Waffle bars, Hot Chocolates, and Architecture - Discover Medieval City Bruges, Belgium

in Pinmapple3 months ago

My trip to the Belgian city of Bruges was a day trip and it was nice and beyond my expectation. People mostly talk about Brussels City so after planning my day trip to Bruges, I was in dilemma whether I should go or not to go. But I was really happy that I made the right choice after visiting the city. A part of Bruge City Center I already shared with you which is very popular among the tourists. What I liked most about Bruges City was architecture, city planning, and hot chocolate. I wish I could give you the taste of the true hot chocolate drink.


20231216_161121.jpg

20231216_160806.jpg


Even though my trip to Bruges was a planned day trip, my expectations were not that high. I went to that city for recreational purposes and had a very relaxing walk with no rush. It was December, during the holiday season so the streets of Bruges were very beautifully decorated with Xmas ornaments. Obviously, night time during the holiday season everything looks vibrant but daytime didn't disappoint me at all. We spent most of our time seeing some landmarks, and cathedrals and walking on the streets and near the canals. But the best part was to taste the Belgian chocolates and hot chocolate drink.

Bruges City is a well-preserved medieval city. Most of the buildings were made of brick during the Middle Ages and are known for travée bourgeoise style architecture. Travée bourgeoise style architecture is basically old traditional medieval architecture. The buildings you see in the photos are designed in the travée bourgeoise style. Interesting isn't it because they look quite similar to the buildings in Amsterdam. However, the architectural styles of both cities are different. Bruges also has some exquisite landmarks based on Gothic-style architecture. I will write a separate post about it.


20231216_160848.jpg

20231216_160809.jpg


The modern era is all about highrises, steels, and concrete jungles so this city took me to the middle age era of history, culture, and architecture. You can see the open sky while walking on the cobbled stone streets surrounded by the lines of brick buildings. It feels amazing. We normally call these buildings low-rise brick buildings. Most of the buildings were colorful with full-height glass windows. Some buildings kept the original texture of brick. I was kinda surprised to see the condition of the buildings, they were beautifully preserved.


20231216_161116.jpg

20231216_131311.jpg20231216_133425.jpg20231216_133429.jpg

It was Saturday morning, the weekend so the streets were crowded. People were just enjoying their leisure time by walking on the streets. Some were exploring the famous chocolate shops. Most of the shops I saw were souvenirs, chocolate, and waffle shops. Restaurants are mostly located near the canal side. The exterior of the buildings was quite similar following a pattern, the 1st floor had 2 or 3 windows, and the 2nd floor only had one window. I wish I had a chance to enter one of these buildings. If you notice properly you will see all building windows are in the same alignment following one line. There were exceptions but hardly noticeable.


20231216_130707.jpg

20231216_130703.jpg20231216_131044.jpg20231216_131304.jpg

20231216_130752.jpg

After coming to the Netherlands, I started collecting souvenirs from different cities. Basically, wherever I go, I buy fridge magnets following the culture and landmarks of a specific city. I love collecting them and they are memorable and represent the trip I made so far. So far I have collected many magnets following my city tours. At first, I thought of buying souvenirs following the country but later I decided to buy souvenirs following the cities. Some magnets were pretty expensive, but they always give a pleasant memory.

While walking on the street of Bruges, suddenly my eyes caught something unusual. I am sure not many people noticed that unique thing. It was a window of the 1st floor, a very unique style window. A doll was sitting inside the window. At first, I thought it was a man sitting inside the window but later I saw it was an animated doll. The shop is called Rococo Lace Shop from Rococo Lace Manufacturer. Rococo has been a lace maker for several generations since 1833 and is mainly produced based in Bruges, Belgium. Those who are fascinated and use Lace fabric for dress, know about it. Interesting discovery I would say and it was so sudden...



20231216_161148.jpg

20231216_122131.jpg20231216_122136.jpg20231216_122230.jpg

20231216_122259.jpg20231216_123045.jpg20231216_133351.jpg

In almost every chocolate shop and restaurant in Bruges, you will find hot chocolate drinks. But if you want a cheap option, I would love to suggest you to go to a chocolate shop rather than a restaurant. In the chocolate shops, you will find different flavored chocolate dips for hot chocolate and if you ask in the shop, they will prepare it for you. My chocolate bombs were mostly filled with marshmallows and cookies. I prefer such kind of flavor. Incredible flavor rather than local hot chocolate and Cocoa drink. I have never seen so many flavors of homemade chocolates. I couldn't resist myself buying such homemade chocolates and choco bombs, I spent a few bucks just on buying chocolates.

