Vegan pot stickers and spicy dipping sauce

DSC_2036.jpg


Hello friends of the Hive realm.

My Partner and I were both on vacation from work at a restaurant, and face the end soon. The restaurant closed for two weeks. We had no choice but to take a break.

We were excited at the possibilities of doing something fun, however it got stupidly cold and snowed quite a bit. We have been lazy and stifled, staying inside, doing nothing.

They say time flies, when you're having fun, but it flies, when you are doing nothing, as well.

I guess making food is not nothing, so I'll share what I have made.

I made pot stickers which I have craved for a while. I decided to make my own wrappers. It only requires a couple of ingredients. For therapeutic reasons I took on the quest.

DSC_1779.jpg


Flour and water. That's it. Why buy ready made, when you can just do this right?

DSC_1787.jpg


Whenever I follow a recipe, it never works out. I mean never. This is why I use guidelines from recipes and do my own thing.

DSC_1806.jpg


Started with this amount and added from there.

Dough
300g flour
150g water

DSC_1810.jpg


Mixing the water in slowly to get the flour totally mixed together, I kneaded it in the bowl then turned it on to a floured surface.

As I continued to knead I found that it required more flour to get a nice smooth ball.

DSC_1811.jpg


Once the dough was smooth I covered it and put it aside to start the filling.

DSC_1813.jpg


I wanted to keep the filling simple, as it would later be dipped in sauce.

DSC_1822.jpg

Filling
400g Chinese cabbage
150g oyster mushrooms
100g onion
20g garlic
Salt and pepper to taste

DSC_1859.jpg


Chop the veggies fine and start to cook the onions in a pan with oil.

DSC_1873.jpg


Add garlic then mushrooms and cabbage. Simmer on medium low until as much of the moisture is out as possible.

DSC_1882.jpg


I added a tablespoon of cornstarch at the end to take care of the remaining moisture.

DSC_1884.jpg


While it was cooling down in the fridge, I continued with the dough.

DSC_1887.jpg


I started by rolling the dough into a thick rope, then cutting around 12 pieces. After rolling out the piece, I realized I could cut each piece in half and get a couple of dozen.

DSC_1892.jpg


I used a rolling pin to do this. It was at this point that I wondered why I would ever do this again. I could have gotten the wrappers from the store, instead of putting myself through this. I realized I could have put the dough through the pasta machine, but it was too late. I thought it would never end.

DSC_1893.jpg


Finally it was time to fill!

DSC_1896.jpg


I added around 1 tablespoon of the mixture to each wrapper.

DSC_1902.jpg


It was sealed up and pleated.

If I had to fold nice pleats in pot stickers, in order to save my life, I would have to kiss the world goodbye.

DSC_2016.jpg


They call them pot stickers for a reason. If you don't use a non stick pan or a ton of oil, they will stick.

DSC_2019.jpg


When they are nicely golden, add liquid. I sometimes use water but this time I used veggie broth. I add just enough to coat the bottom. I cover them on low until the liquid boils out.

DSC_2070.jpg


Meanwhile I had already made the dipping sauce.
Dipping sauce
3/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup black vinegar
1/4 cup regular rice vinegar
3 tablespoons agave nectar
3 tablespoons chili oil

The chili oil I made was random using whatever I had. I was going for a chunky version with fresh and dry chili. I was going for as much heat as possible. There are so many variations of this. I just stuck with a basic one.

Some people use warm spices like star anise and cardamom, but I wanted something more versatile. The amounts listed are approximate.

Chili oil
300ml neutral oil (I used grapeseed)
60g shallot
20g ginger
20g garlic
20g fresh red chili
10 g chili flakes
20 g whole chili
20 g chili powder

DSC_1927.jpg


With a 1/4 of the oil fry the shallot, ginger, garlic and chili on medium low. Carefully stir and watch to make sure it doesn't burn. When the items are nice and golden, remove from the pan and put in a jar or bowl that can stand heat.

I didn't get photos of the next part because I was trying to make sure the oil wouldn't splatter.

The next part is to heat the rest of the oil to a temperature that is hot but not boiling. I don't have a thermometer but around 250f would be okay.

Slowly add small amounts of the hot oil, to the mixture in the jar or bowl. There will be sizzling, which is one of the reasons to do this gradually.

This is very tasty, and if you are a spice lover, you should have it as a main staple in the pantry. If not, omit the peppers, and add more shallot and garlic, or scallions for another tasty oil.

DSC_1949.jpg


For an additional sauce I mixed vegan mayo with some of the chilly oil. The vegan mayo was made from soaked blanched almonds, lemon juice, salt and a little chili oil. I had it in the fridge from another time. It added a little more variety.

DSC_2029.jpg


These dumplings, or pot stickers, can be frozen as well. I like to use something flat or freezer bags to keep them separated.

DSC_2042.jpg


I asked myself during this process, why would I make the wrappers myself? It was really kind of painful, for someone like me, who gets nervous working with flour and dough.

DSC_2040.jpg


In the end, I could say that the dough is more enjoyable then the store bought ones, which tend to be super thin. These were a little thicker and easier to seal up.

DSC_2050.jpg


All in all, it was worth it, and I am sure I will be making the dough myself again, in the future. I may regret it, but I could use the practice.

