Canadian winter soup featuring squash, barley, and beans

DSC_2482.jpg


Hello friends of the Hive realm. It has been a while. I feel stifled on my days off, so doing a post takes quite a bit out of me. This day I mustered up the energy to share an epic pot of soup.

I call it Canadian winter soup. You may think there is some traditional Canadian soup with this name, but there are few foods that may be considered traditionally Canadian.

The reason for the name, is that I am using mostly ingredients that can grow in this country. However all of these items are imported, most likely from the US or south of there.

DSC_2298.jpg


One of the items that I am happy to include, is the Kabocha squash. This is also known as a Japanese pumpkin. Squash in general, are grown by many here in Canada.

DSC_2288.jpg


I don't use it enough because of how much I struggle to cut it. I have cheap knives.

DSC_2311.jpg


When I finally crack it open I can move on to further prepare it.

DSC_2316.jpg


Taking out the seeds is easy. Removing the skin is another struggle. It can be cooked first to make it easier but I wanted to cube it before cooking.

DSC_2321.jpg


I cubed it quite small, blanched in boiling water for a couple of minutes, then set aside.

DSC_2332.jpg


Along with the squash are vegetables, romano beans, and barley.

DSC_2337.jpg


The beans were from dry beans that I had soaked overnight. I cooked them until tender with a couple of bay leaves. The water was set aside.

DSC_2272.jpg


The following recipe can be adjusted because of the powdered broth and liquid. Powdered broths differ in salt levels and added seasoning. If you use liquid broth it will need different amounts of seasoning to suit your taste.

Canadian winter soup
500g cooked Kabocha squash
100g kale
4 cups cooked beans
1 cup uncooked barley (cook in 3 cups water)
200g carrots
70g celery
220g mushrooms (I used cremini)
160g onion
30g garlic
400g tomatoes
1/4 cup tomato paste
1/2 cup vegetable broth powder plus 1 litre water
1 litre of cooking liquid from beans and squash
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp dry sage
1 tsp dry thyme
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp black pepper
2 bay leaves
Salt to taste
Oil for saute

DSC_2346.jpg


I start with chopped onion, adding them to an oiled pot to cook until translucent.

DSC_2347.jpg


After adding the carrots and celery.

DSC_2353.jpg


Following this I added garlic and tomatoes.

DSC_2368.jpg


I decided to add 1/4 cup of tomato paste after I took the photo of the items for the soup. I wanted even more richness from the soup.

DSC_2363.jpg


At this point I added the vegetable soup broth powder. I almost always use homemade broth but in this case, I didn't bother since there were so many ingredients in the soup.

DSC_2373.jpg


I added the mushrooms which I think is a good combination with barley.

DSC_2375.jpg


I added a cup of chopped parsley leaving around a cup for garnish. I always prefer flat leaf parsley rather the curly.

DSC_2379.jpg


The beans were added to the mixture.

DSC_2380.jpg


I cook the beans very well ahead of time, knowing that they would be slightly mushy which would add to the thickness of the soup.

DSC_2382.jpg


The barley was pre cooked. I had a lower ratio of barley. I find that it really gets thick and if you use too much in can overpower the soup.

Canada is a big grower of barley. In fact I have run through fields of barley as a child, visiting my relatives in another province. Many beers are made from barley. My late uncle used to tell me he was going to the pub for a barley sandwich, when he was going for a pint.

DSC_2383.jpg


I added precooked barley which was cooked in 3 cups of water.

DSC_2384.jpg


I added the squash towards the end. It was not super cooked but softened from the blanching.

DSC_2385.jpg


At this point I still have not added the liquid.

DSC_2390.jpg


At the end I added the chopped kale and the liquid from the cooking of the squash and beans.

I added an additional litre of water and seasoned to suit my taste.

DSC_2404.jpg


Wait!!! Should I do it? Should I?

DSC_2421.jpg


I had recently walked into the little hot sauce shop around the corner. There were so many bottles and jars. I asked the guy for a really hot sauce. He pointed to two shelves. One was what he referred to as the "challenger" level. The shelf next to it was a step down. I picked one from there.

It cost over twenty dollars and I cringed a bit for spending that much. When I got home I had a small drop of it. My tongue was on fire for half an hour. I realized at this point that it would last for quite awhile.

Yes! I added a couple of drops to the whole pot. Surely, I thought, it would not even be noticeable. I'm glad I was careful with it. It was spicy enough.

DSC_2413.jpg


I finished it off with some croutons and fresh parsley.

DSC_2473.jpg


This is the kind of soup that can serve as a full meal. I froze a portion of it for an after work dinner. My partner and I work evenings at a restaurant and it's too tiring to cook when we get home.

