Where is this community going for the next year?

in Earn, Spend, Give4 months ago

image.png




Vision for the future.

I asked where everyone wanted to take this community in the upcoming year. Having the GLD token get staking rewards certainly came up. I addressed that in my post yesterday. Being able to make more money also came up--that's important too. Increasing the number of members came up--I'll talk a bit about that today. Overall I got a lot of positive responses. One thing that came up a lot was the work I was doing to keep the community forging ahead and the desire for growth in the future.

That gave me pause for a moment. I have a strong viewpoint for what I want the community to achieve and become however, I'm feeling a little guilty because I've never actually mentioned what that is to all those wonderful people who have stood by me in the community.

This post goes out to those who have taken the time to post here:

@jjmusa2004, @raregem, @monica-ene, @supernova004, @emreal, @lightpen, @jmis101, @henrietta27, and @johnny023

I hope you will read along for a little bit while I outline where I see the community going.




Not your typical community

You may have figured this out already but this isn't going to be much like a lot of the other communities out there.

While I am no expert on the different communities out there I have seen that there is a bit of a theme in the larger ones. The biggest communities are those who have a curation team designed to reward the best and most dedicated writers in the community. There are regular post prompts and engagement with the community helps get curation.

By example I'm active in two different communities.

#HiveLearners which has 3 weekly prompt and @lazy-panda who comes by to rewards the best posts. Strong leaders in @bruno-kema and @kronias keep everyone on task. As a side bonus it has a strong Discord presence where the members can feel like part of the crew.

#Actifit has a daily recurring theme. Walk 10,000 steps. Exercise and post about it. It has an engagement team to make people feel at home and comment on good posts. It also has the @ocdb curator come through every now and then to curate good posts.

In the bigger communities more people mean more engagement and bigger curator means bigger rewards. Main goal more people and more activity! A large vibrant community is a measure of success.

I don't use "community size" or "number of posts" as the measure of success




I started this community with a Mission


The Online Mission

Online I want this community to be a friendly community where you can learn how to use Hive to make money, make income, make friends, and develop community.

The Offline Mission

Offline I want to use this community to develop a Permaculture Project to help people make money through agriculture and value added items. Find a better lifestyle through better use of technology and a frugal lifestyle. Develop community by coming together to learn and play while also giving back to those in need.

My focus up to this point.

If you look at my posts prompt up to this time you will see that I've been asking questions about daily life. Rent. Electricity. Food. Entertainment/Cellphones and so on. I've been doing this to get an idea of how much things cost for the members in the community. That's important because it's important to get a feel for how valuable HBD and HP are in the real world.

In my opinion that's important because it allows me to put things into a real world perspective. As an example: Assume I make $800HBD after a year on HIVE. That means actual income of $160/yr or about $12.50/month. That's a lot of numbers but in a practical sense:

One year of blogging gives me free internet every month.

image.png

Source: MTN homepage




Focus for the next year


Rather than have a weekly post prompt I'd like to make a few "Major Topics" that I want to develop over the year. Those are:

Making money and income on Hive

  • Best Communities on Hive to make friends (and income)
  • Best Places to Delegate your HP for return
  • Best Curation trails to follow
  • Best currencies to stake for income

Setting the bar in real life

  • Discuss Minimum acceptable lifestyle
  • Discuss Minimal acceptable wage
  • Discuss Minimum reasonable monthly budget
  • Discuss Minimal acceptable nutrition, health and hygiene
  • Discuss Minimal acceptable entertainment
  • Discuss Minimal acceptable social interaction

Making a real world difference

  • How to start a Permaculture project
  • How to make a "Hive Hangout"

But in reality it is all connected

Seeing the connections can be difficult but here is the quick version. Making money on Hive is great. However, it is important to have a goal on how much to make on Hive in order to see real world benefits from it. Taking the time to see how to live the best life in the real world for the least amount of money helps someone know how much they need to earn between online and IRL (in real life) in order to achive a minimal acceptable lifestyle. Developing a real world use case for the HIVE infrastructure strengthens HIVE over time. All linked.




Actual steps going forward and what it means for the crew

Investing in the Community

On my part I'm going to increase my stake in Hive. I'll increase my HP and stake in HIVE so that I can better support the GLD coin. I'll increase my stake in HBD so I can offer better rewards to the members in the group. My goal being 10,000HP, 3000HBD, and increase GLD supply to 1,000,000 (100x HP)

Developing ties with other communities

As much as I love getting posts in the community I don't believe its the best place for all you wonderful people to post. If we are talking about best places to earn return on crypto that would be better in #leofinance. If we are talking about best budget friendly recipe's that's better in #foodiesbeehive. Talking about permaculture land development? #homestead community. As such I'd like to see if there is a way that this community can sponsor posts from other communities to further our goals.

As such I hope that you all get in the habit of posting elsewhere--then cross post useful posts here :)

Drop Shipping useful items

Part of living a minimal acceptable lifestyle is having useful tools for everyday use. Finding the best tools for the least price is something I find particularly important. As an example @monica-ene recently wrote that she was looking for a good worklight. I would really like the to sponsor members getting useful items drop shipped to them from sites such as aliexpress at a reduced (or no) cost in return for a review on how useful the item is. Preferably in a communitiy that isn't this one..just cross posted at the end. Anyone interested in testing different useful items for around the home?

Purchasing Cellular Data

One thing that I've learned from our discussions is that cellular data is life. It is also not cheap. However, when purchased in bulk it is about 100 Naira/GB of data. That data can also be sent from one person to another. Anyone interested in getting data at 100 Naira / GB? Or perhaps even better yet...getting free data for making contributions to the community? Still working out the details with @monica-ene but hopefully will get that running soon.

