here is the Quabbin reservoir which is the biggest reservoir in Massachusetts, and one that is also freaking gigantic lol. The beauty of the place is incredible though! I love that they don't allow boats on it, because that helps keep the pollution and other things down, which you certainly want when you have a water supply such as this. There are many towns around it and hundreds of thousands of people who depend on the water from this, so you need to keep it as clean as possible!

IMG_1506 combo.jpg

One of the amazing things about this place though is the crazy amount of walking distance that you can undertake to go about it! Where we parked, you start at the top of the dam and then you can make your way down to the bottom of it and where the water flows out and into the tributary river here and outward from there. The trees were in quite a nice bloom and I don't think we stopped to pay attention to the tree and learn what kind of tree it was lol it isn't quite a crabapple that is my favorite, but it did have a decent smell to it! I think we will have to go back and see what we can uncover with the plant app to see what the tree was.

IMG_1512.jpg

What was incredible though was the size of the dam and barrier! They didn't allow you to walk on top of it of course, which I don't love but at the same time I do understand it. That's a really long ways down, on either side lol to the water or to the pavement below. Someone would likely be an idiot there, but you know that sadly a few idiots ruin something for everyone else.

The trail winds down the side of the hill along the damn and it goes right back up the other side! Sadly we didn't have time to explore it this time around, but I know we will be back at some point, likely in the fall when the weather cools off and we can go for a nice walk as a family. The wife doesn't do well with these things at the moment, but she's on the mend and will hopefully be able to enjoy a jaunt with us in a few short months!

IMG_1508 combo.jpg

I found it incredible to just look at the sheer face of the dam wall here. It's long as hell, and also looks pretty damn cool! It's certainly withstood the test of time, and I hope that it stands for many hundreds or thousands of years into the future. There will likely need to be some restoration of it along the way here and there but for the most part, this thing looks solid as hell! I love looking alongside the wall straight across, the damn thing doesn't budge outward the whole length, that's crazy! I didn't realize it too much until going back and reviewing the photos here for the post, but that thing is straight as an arrow on the top layer of blocks.

IMG_1511.jpg

There were a significant number of people walking out and about here, it was really a wonderful experience. Everyone was enjoying the whole scene, and even there were some people using it as a decent fitness opportunity which we know is sorely needed with a lot of people these days. That was a great thing to see! You can also get a bit of an appreciation of how big the whole thing is, I wonder if it's half a mile across or more, and it doesn't look to be too far off on that rough eyeball measurement!

IMG_1509.jpg

At the bottom of it all there is this really cool gigantic water display. I think they send the high pressure water down the dam and up the pipe here, shooting it out for a nice and relaxing thing to look at. On a hot day I'm sure the mist that sprays out from this thing is really nice!

IMG_1515.jpg

The little man and I were walking around this thing for about 45 minutes, exploring the various parts but we were sadly in a little bit of a hurry because we were trying to get out there and going fishing! Lol. We absolutely marveled at the wonder of modern construction with this thing, it was amazing to see as well as hear.

When you were on top of the dam and down on the bottom here, all you could hear was the low rumble of hundreds of thousands of gallons of water every second flowing through the massive pipes and into the various pipes that make up the dam. I don't know if they also installed any type of electricity capture station but I'm assuming with such a large structure here, there has to be something of the sort. I will have to look that up for a future post but this place is definitely one we are going to come back to at some point in the year. We are going to try trout fishing here! One of the guys we talked to said that the trout fishing here was excellent and my son and I have been really looking forward to nailing a couple trout!

IMG_1516.jpg

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,900 PRE tokens, with a market value of $180.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1924.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That's awesome thank you i appreciate it!

Looks like an amazing place. Pretty cool they have a huge fountain there. I hope big water equals big fish or least many caught fish the next time you go there. What kind of trout are in that reservoir? I'm not big trout fisherman I use what I do for everything else I catch. I have never used a fly fishing rod and reel. I can see myself in 10 years from now when I I'm retired fishing some creek with one lol.

There's gigantic fish in there dude, since it's no boats allowed not even kayaks or canoes. The fish are fucking giant lakers. They've got brook, brown and rainbow trout I think. One guy told me they had tiger trout too but I don't know if I believe him lol. My dad said the place is amazing for trout fishing and might join us when we go, but I won't hold my breath on that one haha.

We don’t fly fish either although my son really wants to. I can’t do all of the fancy wrist work and all that. I just want to cast and reel, jig or do something like that. With trout, we’ve learned that you just cast it out really far with a weight and let it sit on the bottom and it will eventually come by for a snack.

I haven’t caught a wild trout in decades, I’m looking forward to actually getting to do it. I’m hoping that when we do get one, that we can cook that shit up right there and eat it lol.

Oh that's super cool they have all three species of native trout. Tiger would be cool to catch there a cross breed they stock them in sone ponds here. I agree trout is a fish you eat right away, flame 🔥 in, lol

Yeah we're lucky in that we have a lot of the species! I never knew tiger was a thing until my son got a poster from one of the local fairs last year and it described them. Sounds cool but weird lol. I don't think they stock them in many places, certainly not in the numbers they do rainbows!

We were just fishing on a river a little while ago and my son almost caught a brookie! It was in a spot that I swore he wouldn't catch shit hahaha but I was packing up and all of a sudden I heard a splash and my son yell that a fish just jumped at his bait! We are getting closer to that elusive damn trout lol

That sounds like an amazing experience! I've never been to Wachusett Reservoir and Dam, but it sounds like a beautiful place. I'm glad you and your son had such a great time exploring.

It is a beautiful place indeed! Hopefully you get to visit America one day, it's full of such wonderful treasures! Thanks for stopping by man!

That's probably the prettiest looking reservoir I've ever seen. They generally don't look that well manicured, so it's nice to see that they've turned it into a feature.

Were you and the little man able to go fishing?

Ya we have a few that are in good shape like this, it is nice indeed! I think a big draw is that it’s no boats allowed, so it adds to the cleanliness of the place.

We did end up going fishing yeah! We went fishing, for actual fish.. and we caught a snake lol. Strange times :D

The no boats rule I understand. I think it has it's place in some areas.

What? Hahaha how on earth? That did make me chuckle the way you worded it 🤣 I hope it wasn't a poisonous one. Is there going to be a post on that????

Lol I wasn't planning on it but I might give it one! I did snap a few photos of it, I'll roll it into one, there have been a few random sightings but we've seen snakes 3 times now so it warrants a post it seems!

Awesome. I'm keen to read it and see the pics. Sounds like they like you. Might want to invest in some gaiters.

I better be careful not to dangle the snakes in front of dandays otherwise he will scream and run away

I'm sure many people would do that so at least he shouldn't feel alone in that.

WOW its so beautiful there and not to far from me maybe an hour and a half I have added it to my list of places I want to visit

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

Oh for sure man, if you can I would absolutely recommend it! I can imagine that it's absolutely breath taking in the fall! You should go up there for some foliage shots!

Thats a cool idea, I will try and do that, :)

If you do, tag me in the post so I can marvel at it!

👍🙂👍

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!