DSC_2475.jpg


If you have leftovers of this, you will have to add extra broth or water and seasoning. The barley keeps thickening which is why I don't add a large amount.

DSC_2477.jpg


The squash adds a little sweetness to the soup and is a good contrast to the tomato.

DSC_2491.jpg


A side salad with a toasted walnuts is a perfect accompaniment.

DSC_2489.jpg


Thanks for dropping by. I wish you a lovely day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500

Sort:  

Spicy enough with a couple of drops 😵 I know you love spicy food,so we must be careful about this sauce; anyway, I don't think I'd find it in the stores here--or that I should pay $20 for it 🤣 I'm save then, haha.

That squash is really cute. I haven't seen that kind here. The soup looks amazing. I like my soup like that, with the bread inside and toppings to keep me entertained. Easy on the hot sauce, my dear friend; lest you kill Marc, hehe. Big hug!

I think Marc is braver than me with the heat but he could be faking it haha. The 20 dollar bottle will last me 20 years.

Thanks for the support my friend!💚

he could be faking it...

untitled.gif

Good afternoon dear friend @carolynstahl how are you?
I love the name you have chosen for this winter soup, I love the ingredients you have used, I didn't know Japanese pumpkin existed. I can imagine the flavor and deliciousness of this soup
I appreciate you letting us know about this recipe and the finished dish, it looks delicious.
Have a beautiful night and a happy rest

Hello dear friend. I appreciate your comment and support very much. The taste of the pumpkin is similar gourds that you are familiar with.

I wish you a lovely night.

What a rich and delicious soup beautiful 😻. This is good health indeed. I really need some if I can. Oh my God! The beans and that pumpkin. This is five(5) star Extra. Hope you enjoyed it. Thank you for a detailed tutorial .

Thank you my friend. I really love how much credit you give me haha. Much appreciated.

looking sooo delighted! and thank you for sharing

Thank you. It means a lot coming from you!

The amount of products you use my friend @carolynstahl makes your food spectacular, I would love to try it, my mouth is watering. I congratulate you. All the best.

Hello dear friend. I appreciate your support always. Muchas Gracias!

Always with you my dear friend @carolynstahl with my sincere wishes that you continue to develop quality publications. From Venezuela I appreciate you very much and wish you great success.

This is the soup I need right now hahaha, it looks great, I just had dinner and I got hungry again, just by looking at your images, they look appetizing.

I would like this along with your arepas. A perfect combination.😊

Without a doubt a perfect combination, my mouth is watering hahaha, at this moment the weather here is cold and rainy, I would like this delicious preparation combined with the arepas. 🤗

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Very colourful and yummy! I am quite hungry from looking at your post! Love thick soup, could have three bowls by myself.

So glad to see your again! Good you’ll have more energy to write more often!🙀😂

Thank you. I would love to share some gladly. I have energy for this one but back to the treadmill for another weekend of work craziness. Here people go crazy for Valentines weekend and day. I may be finished after next week haha.😄

As usual your soup is really luxurious, I'm hungry looking at this and now I have to look for afternoon food!

I feel the same when I see what you have haha. Thank you so much.

Haha, youre welcome dear!

Excellent taste with special menu kit

The ingredients that mom uses are all healthy menus say like it hopefully someday I follow this tutorial

Thank you dear @aera8 much appreciated.

Thank you very much back healthy mother is always there 💜😍

Beautiful photos! soup looks delicious I'm not in Canada but its certainly winter here 😅 I would probably add a little of the ghost pepper hot sauce at the table cause I love it. What a comfy warm dish for a cold winter evening 🙂

I am thrilled to have a ghost pepper lover. Thank you for your nice comment @steven-patrick!

Now this looks like my kind of soup, full of goodness, sounds and looks sooo good!
I also don't have good knives and peeling pumpkin/squash is the one thing I don't like doing; sliced my hand doing that once!
Your late uncle sounds like he had a good sense of humour; going for a barley sandwich :)
I hope you're looking after yourself my friend, and surviving the cold, soup certainly is the perfect meal for a cold night!

I almost cut my hand that's for sure. My Uncle was a character haha.

I really can't stand the winter and wish I could hibernate but I'm off to work soon and will try not to slip on the ice and die.

Best wishes my friend.

Looks delicious 😋

Thank you very much @mysteriousroad 😊

So glad I came across your page. I can't wait to try this at home. It looks so rich in flavours.

I really appreciate that. Thank you so much!

Excellent, detailed explanation and fantastic photos, @carolynstahl. I have only one question…

One of the items that I am happy to include, is the Kabocha squash. This is also known as a Japanese pumpkin.

Can this Kabocha squash be replaced with a common pumpkin?