Purchasing Land to work on and develop

One major goal I have for the community is to purchase a piece of land as a physical "Community Hub". It seems that @jjmusa2004 has connections and experience in purchasing property. Once I've built up enough HBD and enough HP then the next step is leveraging that equity into purchasing actual land to develop. While it would primarily be my capital to purchase the land I'm hoping it can be titled the the individuals in the community based upon how many GLD tokens they hold. I do not know exactly how that would work but it certainly is an end goal of mine.

Pinning useful documents to the community.

Rather than getting a half dozen (or so) weekly posts by community members I'd rather have the community work on a number of different posts throughout the year. I'd like to have these posts pinned to the community and update them regularly. Rewards to be given to those who add useful bits to the post over the year. These post will relate to the earlier topics "Creating a money tree", "Setting the minimum standards bar", "Making a real world permaculture plot". I'll ask for help along the way of course as this is a group effort but the main goal is a few great posts instead of a bunch of small ones.

Publishing my post : "Rediscovering the Garden of Eden" for community feedback

I wrote a very long article which was read by both @monica-ene and @jjmusa2004. They were both generally supportive of the idea. They also both said that finding good workers to bring it to fruititon would be exceedingly difficult. They also told me better to find land first and people second (as opposed to my idea of people first). It was a 2 hour, 16,000 word post so I won't post it all at once. However, I'm thinking about posting it in 18 pieces over the year. Hopefully for the group to comment on so I can make a better "final revision" or maybe even business plan for the years to come?




What am I asking from you in this post?

Nothing


I just want to be up front about what my goals are and where I'm hoping to lead the community. I want anyone who is here to know why I'm jumping from one topic to the next. One week I'll be asking about best place to delegate HP and in another I'll be asking about the cost of bread or beans. Rather than wonder why I'm all over the place you can now know: delegating HP is related to income stream. Cost of beans is related to "minimal acceptable nutrition". Then if I ask about sanitary napkins, cost of toothpaste, or availability of soap you will know I'm asking about "minimal acceptable health and sanitation". When I switch over to cost of building supplies, seedlings or bare land--Checking out how much I'll need to purchase a place. Or if I ask who wants to try out a USB lightbulb, cheap cellphone or android tablet, or power bank--You know I"m working on "minimal acceptable lifestyle"




Focusing in Ilorin, Nigeria



I guess I should also point that that my focus will be focusing very specifically on Ilorin area of Nigeria.

Why Nigeria?

Simple: Everyone in the group (except for me) is from Nigeria. Hmm...perhaps there is a person or two from Pakistan but the majority of people I've met are Nigerian.

Why Ilorin?

Unless I am seriously mistaken @jjmusa2004 is in the Kwara state / Ilorin area. As he's my one potential contact for land purchase I figure its a good idea to look where he is located. Of course I'm open to other areas or places but I have to focus somewhere to start.

That's it for now.

This weeks post prompt will be coming tomorrow. I'd do it in this post except...well, I'll be tagging someone to try and get a little help and he's probably a little too busy to wade through this post which doesn't really include him too much.

He's a #HivePakistan person and while I really value their support in curating our posts, they have their own focus :)

Sort:  

As I was reading through, I was smiling at my screen with the thought of how generous you have articulated your mission in not just growing the community but growing the individual member. Of course, I agree that the growth of a member will in one way or the other contribute to the growth of the community. I understand why you prefer a small circle of members for now.

With the above outlined ways of improving one's earning, I believe that the journey to that better future for individual member and ESG community has began.

I ask myself a question. In what way can I contribute to this growth? More dedication to the core values of ESG community.
Whatever ideas that comes up in future, we will be dropping it one the pinned post like you mentioned.

Again, in the permaculture project, Ilorin is a good place. It's in the central part of the country and that makes it easy for anyone who might want to travel to Ilorin to be part of the project when it commence.
Thank you for your selflessness @terganftp

How can you contribute to the growth of the community?

The quick answer is drop by and answer honestly. I'll be asking a lot of questions that may seem silly but remember I'm an outsider. Over time I'll develop plans and ideas. Ideally I want to make a better place for all members where each person can grow and in turn share with others.

Of course if you can cook, if you can grow things, if you invest in Hive or participate in other communities I'm sure there will be lots of ways to participate. Even just telling me I'm on a terrible path if I'm doing something silly can be a great help.

Thanks for reading,
Appreciate the feedback :)

All those questions are in place to actualize the dream you set out for the community.
You are welcome @terganftp

Well, thank you very much. The goals are well set and for a while, you've acclimatized yourself with people that have aligned with your vision.

I hope to make some little contributions soon as regards the money tree

I saw your post regarding your content creation on Hive. I'll respond more in depth later :)

Thank you very much

You do have a solid plan and focus for the year,they are all achievable picking one project at a time.
What better way is there to impact humans better than teaching and exposing to a better lifestyle.
This is a whole lot and I wish us success as a team.

Success is nice of course but Failure more likely unfortunately.

I just hope we have fun walking the path together :)

The vision and mission you have for this community is amazing.

How you take into account on all these things and actualizing them is awesome.

Hopefully I will continue being a part of this community.

Of course your part of the crew :)

Well, as long as you want to be :)

Alright dear 😊

I love the vision behind this community, I have to take my time to read carefully inorder not to miss out anything. All I have to say now is may God open doors for the resources to achieve them. I have heard so much about kwara state, I think getting apiece of land there for the project is a nice idea. God see you through sir.