These homemade chocolates have unique tastes and really great flavors. I still have some...It was nice enjoying a hot chocolate drink while walking on the streets of the Belgium city of Bruges. Winter morning and Hot chocolate !! What else I needed...


20231216_160332.jpg

20231216_160247.jpg20231216_160224.jpg20231216_160231.jpg

Rozenhoekaai and Breidelstraat these two streets are famous for various chocolate and waffle shops. I bought chocolates from different different shops judging on the price. But the big chocolate bombs I got from Rozenhoekaai Street near the canal from the famous chocolate shop called Crown. This place is called Huidenvettersplein and this building is also well known for two gold fishes symbols.

20231216_160221.jpg

20231216_160239.jpg

20231216_160836.jpg20231216_160039.jpg20231216_130209.jpg

Wherever I go, I try to do something different to make my trip memorable. I don't spend too much money on buying products but whenever I buy something, I buy them for memories. Small activities like tasting hot chocolate or sitting near the canal make me feel good and a walk always helps me to connect with the city and culture.

In the end, my day in the city "Bruges" was relaxing and pleasant.



Love

Priyan...



I am @priyanarc.... An architect, a dreamer, and a passionate writer who loves to write about life. I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way I can know and reach your mind and thoughts easily...



Find me on:


All images used are captured by the author...

Sort:  

Yummy, the chocolate looks very tasty, and the city is so beautiful 🥺..I would love to visit this place sometime in the future

The city is really nice and worth visiting and Belgium chocolates are really tasty... I am glad you liked my post and decided to keep this city on your bucket list...

Fingers crossed,that's the first thing I'll try when I visit 🤗

I hope your dreams will come true soon...

For the last couple of months I've been trying to eat more healthily. I've really cut down on my chocolate intake. Now I need some! It's a good job the shop near me is open until 11 pm. 😁

A small piece of chocolate won't hurt I think but it might give you guilty pleasure 😀 Hot chocolate (thick creamy milk and Belgian chocolate) is perfect for a cozy winter morning. By any chance did you go to the shop 🤣?

Yes, I did! I've not eaten any choc for a couple of weeks, so as you say it was a guilty pleasure. I kept my pyjama bottoms on under my trousers though. 😆

The windows of the buildings are indeed slightly reminiscent of the design of Dutch houses. I can imagine, with so much temptation a.ka. chocolate, I don't think even I could resist buying a nice hot chocolate with marshmallows!

slightly reminiscent of the design of Dutch houses

Yes and at first I thought they were the same but after noticing the details, I got the differences. They are pretty unique and some buildings also have significant history as well.

About hot chocolate, I really wanna recommend everyone to taste the authentic Belgian chocolate hot milk drink. It's actually delicious, especially during winter time. During summer you won't enjoy it but that's the perfect drink for the winter season. Homemade chocolates from Belgium are actually delicious.

Thank you for stopping by, I really appreciate your feedback. Have a nice week...

I really wanna recommend everyone to taste the authentic Belgian chocolate hot milk drink. It's actually delicious, especially during winter time.

Here's the biggest reason why I can't hold the line in cold weather... I can't stop eating... It seems that the distance between me and the fridge and the cookie cupboard is reduced to half a meter!

I want a chocolate bommmmmmmmb 😮

The buildings are so vibrant and glowy!

I can send you if you want, they are really good and tasty. Yea, a lot of sugar but still very delicious. 😀

Mmmmmmm. That's sweet (haha) of you to offer! I had better decline, though. I really don't need sugar right now. I will instead experience Belgian chocolate vicariously through you and your blogs.

Unique structure design, it feels like you in a dream City with a vibrant color. Foods are enticing and look delicious.

Yes, during the holiday season, the city looks lively and vibrant. I guess the city always remains crowded due to tourists and summertime might be so busy and crowded as well. I liked the way the city was organized and well-preserved. It was nice walking around and looking at those nice historical buildings.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, really appreciate it...

No Belgium without chocolate. Nice trip @priyanarc

The right sentence you wrote, Belgium without chocolate is no fun... Thanks my friend for stopping by...

Wow, it is a beautiful city, the architecture of the city is really amazing, I really like seeing the beautiful and bustling atmosphere of the city there

Yes, and that's why I wrote that you want to get away from highrises and concrete jungle, this kind of city is perfect for a day out where you can experience history under the open sky. I prefer nature-based locations mostly but also I love exploring the cities where you can learn something and find unique activities to do.

I am glad that the architecture of Bruges really caught your eye. Thanks and have a good week...

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2142.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: