You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

I find it relaxing and a way to shake off the city, kind of like being in a backyard with eating benefits. I took a look at the link for what you've bought. I haven't seen a design with a hood and water misting like that before. I made about 40 percent of my balcony garden self-watering (not like what you've bought though).

I don't blame you for not going to the work of setting up a garden if you're not sure how long you'll be there. It's a longer term commitment and pointless if you have to leave it behind. Better choice what you have done. Decent size also. What were you thinking on growing?

Glad to hear you had that life growing up. I miss the simpler days also.

Thanks, I'm trying to make it a point to join every weekend (pun intended). I enjoy these. Hahaha, as soon as you get one up, there's the next one looming. 😂

Sort:  

Gardening is certainly relaxing and when one is cooking with, and eating, that stuff one has produced it is also very satisfying.

The plan is to plant as per the season of course so initially salad vegetables mainly, herbs and all. I'd like to find varieties that are non-GM also, you know, the old seeds although that will be difficult to do 100% I think. I won't be able to grow pumpkins and all considering their size but will have a good selection I think. I have a whole thing planned out and will possibly do some posts about it, the pod set-up, what I've planted and the produce. Should be good and a new element for my blog-feed also.

My youth was spent doing all sorts of things that mainly involved working with my hands. We had a very large property and there was always something to do so from a young age I was involved. I really miss it now. I live on the city-fringe, about 12-15 minutes from the CBD and whilst I have a decent-sized allotment it's not big enough, or remote enough, for my liking. I do have a massive scrubland-recreation park across the road, like *directly across the road. I go there a lot to feel like I'm in the country. Kangaroos, koalas and all...I'm lucky.

Any subject ideas would be welcome...I was thinking an AMA for next week actually. Not sure if people would care enough to ask me anything though. Lol.

Heirloom seeds are what you need

That's the word I couldn't remember. Lol. I know there are places that do them here and am keen to go that way. Part of the fun is bringing it all together; there'll be failures I'm sure, but I'm ok with that. I like failing and what it does to me.

You gotta cuddle a koala once at least! Good huggers. I'll be honest though, I'm the worlds best hugger, it is known worldwide. I taught those koalas everything they know!

The AMA seems like a good idea although I'll get questions I won't answer here I guess...Still, a little disclaimer will take care of that. Shh, don't tell anyone.

Yes, feel free to send ideas. I look for simple things, easy things that the majority of people can answer easily and that promote some byplay.

My dad always told me that failure helps me become the the right person to accept success, and brings me closer to it. Failing is how I learn although I learn from success too - Just more from failure. I don't fear it, although I never set out to achieve it of course. Failure is a good thing. Fail more should be a constant in people's lives as it means they've tried.

Koala's have tried in the past to steal my thunder, take the accolade of worlds best hugger from me...Can't happen though. A G-dog hug is like...Well, must be received to be believed! :)

They have some claws for sure...One doesn't want to get on the wrong side of them.

Hmm, no hug-photos, always so engrossed in the hug so there's no time for selfies. World-class hugging takes focus.

Truly you are relaxing just because your garden is in your backyard. You have great talent indeed and planting of tomatoes and also making good good use of the tomatoes you have planted can't really go a long way to keep you busy. It is indeed a skill you have developed. I hope you can also convert the tomato seed into tomato paste as well?