DSC_2066.jpg


Thank you for stopping by and have a great day

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos are taken with a Nikon D7500 and are mine

Sort:  

Nicely done! Yummy! These look good but they are too complicated for me to make by myself.
Recently, I tried to make simple cake and muffin. I had to throw away both trays! I did follow the recipes but the cakes refused to rise; they were very hard like a hard cushion! 🙀

Hahaha! I feel like that would happen to me. Sometimes my baking doesn't rise and I throw it away too.

Really these were a pain in the behind for me but I think with practice it will get easier.

Thanks for the support.

Oh wow, this looks amazing! I still need to climb the "mountain" of making these. My girlfriend loves them, and going out to a restaurant is always expensive as this is a very "trendy" food now in my country. But these look so nice, and I think they are perfect for "date night" cooking! Thank you so much for sharing the recipe and your method.

I hope you try this. Your girlfriend will be so impressed and happy. Yes we never go to a restaurant. We couldn't afford the restaurant where we work haha.

Thanks for the visit.

I am so sorry for the week delay. What a week. In any case, so true. Even here, going out is becoming too expensive for the average person to afford. It was never like this. That is why home cooking is still the best! Have a splendid week.

This recipe is very delicious, the presentation is also very interesting, I'm sure this food is very delicious with the addition of the sauce, you prepared it very well, thank you for this recipe @carolynstahl .

Thank you very much for the compliment @yulia-hive!

Seems gyoza dumplings 😊

You can also use rice paper for an instant way yummy snacks.

We call them gyoza sometimes too. I have rice paper. I will try. Thanks.

Everything looks like it turned out perfectly 👍 and your presentation is gorgeous. You’re absolutely right to make the wrapper dough yourself because that way you know that it’s totally vegan. Also, I love your choice of filling ingredients and the touch of chili mayo. I’m sure that it was very delicious? Yum! 😋

Aw thanks. I won't be doing that for a while now that I am back to the grind of work. It was really laborious. I don't get along with dough haha. It was worth it at the time.

Thanks so much.

I've never thought before about making a sauce with ingredients like that, I think it definitely tastes a little spicy, sour, sweet and salty all met in one cup.

These kind of sauces are fusion and common with us because we have all the cultures here influencing our food. In Canada we mix up quite a few things because of that.

Thank you for your visit!

What a shame that while you are on vacation it is extremely cold, something that really is not so convenient when you are on vacation, since the cold does not allow you to enjoy the days outside.
How cool that you can make your own wrapper lids, and to be honest it looks pretty cool. Everything looks really exquisite
I appreciate you sharing the recipe and how to prepare it.
Enjoy it very much dear friend @carolynstahl

The cold here is a normal thing each year when I get really annoyed haha. I have not experienced warm sunshine in a long time. Sometimes it can still be snowing when the flowers start to bloom in spring.

I would like to live where you live.

Thank you for your visit and support my friend.

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

well done friend it looks very nice and delicious you make your recipe really by heart which is full of taste and full of healthy nutrients. I love your cooking. very professional tutorial and presentation. Take care. A hug

I thought of you when I made these. I know you use other flours to mix in but I couldn't remember. I know yours are perfect and beautiful. Thank you for supporting me in this my friend.😊💚

Curious the name, they look tasty although a lot of work reminded me of a time when I was a kid and my mom wanted to make gnocchi, I thought why didn't she buy them? In the end they were better than the frozen ones

I have made gnocchi and each time I wonder why I didn't just buy them. It's a form of self punishment. In the end the reward is better than store bought.😂

sometimes the interesting part might be the process of making it, feels like an achievement, that's why we men do a lot of DIY makes us feel useful 😂

Oh waoh! It looks such a delight my friend. Those fillings are so healthy and appetizing. I love the combination. Best of the week beautiful 😍 ❤️.

Thank you dear friend! I wish you the greatest. Hugs.😊💚

Hello carolynstahl of the hive realm ☺️, You just got me salivating 😋🙈 right now, oh my God this looks inviting, now i am thinking of adventuring myself in making these same dough, but how on earth will i get this exact recipes from this part of the world 🙆.
You did a great job and I believe the the second time will be just perfect.

The recipe is simple. The work, not so much for me anyway😄. I will try again to feel like it is an easy task. End result rewarding.

I appreciate your visit thank you.😊

They call them pot stickers for a reason. If you don't use a non stick pan or a ton of oil, they will stick.

I was wondering about that! I thought "gyozas," and it turns out gyozas are Japanese potstickers. You live, you learn (Alanis Morisette 😜). I tried to make gyozas once and it was a disaster. I should give it another try now that I have more experience with doughs. I remember that my friend who makes perfect potstickers used hot water when making the dough. I guess it makes a difference but I can't tell you anything more than that. I must gather more pot sticker wisdom, hehe.

I almost missed your dish. You must have posted it right after the last time I stopped by to check to blog. As always, the dish is amazing on many levels. I love its elegance, its colors, the composition of the photo... And I'm sure it was super delicious.

I need to make that oil. I'm salivating.

Have a great day, my friend. Enjoy what's left of your short vacations ❤️

Gyozas, momos, dumplings, perogies all have something in common but I call it what it does haha.

I do use hot water and the dough was not really a problem itself. The problem is me and my patience to get them all done. Next time pasta roller first. I have seen videos of people hand rolling and pumping them out like machines. I will never strive for that hahaha.

I think you are the person that could do it. Everything you do is precision, especially your dough items.

My vacation ended two days ago but I have three days off this week. Marc and I alternate 5 day weeks.

Thanks for your support my friend. 💚😊

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 20000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 21000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP